Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 Sep 2010 (Thursday) 20:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 60D Users, Unite! (2)

 
this thread is locked
vinmunoz
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
17,051 posts
Gallery: 441 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 9214
Joined Sep 2010
Location: California
     
Oct 07, 2011 22:55 |  #4231

Dr.D wrote in post #13219798 (external link)
So I need help understanding something. I use my 60 inside with low lights and use the awb and then use M to take the photo at like 4000 ISO and it just doesn't look that great plus it takes a 2 second shot. I then set my camera to the full auto with no flash and it uses 3200 awb and all that other stuff and looks great. I tried recreating the auto shot in M, but get no where the same results. Is there something I'm missing?

Strange... am gonna try that too and see if i'll get the same result.


| VINZ - SONY A7RIII/A6000/FDR-X3000 | 85GM | FE1635GM | FE50F1.8 | SEL30mm F3.5 Macro |
INSTAGRAM (external link)- WEBSITE (external link) - FACEBOOK (external link) - 500PX (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Hardcore
Goldmember
Avatar
2,668 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jul 2008
     
Oct 07, 2011 23:01 |  #4232

Dr.D wrote in post #13219798 (external link)
So I need help understanding something. I use my 60 inside with low lights and use the awb and then use M to take the photo at like 4000 ISO and it just doesn't look that great plus it takes a 2 second shot. I then set my camera to the full auto with no flash and it uses 3200 awb and all that other stuff and looks great. I tried recreating the auto shot in M, but get no where the same results. Is there something I'm missing?

Am I missing something? Your in manual mode so what are you shutter and aperture at when you set ISO 4000? Do you mean it takes 2 seconds to shoot or it opens the shutter for 2 seconds?


Name: Corey
GEAR
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
vinmunoz
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
17,051 posts
Gallery: 441 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 9214
Joined Sep 2010
Location: California
     
Oct 07, 2011 23:16 |  #4233

my fave shots of the day...

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 400 | MIME changed to 'text/html'

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 400 | MIME changed to 'text/html'

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 400 | MIME changed to 'text/html'

and
IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 400 | MIME changed to 'text/html'


Note: only the first one is not HDR.

| VINZ - SONY A7RIII/A6000/FDR-X3000 | 85GM | FE1635GM | FE50F1.8 | SEL30mm F3.5 Macro |
INSTAGRAM (external link)- WEBSITE (external link) - FACEBOOK (external link) - 500PX (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
3DZukini
Goldmember
Avatar
1,297 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Iowa
     
Oct 07, 2011 23:30 |  #4234

Nice Vin! :)


Call me Erich. :) 6D, 60D | 18-135 IS | 50 ƒ1.8 | 28-75 ƒ2.8 | 24-105 ƒ4L | 70-200 ƒ2.8L II | 11-16 ƒ2.8
Flickr (external link) ~ 500px (external link) ~ Taproll (external link) ~ effectivimage
 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
3DZukini
Goldmember
Avatar
1,297 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Iowa
     
Oct 07, 2011 23:36 |  #4235

Some fall colors photos for a local car lot...

IMAGE: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6032/6221691475_0e1b4ec76a_z.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com …effectivimage/6​221691475/  (external link)
_MG_1229.jpg (external link) by effectivimage (external link), on Flickr
IMAGE: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6233/6221691883_20e47e2ba9_z.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com …effectivimage/6​221691883/  (external link)
_MG_1246.jpg (external link) by effectivimage (external link), on Flickr
IMAGE: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6099/6221692419_22ce1925ec_z.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com …effectivimage/6​221692419/  (external link)
_MG_1254.jpg (external link) by effectivimage (external link), on Flickr

I really wish there hadn't been power/phone lines running all over! :)

Call me Erich. :) 6D, 60D | 18-135 IS | 50 ƒ1.8 | 28-75 ƒ2.8 | 24-105 ƒ4L | 70-200 ƒ2.8L II | 11-16 ƒ2.8
Flickr (external link) ~ 500px (external link) ~ Taproll (external link) ~ effectivimage
 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
vinmunoz
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
17,051 posts
Gallery: 441 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 9214
Joined Sep 2010
Location: California
     
Oct 07, 2011 23:37 |  #4236

thanks 3D... i thought guyz into landscape photography should do HDR. There are stuff human eyes sees that a lens and a sensor can't. HDR can...(i think)


| VINZ - SONY A7RIII/A6000/FDR-X3000 | 85GM | FE1635GM | FE50F1.8 | SEL30mm F3.5 Macro |
INSTAGRAM (external link)- WEBSITE (external link) - FACEBOOK (external link) - 500PX (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mythmaker1972
Member
63 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
     
Oct 08, 2011 02:58 as a reply to  @ vinmunoz's post |  #4237

I finally got my new battery grip and 2 extra batteries today. 20 business days from Hong Kong felt like 20 weeks.

Sort of tested it (its the Meike) and it feels great. Hopefully I can take it for a proper spin tomorrow and see how well those OEM batteries last.


Canon 60D, Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5, Sigma 30mm f/1.4, Canon 50mm f/1.8, SMC Takumar 50mm f/1.4, SMC Takumar 300mm f/4, Canon EF-S 55-250mm, YN-468

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
spinaltapped
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Dec 2010
     
Oct 08, 2011 05:01 |  #4238

IMAGE: http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6114/6222448760_b921090bb5_z.jpg
Buzzy bee.

I like stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rivest
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,678 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Canada.
     
Oct 08, 2011 08:18 |  #4239

Went on a portrait shoot yesterday. I open my bag and OH CRAP! I forgot my 5D at home, paired with my Sigma 50. Didn't have enough time for before the sun goes out to get back home and take it.

So I had to ''force'' myself shooting a portrait session with my 60D. How ugly the results are. Man that camera sucks compared to the 5D..

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO


Hope you all got that it's a tongue in cheek post

:)

Hi, I'm David.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dr.D
Goldmember
Avatar
1,236 posts
Likes: 104
Joined Feb 2011
Location: SL,UT.
     
Oct 08, 2011 10:53 |  #4240

3DZukini wrote in post #13220143 (external link)
Some fall colors photos for a local car lot...


I really wish there hadn't been power/phone lines running all over! :)

Really like the set especially the third. I would however crop just the bottom up to your watermark. The road distracts me for a second. Did you use a CPL on the 1st shot?


6D . Gripped 60D . Gripped XSI . Opteka 6.5 . Canon 10-22 . Canon 18-135 . Canon 50 1.8 MKII . Canon 24-105 f4 L . Canon 70-200 2.8 IS MKII L . Canon 70-300 IS USM . Sigma 150-600 . Canon 100mm Macro . Canon 2X III . 430 EXII . Manfroto 190XPROB . Manfrotto 055XPROB . Black Rapid Sport . Outback 200
https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1195651

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dr.D
Goldmember
Avatar
1,236 posts
Likes: 104
Joined Feb 2011
Location: SL,UT.
     
Oct 08, 2011 11:05 |  #4241

Hardcore wrote in post #13220058 (external link)
Am I missing something? Your in manual mode so what are you shutter and aperture at when you set ISO 4000? Do you mean it takes 2 seconds to shoot or it opens the shutter for 2 seconds?

It's set wide open, I think that one is 3.5 and the shutter using the bar to find the right exposure. It's taking a 2 second exposure. If I set it to go any faster the whole pic is dark. So all I did is put it in the no flash auto mode and it will set itself to around 3200 ISO and 3.5 with maybe a 1/100 second shutter speed and the pic looks great. I then set it to those exact settings in manual and I get a totally different result, even if I bump up the ISO up to 6400 in M I can't get it to 1/100 exposure. What is the camera doing that I'm not?


6D . Gripped 60D . Gripped XSI . Opteka 6.5 . Canon 10-22 . Canon 18-135 . Canon 50 1.8 MKII . Canon 24-105 f4 L . Canon 70-200 2.8 IS MKII L . Canon 70-300 IS USM . Sigma 150-600 . Canon 100mm Macro . Canon 2X III . 430 EXII . Manfroto 190XPROB . Manfrotto 055XPROB . Black Rapid Sport . Outback 200
https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1195651

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
3DZukini
Goldmember
Avatar
1,297 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Iowa
     
Oct 08, 2011 12:16 |  #4242

Dr.D wrote in post #13221393 (external link)
Really like the set especially the third. I would however crop just the bottom up to your watermark. The road distracts me for a second. Did you use a CPL on the 1st shot?

Thanks! I agree about the road, I leave extra space on these images for the person that does their web site, otherwise he crops too close, I'm betting you won't see the road on their web pic. I have a CPL, but didn't use it because it's a cheap Rocketfish one from Best Buy and I discovered that it softens my shots a bit, I added some blue back into the sky with a quick gradient in Lightroom. Gotta love Lightroom! :)


Call me Erich. :) 6D, 60D | 18-135 IS | 50 ƒ1.8 | 28-75 ƒ2.8 | 24-105 ƒ4L | 70-200 ƒ2.8L II | 11-16 ƒ2.8
Flickr (external link) ~ 500px (external link) ~ Taproll (external link) ~ effectivimage
 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pillainp
Member
203 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Trivandrum, Kerala, India
     
Oct 08, 2011 14:08 |  #4243

Having trouble with AF in low light with the kit 18-55 IS II when using the flash and the built-in focus assist light. The lens will hunt out and in, and I will get focus confirmation (focus point blinks red), but the picture is out of focus.

Centre focus point manually selected, AI Servo, any aperture that I set. AV Mode, back-button focus.


Gear List
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lankforddl
Senior Member
Avatar
747 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 5
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Minnesota
     
Oct 08, 2011 14:12 |  #4244

Rivest wrote in post #13220985 (external link)
Went on a portrait shoot yesterday. I open my bag and OH CRAP! I forgot my 5D at home, paired with my Sigma 50. Didn't have enough time for before the sun goes out to get back home and take it.

So I had to ''force'' myself shooting a portrait session with my 60D. How ugly the results are. Man that camera sucks compared to the 5D..

IMAGE NOT FOUND
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO


Hope you all got that it's a tongue in cheek post

:)

Sarcasm? Lol, the shot looks great. I own a 5D and a 60D and the 60d get's way more action than the 5D. The only reason I keep the 5D is because it's a perfect mate for the 135 F2.


5DIICAN17-40CAN50CAN85CAN100CAN135CAN70-200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lar55
Senior Member
277 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2010
     
Oct 08, 2011 14:14 |  #4245

Dr.D wrote in post #13221422 (external link)
It's set wide open, I think that one is 3.5 and the shutter using the bar to find the right exposure. It's taking a 2 second exposure. If I set it to go any faster the whole pic is dark. So all I did is put it in the no flash auto mode and it will set itself to around 3200 ISO and 3.5 with maybe a 1/100 second shutter speed and the pic looks great. I then set it to those exact settings in manual and I get a totally different result, even if I bump up the ISO up to 6400 in M I can't get it to 1/100 exposure. What is the camera doing that I'm not?

Something is really wrong here. At ISO 4000, f/3.5, you would have to be in near darkness to need a 2 second exposure.

I just did a quick test indoors, one window providing light (not direct sun). Auto no flash picked f/3.5, iso 3200, 1/30s. Manual with the same settings = same picture.

Keep looking. You'll find it. Double check that ISO setting?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

945,678 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 60D Users, Unite! (2)
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is EgonSpengler_89
1848 guests, 350 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.