Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 04 Sep 2011 (Sunday) 06:04
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5DMII trouble shooting need other owners to test something?

 
jaycky
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 04, 2011 06:04 |  #1

I have always used this method when i had the 7D and now the 5DMII using the usb cable to get my images off my camera and drag and drop... Then format when i know they all on the computer.. on camera or computer it really doesn't matter.
So for the last week i have been getting the err 80 code camera locks up totally and i have to pull the batteries out of the grip for a few minutes and then re install to get the camera to basically boot up again.. Just upgraded firmware from 2.07 to 2.09 tonight!

I have a Canon BG-E6 grip and canon batteries fully charged on the 5dmII
SanDisk Extreme UDMA 60MB/s 32gb card.. Not the problem!


I need some others to try this out and tell me if they get this same message?

First: plug the usb cable into the 5DMII and turn the camera on to get into the card..
I need to know if you could get in?

I am sure i used to do it this way but it seems i can only do it by turning the camera on first then plugging the usb in?

I haven't had this camera that long and really dislike the idea of sending it off so soon to a canon tech bench


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
wfarrell4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,551 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: NJ
     
Sep 04, 2011 06:21 |  #2
bannedPermanent ban

Have you tried it without the grip and are we sure it's a genuine one?


Will: flickr (external link)
Canon EOS

Merry Christmas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 04, 2011 06:33 |  #3

Everything is genuine i don't use crap its all canon!
Took the grip off it loads and after a reset time with batteries out it will load up again...

I am wondering since its been awhile if when i plug the usb cable in if it was before or after the camera was turned on?


It seems that i have to turn the camera on then plug the usb cable to get into the card to transfer..

If i plug the usb cable in and then turn the camera on the camera just jamms then pops the err 80 code..
What i need to know is if others get the same thing?
If so its a canon possible firmware glitch?
If no one else its my camera and should be going back to canon for some fixing!
I am scouring for an answer right now and can find everyone blaming the cards and my card is not faulty!

Totally stressing out right now.. Will be gone soon for 6 weeks to work out in the bush and this will be an on going thing so i will have little time to be testing and troubleshooting a camera throwing issues! kinda choked !


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wfarrell4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,551 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: NJ
     
Sep 04, 2011 10:52 |  #4
bannedPermanent ban

No issues, tried plugging it in first w/ camera off. Turn camera on and it appears in my computer, same with plugging it in while the camera is no. No errors.

Try it w/o the card in.


Will: flickr (external link)
Canon EOS

Merry Christmas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 15:15 |  #5

has anyone else had this issue err80?

i really dont want to send in


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
5Dmaniac
Goldmember
Avatar
1,303 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
     
Sep 05, 2011 15:24 |  #6

Just send it in already - what you are experiencing is not normal. The earlier you get it to Canon the sooner you'll have it back. Oh, and buy a card reader - it's faster and safer!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wfarrell4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,551 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: NJ
     
Sep 05, 2011 15:25 |  #7
bannedPermanent ban

5Dmaniac wrote in post #13054822 (external link)
Just send it in already - what you are experiencing is not normal. The earlier you get it to Canon the sooner you'll have it back. Oh, and buy a card reader - it's faster and safer!

Yep, last thing you want is a broken/worn USB port on the camera.


Will: flickr (external link)
Canon EOS

Merry Christmas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 15:27 |  #8

Omg i hate this first a faulty hot pixel 7d and now a faulty usb port or whatever it is 5dm2 piss me off
The 5DMII has minimal hours on it practically brand new!

Hate to say this but i am seriously thinking about dumping the gear and just giving up on canon at this point..
I will be away for 6 weeks and back for 2 this will be an ongoing thing for me and to have a camera i will have to send away and possibly not get fixed the first time my warranty will be eaten up soon enough..
Hmmmmmm is it really worth the headache?


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Unregistered.Coward
Senior Member
Avatar
884 posts
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Looking thru the viewfinder
     
Sep 05, 2011 18:30 |  #9

I'm having trouble with your original statement. Did you use to have the same problem with a 7D, do you still have the 7D?

What OS are you using?

-Have you tired a different card
-Different cable
-Different computer

Sounds like a camera issue but let's eliminate all the possible variables.


....the best camera is the one you have on you at the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wfarrell4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,551 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: NJ
     
Sep 05, 2011 18:57 |  #10
bannedPermanent ban

Seems like you have bad luck or there is something your not disclosing fully.

Maybe you got the Tsunami specials.


Will: flickr (external link)
Canon EOS

Merry Christmas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
phreeky
Goldmember
3,514 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Australia
     
Sep 05, 2011 19:38 |  #11

Have you tried using a completely different USB port (or better yet, a different computer)? Perhaps there is something funny going on with the USB port. Don't just switch to the port next to the one you were using, if using a front port try a rear one etc. And different cable, like mentioned.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 19:52 |  #12

I asked others to see if by connecting the usb cable first then turning the camera on if another 5dmII jams up?
Mine does everytime but will not when i turn the camera on then usb in???
Does this with the grip on and off!
My card is not the issue that was the first thing ruled out
This is the only issue i have right now and wondering if this is an issue?

My 7D had hot pixels i returned it/ the 5DMII is relatively new.
I have used other computers and USB ports and looked to see if somehow a driver got updated -not!
So i am left wondering whats what? Loads on my mind these days so i am forgetting things!

I trouble shoot things well not stupid i have eliminated all the possible variables, i am trying to rule out the plugging in the usb first then turn on the camera!
I am so totally lost here?
I have no idea i found a blog about the BG-E6 grip causing err80's? So many bloody things to troubleshoot


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mondayshift
Goldmember
Avatar
2,301 posts
Likes: 723
Joined Apr 2011
Location: NC
     
Sep 05, 2011 20:08 |  #13

hey jacky i just plugged the usb then turned the camera on, no error code. used the BG-E6 and canon batteries too. it just started DPP and EOS utility.


“Sucking at something is the first step towards being sorta good at something.”
- Jake the Dog -
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 20:15 |  #14

Okay something is totally up with this then oh man where is the best place to send my camera to get proper fixing done? I have heard some bad reviews about the Canadian one so.........
I cannot go back to the store that i bought it from long story they sold me a camera with many miles on it for full price when i found out i totally flipped my lid! They dislike me to say the least!


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wfarrell4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,551 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: NJ
     
Sep 05, 2011 20:19 |  #15
bannedPermanent ban

Is that the one thats giving you issues?


Will: flickr (external link)
Canon EOS

Merry Christmas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,035 views & 0 likes for this thread
5DMII trouble shooting need other owners to test something?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is DTPhotography
769 guests, 200 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.