Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 24 Oct 2011 (Monday) 19:35
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can't Open JPEGS

 
Jam71868
Senior Member
Avatar
536 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 24, 2011 19:35 |  #1

Hi All.

I wonder if someone can help me.

I shot some images for someone this weekend and burned all the images to CD. They cannot open them. So I looked at the images on my laptop and sure enough, the first two CDs I burned have jpeg files that will not open. When I try I get the message " Photo Gallery can't open this picture of video. This file is not supported, or you don't have the latest updates to photo gallery."

I can't get anything to open the images... even photoshop. These were the first two CDs I burned, the next 7 are fine. They were burned using Windows Media Center.

Can someone help me please? I can even email the images. Please please help.

Thank you.


Gear:
Canon 5d MKII, Canon 40d, Canon 30d, Canon XTi
Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 2.8 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8
(2) Canon 580 EXII Flash
(2) Alien Bee 800's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 24, 2011 19:44 |  #2

I don't have any idea!

One thing to try: copy some of the jpegs onto your hard drive and then see if you can open them?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 24, 2011 19:45 |  #3

Also, can you view the original files before you burnt them onto the CD? It's possible that the burning or a messed up CD corrupted the files...


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jam71868
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
536 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 24, 2011 19:55 as a reply to  @ tonylong's post |  #4

What I did was downloaded the files and then burned them from the Pictures folder. The original downloaded files are the ones that I can't view.

I also notice that when you click on properties of the files I can view, ARCHIVE is checked... on the ones that I cannot view... ARCHIVE is not even there.


Gear:
Canon 5d MKII, Canon 40d, Canon 30d, Canon XTi
Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 2.8 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8
(2) Canon 580 EXII Flash
(2) Alien Bee 800's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,998 posts
Likes: 364
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:08 |  #5

CDs and DVD are notoriously unreliable. Try reading them in the computer that did the writing, sometimes the drive can go out of alignment and only the original drive can read them.

I hope you have backups on a hard drive somewhere. If not the images may be lost.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jam71868
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
536 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:14 |  #6

The images were downloaded directly from the CF cards. I can't view the files that were downloaded.... the original files. I am not talking about the burned files.... the originals.


Gear:
Canon 5d MKII, Canon 40d, Canon 30d, Canon XTi
Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 2.8 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8
(2) Canon 580 EXII Flash
(2) Alien Bee 800's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:18 |  #7

Jam71868 wrote in post #13300511 (external link)
What I did was downloaded the files and then burned them from the Pictures folder. The original downloaded files are the ones that I can't view.

I also notice that when you click on properties of the files I can view, ARCHIVE is checked... on the ones that I cannot view... ARCHIVE is not even there.

As to the Archive checkbox, click the Advanced button, assuming it's there like what I see.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,998 posts
Likes: 364
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:19 |  #8

Your description makes it hard to understand what's going on. The images were taken on CF as jpeg, copied to CD, then erased? Or were they copied to a machine, burned to CD, and kept on the machine? Are the original files corrupt, or just the ones on the CD?

If you can't open a file, it's corrupt. If you can't open any of the copies of the file, the image is lost. it's almost impossible to recover corrupt images.

The culprit can be:
- A memory card failure
- A bad card reader or cable
- Bad RAM, or a bad hard drive
- A bad CD/DVD writer


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:21 |  #9

Jam71868 wrote in post #13300616 (external link)
The images were downloaded directly from the CF cards. I can't view the files that were downloaded.... the original files. I am not talking about the burned files.... the originals.

What software did you use to download the pics?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jam71868
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
536 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:26 |  #10

The images were copied and pasted from the card to a file in PICTURES folder. Those files are not viewable.

These are also the files that were burned to CD, which are also not viewable.


Gear:
Canon 5d MKII, Canon 40d, Canon 30d, Canon XTi
Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 2.8 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8
(2) Canon 580 EXII Flash
(2) Alien Bee 800's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jam71868
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
536 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:37 |  #11

Properties says the file is 1.5 mb, but nothing is there.... there has to be something


Gear:
Canon 5d MKII, Canon 40d, Canon 30d, Canon XTi
Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 2.8 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8
(2) Canon 580 EXII Flash
(2) Alien Bee 800's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amonline
Goldmember
Avatar
3,558 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2006
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:42 |  #12

Make sure the files still have their extensions. If they don't immediately change your OS prefs to show extensions. It sounds like your OS stripped the extensions and then they were written that way to disk. ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:43 |  #13

OK, let's take this a bit at a time -- what camera did you shoot these with, and what were your image settings (Large Fine jpeg, etc)?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,998 posts
Likes: 364
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Oct 24, 2011 20:49 |  #14

Like I said, far more detail is required to help you. Start again. Restate your problem, with more detail. Exactly what you did, when, what PC, etc. Without that you won't get any useful help.

But, what it comes down to, is a corrupt file is corrupt. If you can't get it from the source the file is almost certainly lost. This is why I don't reuse memory cards even for double header wedding weekends. It means I need 60GB or more of memory cards, but i'd rather pay the money than lose images.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 24, 2011 21:02 |  #15

Jam71868 wrote in post #13300774 (external link)
Properties says the file is 1.5 mb, but nothing is there.... there has to be something

This part is very suspicious, it's like you are looking at a jpeg "embedded" in a Raw file. So again, what camera and what image settings?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,423 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can't Open JPEGS
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Wierdninja
819 guests, 201 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.