Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 09 Oct 2011 (Sunday) 15:50
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Light Room Making Cache Files on my Desktop

 
General_T
Senior Member
252 posts
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
     
Oct 09, 2011 15:50 |  #1

Hi,

Everytime I do work in LR 3.5 it keeps polluting my desktop with these cache files. Anyone know how to stop this?


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Canon 5D Mk III | 24-105 F4 L IS USM | 100 F2.8 L Macro IS USM | 70-200 MK II F2.8 L IS USM|580 EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 09, 2011 15:57 |  #2

Well, I've never seen such a thing, but if you open your Preferences dialog and go to the File Handling tab you will see at the bottom the settings for you Camera Raw Cache, which LR uses. I would imagine that somehow you have it set to your Desktop folder. I have mine on a second hard drive.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cagenuts
Senior Member
Avatar
860 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Oct 09, 2011 16:24 |  #3

^^^^
This is exactly what the problem is.


...Ask me anything, I'm an ultracrepidarian.
Hilton
_______________
C A N O N | 6D | Σ f/1.4 | 24-70 f/4 | 70-200 f/2.8 II | Kenko Pro300 DGX 1.4 TC |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
General_T
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
252 posts
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
     
Oct 09, 2011 17:12 |  #4

Hi Tony / Sala,

You are both correct!! Now all I have to figure out is where should this Cache be?
Tony, I see you said you keep it on a second harddrive. Where should it be?


Canon 5D Mk III | 24-105 F4 L IS USM | 100 F2.8 L Macro IS USM | 70-200 MK II F2.8 L IS USM|580 EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 09, 2011 17:23 |  #5

Well, on my second "data" drive it can go anywhere I want, since there is no "system" stuff. There are a few programs installed into it but as a whole I have it set up for my short-term shoots and then stuff like the Camera Raw cache, my Lightroom catalog, and scratch disk use and whatnot.

So, I'd say, assuming you have a second internal drive, set up an easy-to-find "place" for the Cache, that way you can relocate it if something gets thrown off. And, I have mine in a Shared folder for easy access from multiple directions (such as my laptop).


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
General_T
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
252 posts
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
     
Oct 09, 2011 17:29 |  #6

Hi Thanks,

For now then I put it on my external drive and see how that goes. Maybe when I get ambitious I will install one of those solid state drives to see how that ups performance.


Cheers


Canon 5D Mk III | 24-105 F4 L IS USM | 100 F2.8 L Macro IS USM | 70-200 MK II F2.8 L IS USM|580 EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 09, 2011 17:35 |  #7

Well, OK, if you don't have a second internal drive at least an external drive will get it out of the system stuff (and off your desktop:)). I like the internal because it's much higher speed than an external drive (I'm USB 2.0-limited for my external drives).


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
General_T
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
252 posts
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
     
Oct 09, 2011 18:24 |  #8

tonylong wrote in post #13226273 (external link)
Well, OK, if you don't have a second internal drive at least an external drive will get it out of the system stuff (and off your desktop:)). I like the internal because it's much higher speed than an external drive (I'm USB 2.0-limited for my external drives).

Yeah, me as well. But I here a solid state drive can transfer at around 400MB/sec. That would be sweet!!


Canon 5D Mk III | 24-105 F4 L IS USM | 100 F2.8 L Macro IS USM | 70-200 MK II F2.8 L IS USM|580 EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 09, 2011 18:34 |  #9

Yeah the SSDs have a good rep so would probably be great for the Cache!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Oct 10, 2011 05:47 |  #10

General_T wrote in post #13226247 (external link)
For now then I put it on my external drive and see how that goes.

If your external drive isn't on a high-speed interface like eSATA then putting the LR cache there will, in all likelihood, impair performance. You'd be better sticking it on your internal drive.

General_T wrote in post #13226247 (external link)
Maybe when I get ambitious I will install one of those solid state drives to see how that ups performance.

An SSD is probably the upgrade that would have most impact on most people's machines. I bought my first SSD over 2 years ago and I was astounded at the increase in performance.


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cagenuts
Senior Member
Avatar
860 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Oct 10, 2011 06:34 |  #11

If you had to choose between the Lightroom cache and the Lightroom catalog plus 1:1 previews which one would you put on the SSD?

I was looking at the cache folder and the date of the files is 1/10/2011 and I've been into Lightroom every day since then which make me wonder what exactly is this cache?


...Ask me anything, I'm an ultracrepidarian.
Hilton
_______________
C A N O N | 6D | Σ f/1.4 | 24-70 f/4 | 70-200 f/2.8 II | Kenko Pro300 DGX 1.4 TC |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Oct 10, 2011 07:57 |  #12

Probably ACR cache.
1:1 previews are only valid until you adjust an image.

http://www.lightroomqu​een.com …room-the-best-speed-tips/ (external link)


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Oct 10, 2011 09:08 |  #13

cagenuts wrote in post #13228516 (external link)
If you had to choose between the Lightroom cache and the Lightroom catalog plus 1:1 previews which one would you put on the SSD?

Both.

The only reason one may want them on separate drives is to prevent slowdown when both cache and catalog need to be accessed simultaneously. SSDs are so fast that this will rarely, if ever, be a problem.


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cagenuts
Senior Member
Avatar
860 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Oct 10, 2011 14:15 |  #14

Thanks guys, looks like I need another SSD.


...Ask me anything, I'm an ultracrepidarian.
Hilton
_______________
C A N O N | 6D | Σ f/1.4 | 24-70 f/4 | 70-200 f/2.8 II | Kenko Pro300 DGX 1.4 TC |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,466 views & 0 likes for this thread
Light Room Making Cache Files on my Desktop
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is michaelscheuren
730 guests, 231 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.