Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 Oct 2011 (Sunday) 18:34
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help with my 50D

 
billrhea
Member
Avatar
172 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Oct 23, 2011 18:34 |  #1

So I shoot events and have been having problems with the camera not shooting. The camera will focus, beep them I push the button and nothing. Push push push and nothing. I recompose focus again it beeps then fires. Anyone have any ideas? This does not happen all the time but sucks when it does because I will miss the moment.


Canon 5d Mark II
24-105L
100mm L macro.
50mm f1.8 70-200 IS F2.8
70-200 f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bulldogg7
Senior Member
Avatar
469 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Henderson county, NC
     
Oct 23, 2011 18:37 |  #2

Mine started that a few months ago, I did the alcohol through the battery door thing and it didn't help. It's random and rare when it happens but it's annoying as heck. Sometimes when it happens if I press the shutter really hard it'll take the shot.



Jeff:
Junk Box
, Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wfarrell4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,551 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2011
Location: NJ
     
Oct 23, 2011 18:43 |  #3
bannedPermanent ban

Is the buffer filling up?


Will: flickr (external link)
Canon EOS

Merry Christmas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RPCrowe
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,227 posts
Likes: 1935
Joined Nov 2005
Location: San Diego County, California, USA
     
Oct 23, 2011 18:45 |  #4

Could you be closer than the len's minimum focus distance or, if shooting with the 70-200L, could you have the auto focus limiter selected. I don't know about the f/2.8L (series) lenses but, my 70-200mm f/4L IS lens has a focus limiter which, if engaged adjusts the lens MFD to 3-meters. If the focus limiter is not engaged, the MFD for my lens is 1.2-meters.

I occasionally am shooting some distant subjects and with the limiter engaged. When I forget to switch it off, I try to shoot something closer than 3-meters and the camera will not shoot until I either switch the limiter off or focus on something further away. It was frustrating at first because there is no indication why the camera is not shooting...

BTW: This happens with my 30D, 40D and 7D so it is a lens thing not a camera thing...


See my images at http://rpcrowe.smugmug​.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
billrhea
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
172 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Oct 23, 2011 18:48 |  #5

Naaa seems to happen with any of my lenses 70-200 17-85 or 100mm macro. seems to do it the most with the 17-85.


Canon 5d Mark II
24-105L
100mm L macro.
50mm f1.8 70-200 IS F2.8
70-200 f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sdiver2489
Goldmember
2,845 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 112
Joined Sep 2009
     
Oct 23, 2011 18:52 |  #6

Are you using the pop up flash?


Please visit my Flickr (external link) and leave a comment!

Gear:
Canon 5D III, Canon 24-70L F4 IS, Canon 70-300L F4-F5.6 IS, Canon 100mm F2.8L IS Macro, Canon 35mm F2.0 IS, Canon 430EX II-RT, Canon 600EX II-RT

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bulldogg7
Senior Member
Avatar
469 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Henderson county, NC
     
Oct 23, 2011 18:55 |  #7

It's even happened in manual focus and AI-servo with mine.



Jeff:
Junk Box
, Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
billrhea
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
172 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Oct 23, 2011 22:09 |  #8

bulldogg7 wrote in post #13294983 (external link)
It's even happened in manual focus and AI-servo with mine.

Yes even in manual focus. I never use the pop up flash and does it when I use my 430 Ex speedlight too. I am so frustrated with this because I have missed shot I need because of this.


Canon 5d Mark II
24-105L
100mm L macro.
50mm f1.8 70-200 IS F2.8
70-200 f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gofer
Goldmember
1,548 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: UK
     
Oct 23, 2011 22:50 |  #9

billrhea wrote in post #13294888 (external link)
So I shoot events and have been having problems with the camera not shooting. The camera will focus, beep them I push the button and nothing. Push push push and nothing. I recompose focus again it beeps then fires. Anyone have any ideas? This does not happen all the time but sucks when it does because I will miss the moment.

Sounds like your camera could be suffering from 'Dirty Shutter Button' syndrome. There's been a couple of threads recently about this and it would seem that cleaning the shutter button contacts by poring a cleaning solution (alcohol) into the battery compartment works for most. Personally, I'd send to Canon for a proper long lasting repair, but that's just me :)

Just for your interest : http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=tB_gSqyidI0 (external link)


Steve.

Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Oct 24, 2011 01:19 |  #10

If you do decide to go the alcohol-cleaner route, make sure you remove your Date/Time battery from your batter compartment. Otherwise it sounds like your camera has issues!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MGiddings ­ Photography
Senior Member
Avatar
964 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
     
Oct 24, 2011 02:56 |  #11

As gofer said this really does sound like a dirty shutter button. There is a video on YouTube showing how ro dismantle the camera to give the shutter a clean. BUT that video will scare you unless you also happen to be a brain surgeon. Find a local camera repair shop and get them to do it for you.


https://mgiddings.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RolyRatman
Senior Member
Avatar
332 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 231
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Worthing, South UK
     
Oct 24, 2011 03:06 |  #12

I had something similar with my 50D, I sent it in for a service/calibration and it ended up having the shutter button replaced. I would advise like the others have said to get it fixed professionally.

One thing is I am sure that before I sent the camera off it had a silver shutter button and now it has a
Black one, not that it really matters I suppose.

Sent my 100-400 in at the same time and that needed repairs to the zoom mechanism and focusing mechanism, wondering how I actually managed to get any photos lol


flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DeVVitt
Senior Member
362 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Location: The Netherlands
     
Oct 24, 2011 03:10 |  #13

You sure your camera isn't set on a 2 or 10 second timer..? I just tried with mine, you press the button, it starts beeping and then fires the shot.



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
billrhea
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
172 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Oct 24, 2011 19:52 |  #14

First off let me thank you guys for all your help. I think I will send it in to get fixed. Might just need a good cleaning.


Canon 5d Mark II
24-105L
100mm L macro.
50mm f1.8 70-200 IS F2.8
70-200 f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
frule
Member
208 posts
Joined May 2007
     
Oct 25, 2011 04:04 |  #15

I replaced the shutter button on a 40D. It was very difficult. The ribbon cables are extremely fragile.If you are not EXTREMELT dextrous, I'd not recommend doing this! Send it to Canon.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,609 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help with my 50D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is idauria
1018 guests, 284 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.