Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 10 Aug 2011 (Wednesday) 18:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Yongnuo Sync Sucks?

 
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
Avatar
13,845 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 35
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Australia
     
Aug 11, 2011 09:32 |  #16

Aressem wrote in post #12913240 (external link)
Sync speed has nothing to do with the triggers. It depends entirely on the body you're using! (incase you hadn't figured that out by now :P).

Ummmmmm,, yes it does..

It also depends on the trigger/flash combo..

Using my RF-602 tx/rx I can get 250th second with my 430EX and 430EXII but only 200th second using my Nissin Di866 with both my 20D and 50D..

Using my 430EXs or Di866 I can get 250th second on camera or with my ST-E2..


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~G11~S95~GoPro Hero4 Silver
http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,410 posts
Likes: 1537
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Aug 11, 2011 10:03 |  #17

johnlo wrote in post #12913087 (external link)
5D2 max sync speed is 1/200; i can do 1/250 b4 the black bar appears

First time I am hearing someone be able to do 1/250 on 5d2 unless you using mini/flex hypersync.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dustman
Senior Member
Avatar
769 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Peru & New Jersey
     
Aug 11, 2011 11:17 |  #18

Yup there is a delay with the RF-602's, and considerably noticble when battery's are dwindling down. With my ST-E2 on my 5DMkII & 580exII I get 1/200sec. With that combo, but a RF-602 instead of the ST-E2 I only shoot at 1/160sec, as the shutter shows up in way too many shots randomly


www.DustinLevine.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
johnlo
Goldmember
Avatar
1,113 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Aug 11, 2011 12:11 |  #19

bobbyz wrote in post #12916191 (external link)
First time I am hearing someone be able to do 1/250 on 5d2 unless you using mini/flex hypersync.

not using HSS or any of the trigger. flash on camera. i dont do that all the time. but when i did shoot at 1/250 w/ flash. pic turns out fine. and then sometimes it doesnt.


johnlo photography :
website: www.john-lo.com (external link)
personal blog: http://www.jklimagery.​com (external link)
My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,410 posts
Likes: 1537
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Aug 11, 2011 12:20 |  #20

johnlo wrote in post #12917059 (external link)
not using HSS or any of the trigger. flash on camera. i dont do that all the time. but when i did shoot at 1/250 w/ flash. pic turns out fine. and then sometimes it doesnt.

Maybe you had HSS enabled.;)


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Village_Idiot
GREATEST POTN MEMBER EVER
Avatar
3,695 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Durt Burg, WV
     
Aug 11, 2011 12:35 |  #21

bobbyz wrote in post #12917095 (external link)
Maybe you had HSS enabled.;)

I'm sure it's possible. You may start getting a mostly unnoticable black bar or faint under exposure at the edge of the frame.


My village called. I was told that they missed me.

Speedotron users, untie!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aressem
Goldmember
Avatar
4,364 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 509
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Aug 11, 2011 14:28 |  #22

yogestee wrote in post #12915979 (external link)
Ummmmmm,, yes it does..

It also depends on the trigger/flash combo..

Using my RF-602 tx/rx I can get 250th second with my 430EX and 430EXII but only 200th second using my Nissin Di866 with both my 20D and 50D..

Using my 430EXs or Di866 I can get 250th second on camera or with my ST-E2..

I stand corrected! Thanks for the tip. I had no idea they could be that finicky.


Ryan Mackay WEBSITE (external link) | FACEBOOK (external link) | GEAR LIST | Buy & Sell Feedback: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
Avatar
13,845 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 35
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Australia
     
Aug 11, 2011 21:56 |  #23

Aressem wrote in post #12917813 (external link)
I stand corrected! Thanks for the tip. I had no idea they could be that finicky.

Not a problem:D

I had my 430EXs before my Di866 and was getting 250th second with my RF-602 tx/rx.. Switched to the Di866 and 200th was all I could get. It frustrated me at first especially with outdoor off camera work.. I adjusted my thinking a bit.. Now all's good.


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~G11~S95~GoPro Hero4 Silver
http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hbomb69
Senior Member
Avatar
255 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Lancashire, UK
     
Aug 12, 2011 03:30 |  #24

the secret to getting the max sync speed out of your camera and RF-602 is to 'Prime' the transmitter before your shoot. The Transmitters have a 2-stage button, if you are getting upto your cameras max sync speed and are having issues with the shutter curtain showing, compose your shot and before you shoot, Half-press the transmitter and hold it while you take the shot, it gives the receievr and flash a 'heads-up' and you will achieve max sync speed evrytime.

I discovered this a while back when i was using a PC cord to connect the transmitter to my 5D2. :):)

Mike


CANON 5D MKIII x 2 / CANON 50D / CANON 550D
http://www.michaelhard​castle.co.uk (external link)
Facebook.com/michaelha​rdcastlephotography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PACO11
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
616 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: Louth, Ireland
     
Aug 12, 2011 04:41 |  #25

hbomb69 wrote in post #12921344 (external link)
the secret to getting the max sync speed out of your camera and RF-602 is to 'Prime' the transmitter before your shoot. The Transmitters have a 2-stage button, if you are getting upto your cameras max sync speed and are having issues with the shutter curtain showing, compose your shot and before you shoot, Half-press the transmitter and hold it while you take the shot, it gives the receievr and flash a 'heads-up' and you will achieve max sync speed evrytime.

I discovered this a while back when i was using a PC cord to connect the transmitter to my 5D2. :):)

Mike


WOAH! this sounds worth a try. Otherwise the 5DII sync is a bit of a pain for outdoors... i likes my faster shutter speeds!

Thanks for all the input guys!


Gear List
celtictenors.com (external link)
photobucket (external link)
facebook (external link)
Colm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dustman
Senior Member
Avatar
769 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Peru & New Jersey
     
Aug 12, 2011 10:40 |  #26

hbomb69 wrote in post #12921344 (external link)
the secret to getting the max sync speed out of your camera and RF-602 is to 'Prime' the transmitter before your shoot. The Transmitters have a 2-stage button, if you are getting upto your cameras max sync speed and are having issues with the shutter curtain showing, compose your shot and before you shoot, Half-press the transmitter and hold it while you take the shot, it gives the receievr and flash a 'heads-up' and you will achieve max sync speed evrytime.

I discovered this a while back when i was using a PC cord to connect the transmitter to my 5D2. :):)

Mike

I never heard of that, or even considered trying that before. Will give a go this weekend and see if it makes a difference for me. Thanks alot for the tip!!


www.DustinLevine.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PACO11
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
616 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: Louth, Ireland
     
Aug 30, 2011 10:46 |  #27

Finally got round to replacing the supplied batteries.... making much better speeds now, thanks all!


Gear List
celtictenors.com (external link)
photobucket (external link)
facebook (external link)
Colm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,621 views & 0 likes for this thread
Yongnuo Sync Sucks?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is shawnpan
801 guests, 223 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.