Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS News & Rumors Camera Rumors and Predictions 
Thread started 30 Mar 2011 (Wednesday) 17:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What would you like to see improved on the 5d Mk3?

 
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
13,691 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 910
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Jun 09, 2011 05:52 |  #61

cfnz wrote in post #12562304 (external link)
I don't seem to have that problem. Do you really need Canon to come up with a solution?

Canon used to use a lock button on the mode wheel.

My old Elan has one. However, there were a lot of ham-fisted people who would somehow forget about the button and twist the wheel hard enough to break it. The biggest point to watch for when buying a used Elan was to make sure the lock button wasn't broken--that was the very common fault of used Elans.

If it's not there, it can't be broken. If it is there, some people will break it.


TANSTAAFL--The Only Unbreakable Rule in Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
kokakaste2
Goldmember
Avatar
3,546 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Luxembourg
     
Jun 09, 2011 06:38 as a reply to  @ RDKirk's post |  #62

400dabuser wrote in post #12562269 (external link)
I keep knocking into another mode though

Yeah the lock button would not be too bad. I usually switch modes by accident when putting the camera in the bag. :/


Oskar (Oscar) - stuff I use- Flickr (external link) - My Facebook page (external link) :)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Vermin87
Goldmember
1,036 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: CA
     
Jun 09, 2011 14:37 |  #63

400dabuser wrote in post #12561889 (external link)
That button on the mode wheel that the 60D has

You can have the modification done to your mode dial if you have a 7D or 5D II. I had mine modified and it's definitely worth it. I've missed many shots because my camera got accidently bumped into bulb or a custom setting while hanging from my black rapid. Now, however, I never have to worry about it being in the wrong mode! I love it and I think all the Canon cameras should have it. It's not very difficult to push the button down and turn the knob. It won't slow you down any, so the only downside is getting used to a new system.


Gear
Flickr (external link)
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hairy_moth
Goldmember
Avatar
3,739 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 16
Joined Apr 2009
Location: NJ
     
Jun 09, 2011 14:57 |  #64

Vermin87 wrote in post #12564965 (external link)
...
I've missed many shots because my camera got accidentally bumped into bulb or a custom setting while hanging from my black rapid.


What in the world do you guys do with your cameras that this dial gets "accidentally bumped" into the wrong position? It has never happened to me and, given the position (and stiffness) of that dial, I can't even conceive of how it gets "accidentally bumped" into the wrong position unless you are swinging the camera around by the dial!! :confused:


7D | 300D | G1X | Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 | EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro | EF 85mm f/1.8 | 70-200 f/2.8L MkII -- flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HappySnapper90
Cream of the Crop
5,145 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
     
Jun 09, 2011 15:59 |  #65

hairy_moth wrote in post #12565076 (external link)
What in the world do you guys do with your cameras that this dial gets "accidentally bumped" into the wrong position? It has never happened to me and, given the position (and stiffness) of that dial, I can't even conceive of how it gets "accidentally bumped" into the wrong position unless you are swinging the camera around by the dial!! :confused:

Well other brands have locking dials. And Canon has recently added a locking dial and even offered to modify certain existing models to have a locking dial for $100 so it must be something desired.

On the 1-series, you need to hold down 2 buttons at the same time in order to change the camera mode. They've been like that for a long time.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kokakaste2
Goldmember
Avatar
3,546 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Luxembourg
     
Jun 09, 2011 16:27 |  #66

hairy_moth wrote in post #12565076 (external link)
What in the world do you guys do with your cameras that this dial gets "accidentally bumped" into the wrong position? It has never happened to me and, given the position (and stiffness) of that dial, I can't even conceive of how it gets "accidentally bumped" into the wrong position unless you are swinging the camera around by the dial!! :confused:

On my old 30D the mode dial was much more stiffer, it would not move so easily. The 5Dii mode dial moves much easier. Like sliding the camera in the bag can accidentally move the dial, does not take too much to move it. :/


Oskar (Oscar) - stuff I use- Flickr (external link) - My Facebook page (external link) :)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Vermin87
Goldmember
1,036 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: CA
     
Jun 09, 2011 17:05 |  #67

hairy_moth wrote in post #12565076 (external link)
What in the world do you guys do with your cameras that this dial gets "accidentally bumped" into the wrong position? It has never happened to me and, given the position (and stiffness) of that dial, I can't even conceive of how it gets "accidentally bumped" into the wrong position unless you are swinging the camera around by the dial!! :confused:

My camera hangs off my black rapid strap right around my right upper thigh. When I'm walking around at a wedding, the camera sways a little and the knob is rubbing up against my leg constantly. It's very easy for it to get switched to a different mode.


Gear
Flickr (external link)
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hairy_moth
Goldmember
Avatar
3,739 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 16
Joined Apr 2009
Location: NJ
     
Jun 09, 2011 20:06 |  #68

LOL.. I believe it is a real issues.. enough people are mentioning it. Maybe it's worse on the 5D than the 7D.

I just tried to rub my camera against my thigh to see if I could turn the dial.. I could, but I had to really try. :)


7D | 300D | G1X | Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 | EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro | EF 85mm f/1.8 | 70-200 f/2.8L MkII -- flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taxsux
Senior Member
392 posts
Joined Apr 2008
     
Jun 15, 2011 21:03 |  #69

Definitely the AF. And wouldn't mind speedlite controls like the D700 :-)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bengtenyman
Member
Avatar
107 posts
Joined Apr 2011
Location: Vaxholm, Sweden
     
Aug 28, 2011 09:42 |  #70

It's time to get rid of the mirror.
Press the shutter release half way:
Open the shutter, focus using the image sensor, measure the light using the image sensor, close the shutter. Based on the light measurement the camera processor calculates 3 suitable sequential exposures. For example: 1/100, 1/333 and 1/1000.
Press the shutter release all the way:
The camera executes the 3 calculated sequential exposures 1/100, 1/333 and 1/1000.
By menu selection the camera can now save the three exposures separately or the processor can produce and save an optimized in-camera HDR image.
Maybe you should combine this with an electronic view finder, or better yet, an eyepiece view finder.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kokakaste2
Goldmember
Avatar
3,546 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Luxembourg
     
Aug 28, 2011 10:01 |  #71

bengtenyman wrote in post #13013258 (external link)
It's time to get rid of the mirror.
Press the shutter release half way:
Open the shutter, focus using the image sensor, measure the light using the image sensor, close the shutter. Based on the light measurement the camera processor calculates 3 suitable sequential exposures. For example: 1/100, 1/333 and 1/1000.
Press the shutter release all the way:
The camera executes the 3 calculated sequential exposures 1/100, 1/333 and 1/1000.
By menu selection the camera can now save the three exposures separately or the processor can produce and save an optimized in-camera HDR image.
Maybe you should combine this with an electronic view finder, or better yet, an eyepiece view finder.

Why? :rolleyes:


Oskar (Oscar) - stuff I use- Flickr (external link) - My Facebook page (external link) :)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Vermin87
Goldmember
1,036 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: CA
     
Aug 28, 2011 23:58 |  #72

You do realize getting rid of the mirror would necessitate the addition of an electronic viewfinder, correct? Either that or it is no longer an SLR and will have issues with parallax.

bengtenyman wrote in post #13013258 (external link)
It's time to get rid of the mirror.
Press the shutter release half way:
Open the shutter, focus using the image sensor, measure the light using the image sensor, close the shutter. Based on the light measurement the camera processor calculates 3 suitable sequential exposures. For example: 1/100, 1/333 and 1/1000.
Press the shutter release all the way:
The camera executes the 3 calculated sequential exposures 1/100, 1/333 and 1/1000.
By menu selection the camera can now save the three exposures separately or the processor can produce and save an optimized in-camera HDR image.
Maybe you should combine this with an electronic view finder, or better yet, an eyepiece view finder.


Gear
Flickr (external link)
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SkateSoft
Senior Member
383 posts
Joined Jan 2011
     
Aug 29, 2011 02:20 |  #73

Be less than one hundred bucks. Only way I'd be able to afford it.


Gear- 550d, KONICA Auto S2, Pentak ZX-50, 18-55, 55-250, YN-560
http://www.dylanredfie​ldphotography.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
13,691 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 910
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Aug 29, 2011 06:23 |  #74

Open the shutter, focus using the image sensor, measure the light using the image sensor, close the shutter.

How would this work at 3+ frames per second with predictive focus without at least a partial mirror?


TANSTAAFL--The Only Unbreakable Rule in Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
"spouting off stupid things"
Avatar
56,226 posts
Likes: 2926
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Aug 29, 2011 07:28 |  #75

RDKirk wrote in post #13017718 (external link)
How would this work at 3+ frames per second with predictive focus without at least a partial mirror?

very very fast image processing. I don't think we are there yet.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

47,284 views & 0 likes for this thread
What would you like to see improved on the 5d Mk3?
FORUMS News & Rumors Camera Rumors and Predictions 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is rush1981
833 guests, 322 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.