Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 30 Aug 2011 (Tuesday) 07:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

EOS 1D Classic IEEE 1394 Problem!

 
tomw95
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Aug 30, 2011 07:55 |  #1

Hi

I need help on how to get my EOS 1D classic to work on Vista, it has been recognised in the Device Mangaer as "Canon EOS 1D IEEE 1394 SBP2 Device" but I cant get a driver anywhere to work, I dont have the CD for the camera but have Zoombrowser installed.

Many Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Ross ­ Murray
Member
220 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Scotland
     
Aug 30, 2011 09:12 |  #2

I struggled with that then decided to plug it into an XP laptop I had kicking about. I tried to get it to work on Windows 7 64bit, Windows Vista 32bit and it only worked on XP 32bit. Do you have (or know someone that has) an XP system with a firewire port. That'd be your best bet to change the personal settings and what not.


Camera: Canon EOS 1D MkII
Lenses: Canon 50mm f/1.8 II, Canon 50mm f/2.5 Macro, Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L,
Sigma 15-30mm f/3.5-4.5 EX DG, Sigma 400mm f/5.6 APO HSM Telemacro, Tamron SP 90mm F/2.5 Macro
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tomw95
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Aug 30, 2011 09:25 |  #3

I only have a Vista 32bit laptop which has firewire, but no XP I'm afraid, is there any drivers or anyhthing for this, since my OS is Vista 64bit.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ross ­ Murray
Member
220 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Scotland
     
Aug 30, 2011 11:04 |  #4

I don't know if this is of any use to you, I was asking how to change personal functions a while back on my 1DII there are quite a few helpful responses there:

https://photography-on-the.net …showthread.php?​p=12171235


Camera: Canon EOS 1D MkII
Lenses: Canon 50mm f/1.8 II, Canon 50mm f/2.5 Macro, Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L,
Sigma 15-30mm f/3.5-4.5 EX DG, Sigma 400mm f/5.6 APO HSM Telemacro, Tamron SP 90mm F/2.5 Macro
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tomw95
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Aug 30, 2011 11:20 |  #5

The computer recognises it in the device manager, but then asks me to locate the driver myself, and I've tried to direct to the WIA folder but it still says it can't locate it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HSCanon1d
Member
Avatar
60 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Aug 30, 2011 11:28 |  #6

I too have a Vista. You will need to find a copy of the CD somewhere. Trying to install without a CD can lead to frustrating problems later on.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tomw95
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Aug 30, 2011 11:32 |  #7

The camera was second hand and is in great condition, but came without the CD. Isn't there any driver for Vista 64bit which can help me change the settings on it ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Virto
Goldmember
Avatar
1,647 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Elgin, IL
     
Aug 30, 2011 13:35 |  #8

No. There is no official driver for this hardware in Vista. Some Windows 7 users have had more success. For 64-bit Vista, you're basically SOL. 32-bit Vista users can load the old TWAIN driver, but you will not be able to access the camera via EOS utility, and some users (including myself) couldn't even get it to work as a card reader.

I installed the TWAIN driver in Vista 32 and was able to connect to the camera using Photoshop Elements 7, but it was very buggy. It basically worked long enough for me to change the copyright name on the camera, and then crashed.

Now, even if you do get hold of an XP system with firewire, new copies of the EOS utilites won't work with the 1D. You'll have to hunt down an old release, as Canon does not provide direct downloads.


Kelly - EOS 5D - EOS 40D - Rebel XS - EOS 10D - EOS 1D - SX230 - AE-1 - OM-1n - Minolta Himatic7 - EOS-1N
ABR800 - Several flashes, remote triggers, stands, too many and yet not enough lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tomw95
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Aug 30, 2011 14:12 |  #9

Ok, I can live with just some one elses' name in the Metadata . The images are what count most importantly :), and they're great. I'll just use a Firewire or USB card reader. Many thanks though.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FCMR
Member
Avatar
167 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
     
Aug 30, 2011 14:18 |  #10

You can try this driver
http://www.4shared.com …b7jGKUYD/EOS-1DS_WIA.html (external link)
It works great on my vista 32 with both the 1D and 1Ds


1D classic (2x) ~ 1Ds classic ~ 7D ~ S95
Tamron AF 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD ~ EF 50 f/1.8 II ~ EF 70-300mm 1:4-5.6 IS USM ~ EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS ~ EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS kit lens ~ Tamron SP 17-35mm F2.8-4 ASPH LD ~ Canon EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Virto
Goldmember
Avatar
1,647 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Elgin, IL
     
Aug 30, 2011 15:20 |  #11

^ That's the TWAIN driver. It's certainly worth installing and trying, but it will not work on Vista 64, if I remember the long conversation in the 1D thread.


Kelly - EOS 5D - EOS 40D - Rebel XS - EOS 10D - EOS 1D - SX230 - AE-1 - OM-1n - Minolta Himatic7 - EOS-1N
ABR800 - Several flashes, remote triggers, stands, too many and yet not enough lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tomw95
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Aug 31, 2011 02:04 |  #12

FCMR: What were the exact steps you did to get your 1D to connect? because I have the driver folder but don't know what to from then on.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Steveod
Senior Member
Avatar
766 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 9
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Tauranga,Bay of Plenty,New Zealand
     
Aug 31, 2011 03:37 |  #13

I am running Vista 32 and have everything working from the CD without issuses, but for ease of use I use a card reader and the latest version of Canons DPP and only really used the 1D program to change the user name.


Steveod:shock: 1D Classic,1Ds, 400D. EOS-1n, EOS-5 Minolta Autocord,Yashica-A,Yashica-mat 66 Yashica-mat 124G ,Rolleicord IV & VB ,Mamiya C3,Mamiya C33, and a heap of other gear I keep collecting and collecting,Hi I am Steve and I am a photoholic http://www.flickr.com/​photos/steveod2007/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tomw95
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Aug 31, 2011 04:04 |  #14

Apparently I need a .inf file to make this work and in this other forum http://www.prophotohom​e.com …er-canon-1d-camera-3.html (external link) they mention a file named "EOS_2K98.INF" so I think I'm looking for a file like this. Maybe somone has this kind of file and could send me it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Virto
Goldmember
Avatar
1,647 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Elgin, IL
     
Aug 31, 2011 13:03 |  #15

The INF file should be in the driver folder that the TWAIN install created. If not, you should be able to google the file name for a download link.

Steve,
That's very cool that you got the 1D working in Vista via the CD. I wish Canon made those old version available for download. It's silly to think that people won't lose the discs or resell cameras without them.


Kelly - EOS 5D - EOS 40D - Rebel XS - EOS 10D - EOS 1D - SX230 - AE-1 - OM-1n - Minolta Himatic7 - EOS-1N
ABR800 - Several flashes, remote triggers, stands, too many and yet not enough lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,673 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS 1D Classic IEEE 1394 Problem!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is heflerbj
1132 guests, 317 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.