Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 13 Oct 2011 (Thursday) 09:58
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Computer upgrade for editing 1080p?

 
misshotnspicy
Member
Avatar
107 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Location: DFW, TX
     
Oct 13, 2011 09:58 |  #1

Hello,

I am very new to the digital video world & was wondering if anyone can suggest some upgrades I can do on my computer to make my editing a lot faster. Here is my spec:

Manufacturer: HP
Model: e9300z
Processor: AMD Athlon (tm) II X4 635 Processor 2.90 GHZ
Installed memory (RAM): 6.00 GB
Software: Adobe Premiere Pro CS5.5 & After Effects CS5.5
Camera: Canon 5D Mark II

I tried to do a quick edit on After Effects with a 1920x1080 26 sec video and it took 10 minutes to render.

I am a still photographer and want to try to film short nature videos (3-5 min max) which will be seen only online.

Thanks in advance,
Laura


www.lauravuphoto.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
UK_Tomcat_Fan
Goldmember
Avatar
1,345 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 25
Joined May 2007
Location: Melbourne FL
     
Oct 13, 2011 10:34 |  #2

up the ram to 8gb and go with an AMD X6 processor, also try and use a video card to render the video via CUDA / ATI Stream


Martin | GearList | Website: My photography (external link)
POTN Resident Jolly Roger / Super bug hater!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
misshotnspicy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
107 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Location: DFW, TX
     
Oct 13, 2011 10:58 |  #3

UK_Tomcat_Fan wrote in post #13245318 (external link)
up the ram to 8gb and go with an AMD X6 processor, also try and use a video card to render the video via CUDA / ATI Stream

Thanks for the recommendation. Would I need a quadro video card or is there another cost effective video card I could use instead? Also, do you think I need to replace my motherboard completely?

If I made this changes, will I see a significant processing time?

Thanks,
Laura


www.lauravuphoto.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Furinox
Member
233 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Apr 2011
     
Oct 13, 2011 11:54 |  #4

The best thing to do is switch to a mac. My macbook pro is half the specs of my windows 7 desktop and still renders faster. I use premiere pro and after effects on both.


Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
misshotnspicy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
107 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Location: DFW, TX
     
Oct 13, 2011 12:33 |  #5

Furinox wrote in post #13245729 (external link)
The best thing to do is switch to a mac. My macbook pro is half the specs of my windows 7 desktop and still renders faster. I use premiere pro and after effects on both.

Wow! How much faster does your MacBook Pro renders compared to your Windows 7 desktop?


www.lauravuphoto.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Marfmarf
Member
89 posts
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Anaheim, CA
     
Oct 13, 2011 13:52 as a reply to  @ misshotnspicy's post |  #6

If you are looking to upgrade, a good resource to look at is the Premiere Pro Benchmark for CS5 & CS5.5 located here - http://ppbm5.com (external link)

The results can be a little confusing to interpret, but a common thread with all the best results are PCs with higher processor speeds, Nvidia video cards with CUDA, and lots of RAM.

I've edited a few 1080p videos on my system, and it takes roughly 30mins to render a 5 minute video full of effects and color correction. I have an i7 processor @ 4.0gHz with 12gb of RAM.

Hope this information helps!


Canon 5d mk iii || Canon t3i || Canon 50mm f/1.8 || Canon 35mm 1.4L
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jsilvestri
Member
Avatar
60 posts
Joined May 2011
     
Oct 13, 2011 13:53 |  #7

mac or windows doesnt really matter too much. granted on a mac osx and the hardware are designed for each other so there are some advantages that come with that. dont listen to anyone about more RAM right now, youve got six gigs right now what you need is a decent or beastly graphics card that can pump out some major rendering. believe me i built my computer a year ago and waited to get my graphics card and it made an entire world of difference. your processor is quad core so thats fine too. going to x6 wont do tons unless you overclock.

i say just get a good graphics card the best you can afford with at least 512mb but preferrably at least 1gb or more. but it all depends on your cash flow. lol. let me know if you need some good example cards!


Canon EOS Rebel T2i/550D
Canon 18-135mm
Transcend 16GB c10
Adobe CS5 Master Collection
Photomatix Pro 4.0

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Georgey
Senior Member
288 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Dublin
     
Oct 14, 2011 03:24 |  #8

Ive just switched to Mac (40th birthday present to myself) and the difference is insane. I shot a friends wedding earlier this year and it took weeks of tricking around to get my laptop to render and produce the final video, now I have to admit its chalk and cheese spec wise Laptop was Dual core 2.4ghz 4BG ram (32bit=3Gb ram) and my new Mac is a 27" i7 3.4GHZ 8GB ram 256GB ssd and 2GB ram on the video card.......... however it works flawlessly and the interface and software (imovie) work so well that I would recommend thinking hard about a switch.
Philip


1D MKII, 5D MKIII, Leica M4,M9, Rollie twin 2.8, 400mmL 2.8 IS, 85mmL, 50L, 28mm 1.8, 17-40L, 24-70L, 24-105L,70-200mm 2.8L IS II, Bigma,580ex MKII, 580EX, loads of filters bags and memory
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/georgeys_photos​/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
misshotnspicy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
107 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Location: DFW, TX
     
Oct 14, 2011 20:53 |  #9

Thanks for everyone's feedback. I really appreciate it! Right now, I'm just going to purchase a quadro video card & upgrade to a 10 GB RAM (as it's pretty cheap). Hopefully, I will see some improvements. Maybe later on, I will replace my processor or purchase a MAC Pro if I ever get serious with this.


www.lauravuphoto.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
the ­ jimmy
Goldmember
Avatar
1,426 posts
Likes: 31
Joined Dec 2009
Location: west coast of Florida
     
Oct 15, 2011 16:12 |  #10

misshotnspicy wrote in post #13252510 (external link)
Thanks for everyone's feedback. I really appreciate it! Right now, I'm just going to purchase a quadro video card & upgrade to a 10 GB RAM (as it's pretty cheap). Hopefully, I will see some improvements. Maybe later on, I will replace my processor or purchase a MAC Pro if I ever get serious with this.

Why are you buying the quadro series, I was under the impression this is geared more form CAD programs. CAD being computer aided design.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Terjay
Senior Member
448 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Ylöjärvi, Finland
     
Oct 16, 2011 09:58 |  #11

the jimmy wrote in post #13254911 (external link)
Why are you buying the quadro series, I was under the impression this is geared more form CAD programs. CAD being computer aided design.

http://www.nvidia.co.u​k/page/workstation.htm​l (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kento
Goldmember
Avatar
1,207 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2008
Location: Innsbruck, Austria
     
Oct 16, 2011 12:41 |  #12

Ok seriously, you need to take any responses you get from a forum with a grain of salt. Some people are just trolls(ie the person that told you to buy a Mac), or they are simply misinformed. Your best bet would be to find an actual audio/video blog that touches on this subject.


My Tools
-Jesse
Unknown-Studio.com

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
vid1900
Senior Member
557 posts
Joined Feb 2010
     
Oct 16, 2011 13:14 |  #13

Also, don't forget that you need a 64 bit operating system to utilize more than 3 gigs of ram.

I can't tell you how many of my friends brag that they have 16 gigs of ram and then I see they are running a 32 bit version of Windows.


No bragging list - I just rent whatever the job requires.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kouman
Senior Member
Avatar
380 posts
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Metro Detroit
     
Oct 16, 2011 18:42 |  #14

Well, first off, a video card doesn't help much or much at all on rendering videos. It's up to the cpu to render it out.


5D mark ii | Sigma 85 f1.4 | 17-40 f4L YN--468 | 2x YN-560 | Einstein AB1600 | Kacey 22" BDWebsite (external link) Flickr (external link)
Feedback 1
Feedback 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Terjay
Senior Member
448 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Ylöjärvi, Finland
     
Oct 17, 2011 11:48 |  #15

kouman wrote in post #13258884 (external link)
Well, first off, a video card doesn't help much or much at all on rendering videos. It's up to the cpu to render it out.

Well you don't need to render in Premiere Pro CS5 if you have a decent Nvidia card with CUDA support. I had 4 tracks of 1080p footage from a 5D mkII splitscreened with effects and the whole thing ran in realtime without rendering. So I would say it helps a lot.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,856 views & 0 likes for this thread
Computer upgrade for editing 1080p?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Lousyboy
681 guests, 244 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.