Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS News & Rumors Other Rumors and Predictions 
Thread started 03 Jan 2012 (Tuesday) 12:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom 4 (LR4) Beta to Begin Jan 10, 2012?

 
jdizzle
Darth Noink
Avatar
69,419 posts
Likes: 57
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Harvesting Nano crystals
     
Jan 04, 2012 02:34 |  #16

jwcdds wrote in post #13643717 (external link)
Good God. I need to get myself a new computer. :p

Hehe! Still running Duo Core? ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Gel
Goldmember
Avatar
1,145 posts
Likes: 45
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
Jan 04, 2012 07:46 |  #17

edge100 wrote in post #13639994 (external link)
Nice catch.

Things I'd like to see in LR4:

2. Layers. This one won't happen, since it would cannibalize sales of Photoshop, but it would be oh so nice to have the ability to make adjustments in layers, with proper masking.

Can I get a Hell Yeah, you know nothing flashy, just so that when I'm editing two distinct colour temperatures I can set the two, layer and blend them into one.


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jdizzle
Darth Noink
Avatar
69,419 posts
Likes: 57
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Harvesting Nano crystals
     
Jan 04, 2012 07:50 |  #18

Gel wrote in post #13644318 (external link)
Can I get a Hell Yeah, you know nothing flashy, just so that when I'm editing two distinct colour temperatures I can set the two, layer and blend them into one.

Try Perfect Layers. It's so simple that a caveman can do it. ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
helloagain36
Goldmember
Avatar
1,493 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Feb 2009
Location: West Chester Pennsylvania
     
Jan 04, 2012 08:32 as a reply to  @ jdizzle's post |  #19

Personally...I would love some RGB curves.


_______________
Pennsylvania Wedding Photographer
Facebook (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Gear
www.siousca.com (external link)
-Dave

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
edge100
Goldmember
1,920 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jan 04, 2012 08:57 |  #20

Gel wrote in post #13644318 (external link)
Can I get a Hell Yeah, you know nothing flashy, just so that when I'm editing two distinct colour temperatures I can set the two, layer and blend them into one.

Good example.

This could also be accomplished by simply allowing us to copy, invert, and paste a local adjustment brush mask. Then you could set the colour temperature for the first brush to daylight (for instance), and the second brush to something else, without having to paint in regions for both temperatures.


Street and editorial photography in Toronto, Canada (external link)
Mirrorless: Fujifilm X-Pro1
Film: Leica MP | Leica M2 | CV Nokton 35/1.4 | CV Nokton 40 f/1.4 | Leitz Summitar 50 f/2 | Canon 50 f/1.2 LTM | Mamiya 7 | Mamiya 80 f/4.0 | Mamiya 150 f/4.5 | Mamiya 43 f/4.5
How to get good colour from C-41 film scans (external link)

Digitizing film with a digital camera (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
edge100
Goldmember
1,920 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jan 04, 2012 08:59 |  #21

helloagain36 wrote in post #13644509 (external link)
Personally...I would love some RGB curves.

Forgot about that. Good one.

I think this is a likely addition, since RGB curves are already in Aperture.


Street and editorial photography in Toronto, Canada (external link)
Mirrorless: Fujifilm X-Pro1
Film: Leica MP | Leica M2 | CV Nokton 35/1.4 | CV Nokton 40 f/1.4 | Leitz Summitar 50 f/2 | Canon 50 f/1.2 LTM | Mamiya 7 | Mamiya 80 f/4.0 | Mamiya 150 f/4.5 | Mamiya 43 f/4.5
How to get good colour from C-41 film scans (external link)

Digitizing film with a digital camera (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,917 posts
Gallery: 1733 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 5606
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Jan 04, 2012 09:27 |  #22

jdizzle wrote in post #13643720 (external link)
Hehe! Still running Duo Core? ;)

Yeah, been limping along with my core2quad 6600 forever. :D


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jdizzle
Darth Noink
Avatar
69,419 posts
Likes: 57
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Harvesting Nano crystals
     
Jan 04, 2012 09:39 |  #23

jwcdds wrote in post #13644823 (external link)
Yeah, been limping along with my core2quad 6600 forever. :D

Time for quad core! :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
helloagain36
Goldmember
Avatar
1,493 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Feb 2009
Location: West Chester Pennsylvania
     
Jan 04, 2012 09:43 |  #24

edge100 wrote in post #13644662 (external link)
Forgot about that. Good one.

I think this is a likely addition, since RGB curves are already in Aperture.

Hopefully...otherwise I might consider switching over to Aperture.


_______________
Pennsylvania Wedding Photographer
Facebook (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Gear
www.siousca.com (external link)
-Dave

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
edge100
Goldmember
1,920 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jan 04, 2012 09:44 |  #25

jdizzle wrote in post #13644876 (external link)
Time for quad core! :)

Quad Core (2.2GHz i7 MacBook Pro) provided me with an enormous jump in LR performance vs my old C2D MacBook Pro, as did moving to 8GB of RAM. I'm curious as to what benefits would be gained by moving to 16GB. The benchmarks I've seen suggest that the RAM bottleneck is mostly solved by going to 8GB, and that RAM is no longer the limiting factor beyond that.


Street and editorial photography in Toronto, Canada (external link)
Mirrorless: Fujifilm X-Pro1
Film: Leica MP | Leica M2 | CV Nokton 35/1.4 | CV Nokton 40 f/1.4 | Leitz Summitar 50 f/2 | Canon 50 f/1.2 LTM | Mamiya 7 | Mamiya 80 f/4.0 | Mamiya 150 f/4.5 | Mamiya 43 f/4.5
How to get good colour from C-41 film scans (external link)

Digitizing film with a digital camera (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
edge100
Goldmember
1,920 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jan 04, 2012 09:45 |  #26

helloagain36 wrote in post #13644899 (external link)
Hopefully...otherwise I might consider switching over to Aperture.

RGB curves are not a dealbreaker for me, and certainly not enough to drive me to Aperture, which I've never gotten my head around.


Street and editorial photography in Toronto, Canada (external link)
Mirrorless: Fujifilm X-Pro1
Film: Leica MP | Leica M2 | CV Nokton 35/1.4 | CV Nokton 40 f/1.4 | Leitz Summitar 50 f/2 | Canon 50 f/1.2 LTM | Mamiya 7 | Mamiya 80 f/4.0 | Mamiya 150 f/4.5 | Mamiya 43 f/4.5
How to get good colour from C-41 film scans (external link)

Digitizing film with a digital camera (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jdizzle
Darth Noink
Avatar
69,419 posts
Likes: 57
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Harvesting Nano crystals
     
Jan 04, 2012 13:20 |  #27

edge100 wrote in post #13644903 (external link)
Quad Core (2.2GHz i7 MacBook Pro) provided me with an enormous jump in LR performance vs my old C2D MacBook Pro, as did moving to 8GB of RAM. I'm curious as to what benefits would be gained by moving to 16GB. The benchmarks I've seen suggest that the RAM bottleneck is mostly solved by going to 8GB, and that RAM is no longer the limiting factor beyond that.

There's no real advantage after that. If you're running a bunch of apps/multitasking at the same time then you will see the advatage of having more ram. I do this quite often. So, the extra ram is utilized. :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
garryknight
Goldmember
Avatar
3,603 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 5408
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
     
Jan 06, 2012 17:34 |  #28

I'd like the Adjustment Brush to do localised versions of all the other Lightroom editing functions. For example, tonight I was working on a pair of slightly bloodshot eyes. I had to go into Photoshop (Elements in my case) to do the job. I'd like to paint in a selection on which I could adjust saturation of reds. Or add a dual-tone effect. Or change the white balance. Or add a local gradient. Probably a lot too much to ask...


Garry Knight
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/garryknight/ (external link)
Sony A6000, 16-50mm, 55-200mm, 50mm f/1.8, 35mm; Nikon D5100, AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 G VR, AF-S 55-200mm f/4-5.6 ED VR, AF-S 50mm f/1.8G; and an iPhone XS.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MusicLaw
Member
124 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Jan 06, 2012 20:18 |  #29

garryknight wrote in post #13659615 (external link)
I'd like the Adjustment Brush to do localised versions of all the other Lightroom editing functions. For example, tonight I was working on a pair of slightly bloodshot eyes. I had to go into Photoshop (Elements in my case) to do the job. I'd like to paint in a selection on which I could adjust saturation of reds. Or add a dual-tone effect. Or change the white balance. Or add a local gradient. Probably a lot too much to ask...

Gary, take a look at the NIK Software's plugins for Lightroom. Particularly, Viveza 2 and Color Efex Pro 4.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
umphotography
grabbing their Johnson
Avatar
11,835 posts
Gallery: 20 photos
Likes: 3606
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Rathdrum, Idaho
     
Jan 06, 2012 20:22 |  #30

helloagain36 wrote in post #13644509 (external link)
Personally...I would love some RGB curves.


Ditto

and a clone tool would be great to. If they ever got it to layer and mask, you might not need photoshop.


Mike
www.umphotography.com (external link)
GEAR LIST
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

16,892 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom 4 (LR4) Beta to Begin Jan 10, 2012?
FORUMS News & Rumors Other Rumors and Predictions 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Rosg85
745 guests, 308 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.