Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 22 Mar 2006 (Wednesday) 13:34
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

WARNING 1D MkII and N incompatible with 4GB SD cards.

 
gaza
Member
104 posts
Joined Dec 2004
Location: Hawera, New Zealand
     
Mar 26, 2006 01:32 as a reply to  @ post 1320031 |  #16

Cadwell wrote:
Not for all of them... I just stuck 4 cards formatted in the camera into the PC card reader and checked the file system.

1GB SanDisk Ultra II (Compact Flash) - FAT
1GB SanDisk Extreme III (SD) - FAT
2GB SanDisk Extreme III (Compact Flash) - FAT
4GB IBM Microdrive (Compact Flash) - FAT 32

So it seems like the camera only uses FAT32 when it needs to. It's my guess that some numpty junior programmer at Canon forgot to include the FAT32 handling code in the SD interface I/O routines.

Time for firmware update, Canon!

?
After reading this, I put one of my Sandisk Ultra 2Gb CFs in my card reader and did "properties", it's definately formatted FAT32, which is what I expected as it was formatted in the card reader after it was last emptied, my standard practice.
So I then put same card in camera (1D2N) and formatted it again, now it's formatted FAT.
Also in properties:

FAT format:65,536 bytes used; Free space 2,039,545,856 bytes
FAT32 format: 4096 bytes used; Free space 2,035,838,976 bytes
So I guess that leaves us with the question, are there any advantages of one FAT against the other, especially write speed?
Gary


Gary
Canon 1DIIn, 16-200 f2.8; 35 f1.4, 50 f1.4, 135 f2.0, 300 f2.8
http://www.pbase.com/n​aki_gaza (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Lord_Malone
Cream of the Manpanties.....​... Inventor Great POTN Photo Book
Avatar
7,686 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2005
     
Mar 26, 2006 01:33 as a reply to  @ post 1319759 |  #17

Poe wrote:
The 1D MkIIN takes SD cards? I thought all the EOS dSLRS took CF?

Dual slots. It takes both simutaneously. Sort of like a porn star. ;)


~Spaceships Don't Come Equipped With Rear View Mirrors~
http://www.myspace.com​/chocolate_thai (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rumjungle
Goldmember
Avatar
3,120 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Southern California
     
Mar 26, 2006 09:43 as a reply to  @ Lord_Malone's post |  #18

Lord_Malone wrote:
Dual slots. It takes both simutaneously. Sort of like a porn star. ;)

LMAO!:lol: Never thought of it that way.


Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,898 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Mar 27, 2006 12:05 |  #19

SD was designed only to address 1 GB of storage. They put in a "fix" that now allows it to address up to 2 GB of storage. However, anything above that is not supported on the SD cards, at least not as a standard. In other words, it's not the camera but the specifications of the SD card itself that prevents it from addressing more than 2 GB of memroy.

Panasonic is working on a 4 GB SD card (called SDHC) but it probably won't be compatible with the current crop of SD cameras. The camera will need to be designed to be compatible with SDHC in order to take advantage of these new cards.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike6158
Goldmember
Avatar
1,219 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Weimar, Texas
     
Mar 28, 2006 20:56 |  #20

Well... I'm ok but I was going to look for a 4Gb SD card soon. Guess I won't bother now. 4Gb CF and a 1 Gb SD. How large can I go with my CF?


"without the image it wouldn't be photography. It would be holding an expensive black thing that makes click sounds..."
Me, 2006

Two roads diverged in a wood, and Iā€”
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. Robert Frost

It's time to go fishing <*)}}}><

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hexis
Member
Avatar
50 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
     
Mar 29, 2006 09:09 as a reply to  @ Mike6158's post |  #21

As large as they are made currently. The standard allows up to 137GB to be addressed.


--
5D2
16-35 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 f2.8 M, 580EXii

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rumjungle
Goldmember
Avatar
3,120 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Southern California
     
Mar 29, 2006 16:08 |  #22

Hmm, 137? At least now we know that our cameras are limited to 139GB of total storage. I guess I can work with that.;)


Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
judyg
Member
170 posts
Likes: 10
Joined May 2005
     
Mar 29, 2006 21:51 as a reply to  @ post 1323244 |  #23

Tom Digital wrote:
I just checked on this when I ordered my Canon Rebel XT. I had been taking a Digital Photography Class prior to ordering it. Our class instructor told us if you are buying a new camera to make sure the Memory Cards are compatible with the camera. My wife was going to order a 4GB from B&H; they were at a good price. I called Canon Tech support and they told me that the biggest card that should be used in the Canon Rebel XT was a 2GB. So, instead of ordering the 4GB we ordered 2-2GB's. But since then; I have seen advertisments and package deals with a 4GB card. Who's right??

I use the Sandisk 4 GB Ultra II card in my Rebel XT with no problems whatsoever.

I also just used it in my brand new 30D :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
konrad
Hatchling
Avatar
3 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Philippines
     
Mar 30, 2006 09:16 as a reply to  @ post 1323244 |  #24

Tom Digital wrote:
I just checked on this when I ordered my Canon Rebel XT. I had been taking a Digital Photography Class prior to ordering it. Our class instructor told us if you are buying a new camera to make sure the Memory Cards are compatible with the camera. My wife was going to order a 4GB from B&H; they were at a good price. I called Canon Tech support and they told me that the biggest card that should be used in the Canon Rebel XT was a 2GB. So, instead of ordering the 4GB we ordered 2-2GB's. But since then; I have seen advertisments and package deals with a 4GB card. Who's right??

I only have two CF cards, 128mb and 4G. no problem with the 4G since the start on the rebel XT. Kingston brand.


KO - 350D, 50 f1.4, Kit lens, 24-70L f2.8, 70-200L f4, 580Ex, Stofen, GF LightSphere.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jccoulter@mail.pclnet.net
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Mar 2006
     
Apr 10, 2006 08:52 as a reply to  @ post 1320247 |  #25

VentureFox wrote:
I'm using both a 2GB CF card and a 4GB SD card with my 1D MKII and it works flawlessly - no problems whatsoever.

Regards

Did anyone ever figure out what 4GB SD card works in the Mark II?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Juan ­ Zas
Goldmember
Avatar
1,511 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Madrid - ESP
     
Apr 21, 2006 13:05 as a reply to  @ judyg's post |  #26

judyg wrote:
I use the Sandisk 4 GB Ultra II card in my Rebel XT with no problems whatsoever.

I also just used it in my brand new 30D :)

I have just buy a series of SD cards: 1 Gb ScanDisk Ultra II, 2Gb and 4Gb A-Data for the Canon IXUS 800 IS, but also I did buy a "SD to CF adaptor" so I can also use them in CF cameras. I did try this combo in my 350D to see if it works.

It did !!, the problem is that with the 4Gb (A-Data 150x) the free space indication for the JPEG fine (which normally I use) is not able to handle more than 999 pictures free (3 digits), so I can take pictures but still remain 999 always; I guess until the algorithm that calculates the free pictures start to go down by the free space limit quivalent of the 999, and it will really to start to count down.

BTW. If I select RAW, then I have 440 pictures free to take with the SD 4 Gb empty !!!


Cheers
Juan
_______________
My Gear
My Photo Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SeanH
Goldmember
2,055 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA.
     
Apr 21, 2006 13:21 as a reply to  @ Juan Zas's post |  #27

I consider the SD as a back up anyway......or a place to put the JPG's when I shoot raw. I prefer the CF card just due to the fact it seems to be built better than the SD's. Personally I can't even see myself shooting 440 images without taking a long enough break to change cards...(10 seconds)....unless your a spray & pray type of shooter....LOL. On a 8MP camera that seems like a non-issue to me. But that's just me.


7D ......waiting on the 5D3
10-22, 17-40 4.0 L, 24-70 2.8L, 70-200 2.8L, 2 X 580EX's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,482 posts
Likes: 199
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Apr 21, 2006 18:00 as a reply to  @ post 1323244 |  #28

Tom Digital wrote:
I just checked on this when I ordered my Canon Rebel XT. I had been taking a Digital Photography Class prior to ordering it. Our class instructor told us if you are buying a new camera to make sure the Memory Cards are compatible with the camera. My wife was going to order a 4GB from B&H; they were at a good price. I called Canon Tech support and they told me that the biggest card that should be used in the Canon Rebel XT was a 2GB. So, instead of ordering the 4GB we ordered 2-2GB's. But since then; I have seen advertisments and package deals with a 4GB card. Who's right??

Page 162, XT Manual:
"CF card (Type I or II) *Compatible with Microdrive and 2GB and larger CF cards."
I sure hope this is right, I have two Seagate 4GB MDs on order.
Elie


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,898 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Apr 21, 2006 18:18 as a reply to  @ Hexis's post |  #29

Hexis wrote:
As large as they are made currently. The standard allows up to 137GB to be addressed.

Standard for what? CF or SD?


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,898 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Apr 21, 2006 18:21 |  #30

Folks, the 4 GB limitation in question here in this thread is for the SD cards, not the CF cards (as indicated by the thread title). Anybody using CF cards or camera which only take CF cards have nothing to worry about.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

10,724 views & 0 likes for this thread
WARNING 1D MkII and N incompatible with 4GB SD cards.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is thecoldestday
915 guests, 207 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.