Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 30 Apr 2011 (Saturday) 23:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5D Classic Issue..Need help quick!

 
white ­ fire.
Goldmember
Avatar
1,430 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Apr 30, 2011 23:56 |  #1

My LCD/Buttons completely stopped working today with my 5D Classic.

I was doing rolling shots and hammering shots down and then BOOM (for dramatic effect, nothing actually went boom), camera completely stops working regarding the LCD screen and all of the buttons that are on the face of the camera along side the LCD. As you may know I have to shoot a photo a day and this is unacceptable for me to not have a working camera body. I might buy a 5D mark 2 or something in the next few days if I can't get this figured out.

Thanks y'all, appreciate it.


Flickr (external link) | Gear List | www.connorsurdi.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Saint728
Goldmember
Avatar
2,892 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Honolulu Hawaii
     
Apr 30, 2011 23:59 |  #2

So you mean the camera works and the LCD screen works, just the LCD buttons do not work?

Take Care,
Cheers, Patrick


Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III | 17-40mm f/4.0L | 70-200mm f/2.8L USM | 100mm f/2.8L IS Macro | 300mm f/4.0L IS
Click Here To See My Gear
Click here to see my Flickr (external link)
http://www.runryder.co​m/helicopter/gallery/9​019/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
white ­ fire.
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,430 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
     
May 01, 2011 00:41 |  #3

I can take pics but....

LCD screen doesn't work at all.
None of the buttons work either.


Flickr (external link) | Gear List | www.connorsurdi.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
crn3371
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,198 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2005
Location: SoCal, USA
     
May 01, 2011 00:49 |  #4

It sounds as if the LCD has stopped working. Buttons are most likely working it's just that you can't tell without seeing the LCD. Does it do it in all modes? Try removing both batteries and see if that does anything.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
white ­ fire.
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,430 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
     
May 01, 2011 01:01 |  #5

Batteries doesn't do anything.

Thing is... If I press "Playback -> Trash -> Spin wheel once to the right -> press middle button in the middle, it should delete the photo. It didn't do anything, so there's no doubt on my mind that the buttons are shot also.


Flickr (external link) | Gear List | www.connorsurdi.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TaDa
...as cool as Perry
Avatar
6,742 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: New York
     
May 01, 2011 06:03 |  #6

I'd send it to Canon to have a look. They usually charge a flat fee and would fix anything wrong. Can't hurt to get an estimate.


Name is Peter and here is my gear:
Canon 5D II, Canon 7D, Canon 40D
Glass - Zeiss 21 f/2.8 ZE, Canon 35 f/1.4L, Canon 40 f/2.8 STM, Canon 24-70 f/2.8
L, Canon 85 f/1.2L II, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, Canon 500 f/4L IS
Speedlite 580ex II, 430ex - Gitzo GT-3541XLS w/ Arca B1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
white ­ fire.
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,430 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
     
May 01, 2011 06:17 |  #7

TaDa wrote in post #12325978 (external link)
I'd send it to Canon to have a look. They usually charge a flat fee and would fix anything wrong. Can't hurt to get an estimate.

That's exactly what I'm going to do. I'm a CPS member too so I believe I get a discount?


Flickr (external link) | Gear List | www.connorsurdi.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tiha
Senior Member
Avatar
960 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Feb 2005
Location: 44°49′14″N 20°27′44″E
     
May 01, 2011 07:23 |  #8

I've heard about the same issue on 20D. The culprit was broken shutter button.


EOS 5D, EOS 30D, EOS 3, PowerShot G6
EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM, TS-E 90mm f/2.8, EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Speedlite 580EX, Speedlite 430EX, Macro Ring Lite MR-14EX, Transmitter ST-E2
PBase: http://www.pbase.com/v​_tihomir (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TaDa
...as cool as Perry
Avatar
6,742 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: New York
     
May 01, 2011 07:35 |  #9

white fire. wrote in post #12326004 (external link)
That's exactly what I'm going to do. I'm a CPS member too so I believe I get a discount?

Silver gets a 20% discount, Gold 30% and Platinum 60%.

When I blew the shutter on my 5Dc a couple years ago, it was a flat rate of $180 minus the 30%. They replaced the shutter and a couple other things. I'm sure that they've increased their prices a bit, but it should still be reasonable. To me, this sounds like some sort of power connection or board has gone bad. Good luck.


Name is Peter and here is my gear:
Canon 5D II, Canon 7D, Canon 40D
Glass - Zeiss 21 f/2.8 ZE, Canon 35 f/1.4L, Canon 40 f/2.8 STM, Canon 24-70 f/2.8
L, Canon 85 f/1.2L II, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, Canon 500 f/4L IS
Speedlite 580ex II, 430ex - Gitzo GT-3541XLS w/ Arca B1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
projectmayhem713
Senior Member
584 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bay Area
     
May 01, 2011 10:34 as a reply to  @ TaDa's post |  #10

I've actually heard of the entire LCD block going bad and being replaced. In fact there's was a guy not too long ago selling a 5Dc with a brand new canon replaced LCD block. Send it to canon.


5D2 - 24-70 f2.8L - 50 1.4 - S100
My Blogsite (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
white ­ fire.
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,430 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
     
May 01, 2011 14:00 |  #11

I can still take photos. I put the memory card in my infrared 30D and it showed the photos fine. It's just the fact of....

Is it worth it to pay that much money on an already old camera or should I just put that money to a new 5D mk2.


Flickr (external link) | Gear List | www.connorsurdi.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Saint728
Goldmember
Avatar
2,892 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Honolulu Hawaii
     
May 01, 2011 14:10 |  #12

white fire. wrote in post #12327817 (external link)
I can still take photos. I put the memory card in my infrared 30D and it showed the photos fine. It's just the fact of....

Is it worth it to pay that much money on an already old camera or should I just put that money to a new 5D mk2.

I guess it depends on how much it will cost to fix the problem? If it is going to cost a lot to fix then I would consider buying a refurbished body from Canon.

Take Care,
Cheers, Patrick


Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III | 17-40mm f/4.0L | 70-200mm f/2.8L USM | 100mm f/2.8L IS Macro | 300mm f/4.0L IS
Click Here To See My Gear
Click here to see my Flickr (external link)
http://www.runryder.co​m/helicopter/gallery/9​019/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kelleystar27
Member
195 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Location: OR
     
May 28, 2011 03:44 |  #13

white fire. wrote in post #12325239 (external link)
My LCD/Buttons completely stopped working today with my 5D Classic.

I was doing rolling shots and hammering shots down and then BOOM (for dramatic effect, nothing actually went boom), camera completely stops working regarding the LCD screen and all of the buttons that are on the face of the camera along side the LCD. As you may know I have to shoot a photo a day and this is unacceptable for me to not have a working camera body. I might buy a 5D mark 2 or something in the next few days if I can't get this figured out.

Thanks y'all, appreciate it.

Did you send it in? The exact same thing just happened to my 5D a few hours ago. :cry:


Kelley
www.facebook.com/charm​edcapturesphotography.​com (external link)
40D, 5D,5D II, 28-75 2.8, 85 1.8, 200 2.8L, 300 2.8L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,714 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D Classic Issue..Need help quick!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is faster3ck
1847 guests, 341 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.