Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 10 Aug 2011 (Wednesday) 18:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Yongnuo Sync Sucks?

 
PACO11
Senior Member
Avatar
616 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: Louth, Ireland
     
Aug 10, 2011 18:19 |  #1

Hi all i just got my RF-602s and was hoping to use them with my canon 5Dii and 550D(T2i).

BUT


For some reason the best sync speed i can seem to get is 1/160 on the 5D and 1/180 on the 550D...

Can this be right?

So much for those underexposed sky portraits?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated for this newb!


Gear List
celtictenors.com (external link)
photobucket (external link)
facebook (external link)
Colm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
110yd
Senior Member
774 posts
Likes: 23
Joined Jan 2005
     
Aug 10, 2011 18:35 |  #2

It is just the way it is with the 5D MK II. I have a 5D MK II and a Canon 40 D. The Canon 40 D has no problem hitting 1/250. The 5D MK II will only do 1/160.

Regards,

110yd




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PACO11
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
616 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: Louth, Ireland
     
Aug 10, 2011 18:41 |  #3

Thanks 110yd!

Ah such is life. Does the face that the 5D has iso 50 potentially help with underexposed backround foolary?

Regards,

Paco


Gear List
celtictenors.com (external link)
photobucket (external link)
facebook (external link)
Colm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
domat
Senior Member
485 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jun 2010
Location: New York
     
Aug 10, 2011 18:48 |  #4

I thought 200 was the max sync speed for 40D. 50 etc??




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
Avatar
4,427 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky
     
Aug 10, 2011 19:07 |  #5

PACO11 wrote in post #12912570 (external link)
Hi all i just got my RF-602s and was hoping to use them with my canon 5Dii and 550D(T2i).

BUT


For some reason the best sync speed i can seem to get is 1/160 on the 5D and 1/180 on the 550D...

Can this be right?

So much for those underexposed sky portraits?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated for this newb!

I strongly suspect that the loss of 1/3 or 2/3 of a stop of light will not be the absolute deciding factor in your ability to "underexposed sky portraits".

Have you confirmed that gaining that 2/3 of a stop of light will allow function that you would not enjoy otherwise?

Enjoy! Lon


*
http://flashzebra.com/ (external link)
*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PACO11
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
616 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: Louth, Ireland
     
Aug 10, 2011 19:10 |  #6

FlashZebra wrote in post #12912763 (external link)
I strongly suspect that the loss of 1/3 or 2/3 of a stop of light will not be the absolute deciding factor in your ability to "underexposed sky portraits".

Enjoy! Lon

Oh! Haha didn't think about it that way!

Thanks Lon


Gear List
celtictenors.com (external link)
photobucket (external link)
facebook (external link)
Colm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
klr.b
Goldmember
2,509 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
     
Aug 10, 2011 19:59 |  #7

domat wrote in post #12912682 (external link)
I thought 200 was the max sync speed for 40D. 50 etc??

Nope, the rebels and the 5D's have a max sync of 1/200s. The xxD's have a max sync of 1/250s.


gordon
Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
johnlo
Goldmember
Avatar
1,113 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Aug 10, 2011 20:11 |  #8

5D2 max sync speed is 1/200; i can do 1/250 b4 the black bar appears


johnlo photography :
website: www.john-lo.com (external link)
personal blog: http://www.jklimagery.​com (external link)
My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aressem
Goldmember
Avatar
4,364 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 511
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Aug 10, 2011 20:45 |  #9

Sync speed has nothing to do with the triggers. It depends entirely on the body you're using! (incase you hadn't figured that out by now :P).


Ryan Mackay WEBSITE (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link) | GEAR LIST | Buy & Sell Feedback: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
redrocket
Senior Member
Avatar
559 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 83
Joined Oct 2009
     
Aug 10, 2011 20:57 |  #10

ND filter.....


I have G.A.S.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RLPhoto
Senior Member
Avatar
491 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
     
Aug 10, 2011 23:35 |  #11

redrocket wrote in post #12913277 (external link)
ND filter.....

RLPhoto likes this


My Site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
Aug 11, 2011 06:03 |  #12

Aressem wrote in post #12913240 (external link)
Sync speed has nothing to do with the triggers. It depends entirely on the body you're using! (incase you hadn't figured that out by now :P).

right, don't know why you're not getting 1/200




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
klr.b
Goldmember
2,509 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
     
Aug 11, 2011 06:10 |  #13

Aressem wrote in post #12913240 (external link)
Sync speed has nothing to do with the triggers. It depends entirely on the body you're using! (incase you hadn't figured that out by now :P).

watt100 wrote in post #12915032 (external link)
right, don't know why you're not getting 1/200

...delay from the triggers.


gordon
Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,210 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Likes: 1395
Joined Dec 2006
     
Aug 11, 2011 06:11 |  #14

try new batteries. On many of the inexpensive triggers the sync speed is hampered by failing batteries. Especially if you are using the batteries shipped with them, they tend only to have enough power to test the units.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
Aug 11, 2011 06:13 |  #15

klr.b wrote in post #12915048 (external link)
...delay from the triggers.

I get 1/200 on an XSi/450D from my Yongnuo RF-602 wireless triggers

there is no "delay"




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,672 views & 0 likes for this thread
Yongnuo Sync Sucks?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is quadrentau
1195 guests, 204 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.