Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 04 Sep 2011 (Sunday) 06:04
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5DMII trouble shooting need other owners to test something?

 
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 20:33 |  #16

sorry i am lost what one is giving me issues i have a camera giving me issues and many other things right now!
I have never had to send my camera off to get fixed as of yet.. I have heard horror stories from others that make me scared!


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mondayshift
Goldmember
Avatar
2,300 posts
Likes: 706
Joined Apr 2011
Location: NC
     
Sep 05, 2011 20:38 |  #17

jaycky wrote in post #13056263 (external link)
sorry i am lost what one is giving me issues i have a camera giving me issues and many other things right now!

i know how it is man, just pick one issue first. camera or other, take a deep breath and see what needs to be done. worrying about everything at once makes it a bit harder.


“Sucking at something is the first step towards being sorta good at something.”
- Jake the Dog -
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 20:50 |  #18

I was planing on buying a leica m9 in a couple months but wanted the video aspect!
The idea of maybe just gutting this thing to a pl mount may be in the near future if i send this out and it comes back the same over and over! I have to deal with things one step at a time and its a little bit hard for me considering i am planning on working out of town for the next 7 years with 6 weeks on and 2 off... Not much time to sit around and trouble shoot a not so cheap camera! it really makes me mad!

I honestly would not run out and buy another canon after these 2 past issues i have had with the products


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,420 posts
Gallery: 217 photos
Best ofs: 11
Likes: 4109
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
     
Sep 05, 2011 20:59 |  #19

Have you checked to make sure the issue isn't with your computer? i.e., try it on another computer.


VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 21:05 |  #20

yes 3 different computers i have 2 desktops and a laptop and all do it^

i cannot find anything online google about err80 and 5dmII other than someone talking about a grip issue and i have removed the grip and it still happens.

updated the firmware and still issues its not an issue really but if it is a problem i would like to deal with it before camera is not under warranty


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wayne.robbins
Goldmember
2,062 posts
Joined Nov 2010
     
Sep 05, 2011 21:24 |  #21

jaycky wrote in post #13054838 (external link)
Omg i hate this first a faulty 7d and now a faulty 5dm2 piss me off
The 5DMII has minimal hours on it practically brand new!

Hate to say this but i am seriously thinking about dumping the gear and just giving up on canon at this point..
I will be away for 6 weeks and back for 2 this will be an ongoing thing for me and to have a camera i will have to send away and possibly not get fixed the first time my warranty will be eaten up soon enough..
Hmmmmmm is it really worth the headache?

So, this happens with a 7D and now a 5D mark II ? This stinks to high heaven of something else- something that is being shared.

First thought- computer with a funky power supply or motherboard either sending out too much power or not enough. Are you using a UPS with AVR technology built into it ?
Second thought- bad USB cable- swap it out with a new one.
Third thought- could it be something that you are running software wise on your computers that is screwing it up ?
Could be a bad memory card, or one that needs formatting in the camera...

Personally, I'd be using a card reader instead. Especially with the issues you are experiencing. But I'd be looking at what is shared between the two cameras and start there. If I wanted to test it, I'd do it with a laptop running on its batteries first.


EOS 5D III, EOS 7D,EOS Rebel T4i, Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS II, Canon 24-105L, Canon 18-135 IS STM, 1.4x TC III, 2.0x TC III, Σ 50mm f/1.4, Σ 17-50 OS, Σ 70-200 OS, Σ 50-500 OS, Σ 1.4x TC, Σ 2.0x TC, 580EXII(3), Canon SX-40, Canon S100
Fond memories: Rebel T1i, Canon 18-55 IS, Canon 55-250 IS, 18-135 IS (Given to a good home)...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,251 posts
Likes: 84
Joined Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
     
Sep 05, 2011 21:31 |  #22

One possible solution seems obvious and is pretty simple, stop plugging the camera in to download your images. Get a card reader and use that, instead. With the size of 5DII files, I'd want a USB 3 or Firewire 800 reader, if at all possible... or a built in that SATA/eSATA connected.

Err 80 usually means that there has been an image-related electronic malfunction detected, probably a data transfer issue since it's occuring when moving files. It might be due to the memory card, the camera's circuitry, the mini USB port on the camera, the USB cable, the USB socket on your computer (probably ruled out if getting the issue on several computers), or the driver for the 5DII that's loaded on your computer (also might be ruled out if you've gotten the same error with several computers).

Another thing you mention is drag and drop (nothing wrong with that), then format. You are formatting the memory card with your computer? Or with your camera, after it's disconnected from the computer? If you are formatting with the computer, that could be a big part of your problem. It's okay to do that, but always format again in the camera, before using the card. Otherwise, there is no guarantee that the format the computer applied is fully compatible with the camera.

I have seen issues crop up after repeatedly disconnecting USB devices without first "stopping" them and waiting for the "safe to disconnect" alert. Are you doing that?

About the only time I ever connect my cameras to my computer is to sync the clocks. I have the camera turned off to start with, plug in the USB cable, then turn the camera on. The computer reacts and I do the synching. After that's done, I then use the USB "stop" procedure and wait for the disconnect. Then I turn the camera off and unplug it from the computer.

It might not be possible to reverse now, but it could be related to updating the firmware from 2.07 to 2.09. I haven't used 09 in my 5DII yet. I've got 2.08 installed and working fine (and am keeping it for now because I'm thinking of installing Magic Lantern tweaks and they won't work with 09... at least not yet). You might check and see if you can go back to one of the earlier firmwares. This isn't always possible... check the info on the Canon site where you downloaded 09.

edit: I got the impression OP had some other problems with 7D, not the same Err 80 during image download. If getting the same Err in the same situations, yeah I'd suspect the USB cable or the memory card first, if using the same with both cameras.

Seems odd that OP would have so many problems with their two Canons. Since 2004 I've had 9 Canon DSLRs and used about a half dozen others at various times... the only issues I've ever had with any of them have been the self-loosening grip thing on the 30Ds. It was a pretty easy fix, too. I had image transfer problems when I connected a reader to a USB hub... eliminated the hub and connected it direct to the computer solved that. Certainly wasn't camera related. Never had any problem with earlier film Canon, either. I do need to send some lenses in for tune-ups, soon, though.

edit, the sequel: I just thought of another time when I've plugged my cameras into the computer with the USB cord... That's when writing a firmware update to a memory card. Never had any issues with that either.


Alan Myers (external link) "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2) & other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS (x2), 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - ZENFOLIO (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 21:52 |  #23

It happened in 2.07 and 2.09 firmwares i cannot remember if i had done the reversal of the plug in the usb first or last so it doesn't help me out?
I have a card reader and i use both ways never had a error code thrown before. And if i used a card reader all the time then i would never find out about this issue!

My computer has USB 3 connections its not some old slug !


I will say it again


I can get into the card if i turn the camera to the on position then plug usb cord in.. The window pops up on my computer 5DMII

Now if i plug the usb in first then turn the camera on it hangs (the camera) not the computer and then i get a err 80 the camera locks up. Have to pull batteries and let it sit for 2 minutes. Did this with the 2.07 and now the newest firmware. It didn't do this to me in the past.. And i have run 2.07 for sometime.

I haven't tried a new usb cable yet? Maybe its just this simple.


The 7D had hot pixels

The 5DMII is another issue! Both canon and i seem to get the bunk canon goods everytime for ____sakes!


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 21:55 |  #24

BTW don't you void canons warranty if you install magic lanterns tweaks?


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,251 posts
Likes: 84
Joined Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
     
Sep 05, 2011 22:04 |  #25

jaycky wrote in post #13056673 (external link)
BTW don't you void canons warranty if you install magic lanterns tweaks?

Yes, but I've had my 5DII for a couple years and it's out of warranty anyway.

Back to your issue...

Do you have the Canon Utility softwares installed on your computer(s)? If so, is it up to date? Particularly EOS Utility. Maybe the camera is polling the computer and not finding the driver, or vice versa (I ain't no computer tech). Even if you have the latest installed, perhaps it would be a good idea to download a fresh copy and reinstall it.

Maybe also inspect the USB cord plugs and sockets very carefully, to see if you can spot any damage or obstructions.

You mention removing the batteries and reinstalling them... Did you do a full "reboot" of the camera? By that I mean remove the main battery(ies)... And also remove the silver memory battery, the one you need a precision screwdriver to get to. Then turn the camera on, press the shutter release button once, turn the camera back off. It won't fire, but this should drain all remaining power from the circuitry and clear memory.Then reinstall all the batteries, check to see if you need to reset the date/time. If you do, you got a full reboot. If not, repeat the process. If you can't get it to reboot with this method, do everything the same, except instead of pressing the shutter release once, leave the batteries out for about an hour (half hour or 45 minutes might be enough, an hour just to be safe). Put batteries back, check date/time again. You might lose menu/Custom Function settings doing this. A reboot might not help, but it's free and easy to try yourself.

If none of this helps, I'd contact Canon service via email and describe the problem, see if they have any suggestions.


Alan Myers (external link) "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2) & other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS (x2), 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - ZENFOLIO (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 22:07 |  #26

Eos utility is on yes
I fix computers and build them etc for fun.....
I know this has nothing to do with my computer considering i have tried 3 diff computers


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stump
Senior Member
Avatar
772 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
     
Sep 05, 2011 22:35 |  #27

I would just send it back to Canon for repair.

Just use your card reader and call it a day.


6D - 50 1.8 - 50 1.4 - 70-200F4L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 05, 2011 22:55 |  #28

packaged and pissed


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gregg.Siam
Goldmember
Avatar
2,383 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Bangkok
     
Sep 06, 2011 05:52 as a reply to  @ jaycky's post |  #29

I'm sure you don't want to hear this, but electronics break. A sample of 2 means nothing. How many people do you think get defective Nikons, or better yet, buy many Canon products and never have a defective product?

Since you mention building computers, how many hard drive have you had fail? Saying I will not buy X brand because I had a failure is just silly as all mfg's have failed drives. Not saying I won't buy another Seagate because of the 25% failure rate a few years back, or Crucial for their memory scam I can accept, but not on just such a low sample rate of failures.

Think of it this way....2 broke, you are golden statistically for the rest of your life. :D


5D MKIII | 24-105mm f/4 L| 50mm f/1.8 | 600EX-RT [FONT=Tahoma][COLOR=bl​ue][FONT="]|
∞ 500px (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaycky
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,089 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Bancouver okanagan alberta
     
Sep 06, 2011 08:37 |  #30

One can only hope ^


5DM2 /grip Lots Of L's
measurbating f-stops
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/52633882@N07/ (external link)
http://about.me/jbmpho​tos (external link)
http://photobyfish.tum​blr.com/archive (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,802 views & 0 likes for this thread
5DMII trouble shooting need other owners to test something?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is amdcasin
801 guests, 239 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.