Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 08 Jan 2012 (Sunday) 05:22
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can you tell me what lens I took this picture with?

 
LowriderS10
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Jan 08, 2012 06:13 |  #16

kin2son wrote in post #13666788 (external link)
Point is does it really matter that much to you? 50 1.8 is more than capable to take a shot like this @ 5.6. Besides, it's really not that sharp and contrasty as it might seem....(i understand that it was shot with an old 20D)

Well, I'd like to know, it's bugging me!!! Plus, I just had a dead Tamron 60mm f2 show up...now I'm trying to decide whether to get another one, or go back to a Canon prime...and you're right, upon revisiting it...it doesn't look all that sharp hahaha...

kin2son wrote in post #13666796 (external link)
Just checked for you, no info in lr.

Weird! Could it be that the 20D was too old a body to report stuff like that? Thanks for checking :)

iluxa007 wrote in post #13666797 (external link)
Still nothing. Wow, you better delete or resize the third picture :)

Weird! Haha yeah, thanks, broke the link to stick with the forum rules :)


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
LowriderS10
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Jan 08, 2012 06:13 |  #17

bulldogg7 wrote in post #13666802 (external link)
Can you post it with EXIF intact? There may be some lens data in the EXIF that Flickr isn't displaying.

How do I do that? I can upload the original to Flickr...would that help? I never strip EXIFs, though...unless I somehow did it accidentally.


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davem01
Member
91 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire, UK
     
Jan 08, 2012 06:15 as a reply to  @ post 13666788 |  #18

Canons own DPP, which was free with the camera should tell you the info - right click the image and go to inf


My Gear: 5D mk iv, EF 24-105L, 70-300L, 100L IS Macro, 17-40L, 100-400L mkii

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Jan 08, 2012 06:17 |  #19

Uploaded the original JPEG and BINGO!!!!

Tamron 17-50 f2.8...who woulda thunk it! No wonder I liked that lens so much...not too shabby for an old camera at a (relatively...for a 20D) high ISO, and a cheap (this was pre-VC...I paid like $350 for it) zoom lens...

Lens Type Unknown (-1)
Short Focal 17 mm
Focal Units 1/mm
Max Aperture 2.8
Min Aperture 32


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Jan 08, 2012 06:19 |  #20

davem01 wrote in post #13666809 (external link)
Canons own DPP, which was free with the camera should tell you the info - right click the image and go to inf

Thanks but for some idiotic reason I never load DPP...I've had something like a dozen Canon digital cameras and never bothered to do it...I think I will for the 1D3, S100, though.


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
argyle
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,187 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Apr 2007
Location: DFW, Texas
     
Jan 08, 2012 06:53 as a reply to  @ post 13666802 |  #21

If you have PTLens (plugin for removing lens distortion, vignetting, etc) open the image and use the plugin to see if it defaults to the lens that was used for the image. Best that I can come up with. And if you don't have PTLens, I'd recommend getting it anyway...its pretty cheap ($25 IIRC).


"Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life, son". - Dean Wormer

GEAR LIST

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
absplastic
Goldmember
Avatar
1,643 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 528
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jan 08, 2012 07:55 |  #22

As you've discovered, the EXIF data you need is the data with the original shot right off the memory card. What you uploaded to Flickr has Photoshop CS4 EXIF data, not camera EXIF data. Photoshop writes its own info and does not include everything from the original. Paint Shop Pro does the same thing. Lightroom appears to preserve a lot more, I see Lens ID on all my Flickr shots.


5DSR, 6D, 16-35/4L IS, 85L II, 100L macro, Sigma 150-600C
SL1, 10-18 STM, 18-55 STM, 40 STM, 50 STM
My (mostly) Fashion and Portraiture Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link) (NSFW)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Diesel_Dog
Senior Member
Avatar
497 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Dawson Creek, BC
     
Jan 08, 2012 08:50 |  #23

The Photo was taken in Jasper.... Wait that wasn't your question....


Dillon
5Dmk II | 30D | 17-40L |24-70L | 70-200L F4 IS | 300L F4 IS | 1.4 TC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rick_reno
Cream of the Crop
44,642 posts
Likes: 131
Joined Dec 2010
     
Jan 08, 2012 10:20 |  #24

I can't tell.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
paulkaye
Senior Member
Avatar
559 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Leamington, UK
     
Jan 08, 2012 14:44 |  #25

Whatever lens you used, I reckon it looks better with a bit of cropping and PP.
:)

IMAGE: http://www.famillekaye.com/g4s6I_1280.jpg

Paul
_______________
5DII, 50mm 1.4, 17-40L, 85mm 1.8, 24-105L IS, 70-200L f4 IS, 100-400L, 100 f2.8 Macro
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ed ­ rader
"I am not the final word"
Avatar
23,111 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 436
Joined May 2005
Location: silicon valley
     
Jan 08, 2012 14:49 as a reply to  @ paulkaye's post |  #26

i wouldn't have cropped so tight. i would have the engine front 1/3 into the frame :D.

if that were shot FF my guess would be 24-105L and that's a wild guess!

ed rader


http://instagram.com/e​draderphotography/ (external link)
5D4, 80d, 16-35L III, 24-70L II, 70-200L F4 IS II, 100-400L II, sigma 15mm FE, tc 1.4 III, 430exII, gitzo 3542L + markins Q20, gitzo GT 1545T + markins Q3T, gitzo GM4562

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shutterpat
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,498 posts
Gallery: 29 photos
Best ofs: 11
Likes: 7908
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Orange, CA.
     
Jan 08, 2012 15:07 |  #27

LowriderS10 wrote in post #13666813 (external link)
Uploaded the original JPEG and BINGO!!!!

Tamron 17-50 f2.8...who woulda thunk it! No wonder I liked that lens so much...not too shabby for an old camera at a (relatively...for a 20D) high ISO, and a cheap (this was pre-VC...I paid like $350 for it) zoom lens...

Lens Type Unknown (-1)
Short Focal 17 mm
Focal Units 1/mm
Max Aperture 2.8
Min Aperture 32

^^ I knew it's the Tammy 17-50 2.8... question is was it shot with a non/vc or vc..? hehehe....:eek::)


Follow me --> https://www.instagram.​com/shutterpat/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Jan 08, 2012 17:04 |  #28

Diesel_Dog wrote in post #13667207 (external link)
The Photo was taken in Jasper.... Wait that wasn't your question....

Haha yep...I love Jasper...when I lived in Grande Prairie and Edmonton, I used to spend every weekend in Jasper (that's 2 years of sleeping in my car every Friday and Saturday night just so I could enjoy the amazing majesty of the Rockies...well worth it!!!)

rick_reno wrote in post #13667547 (external link)
I can't tell.

It's been answered ;)

paulkaye wrote in post #13668760 (external link)
Whatever lens you used, I reckon it looks better with a bit of cropping and PP.
:)

Thanks, but I'm not really feeling it...that crop is way too tight for me and it's way too much PP for my taste!

ed rader wrote in post #13668783 (external link)
i wouldn't have cropped so tight. i would have the engine front 1/3 into the frame :D.

if that were shot FF my guess would be 24-105L and that's a wild guess!

ed rader

Haha...already said it was taken with a 20D / Tamron 17-50 2.8 :)

patrickf117 wrote in post #13668857 (external link)
^^ I knew it's the Tammy 17-50 2.8... question is was it shot with a non/vc or vc..? hehehe....:eek::)

This was shot with the non-VC...when I bought that lens (I was one of the first around to have it) the VC version was nowhere in sight yet! :) That lens served me very well...I did tons of photojournalism assignments with it (back when I was a reporter), dragged it all over the Rockies, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Vegas, etc...


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uOpt
Goldmember
Avatar
2,283 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA, USA
     
Jan 08, 2012 20:26 |  #29

The lens info is stored in a field like a EXIF field but not right in the EXIF info. You can extract is easily enough by searching for "mm" with a text editor. Since there isn't too much data junk before it that usually works.

I should probably hack up one of the commandline utils like jhead. I wonder whether Canon ever specified exactly where that info is in there?


My imagine composition sucks. I need a heavier lens.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KenjiS
"Holy crap its long!"
Avatar
21,339 posts
Gallery: 527 photos
Likes: 2511
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
     
Jan 08, 2012 22:14 |  #30

I'm going to go with the Tamron because i know with all my Canon lenses it puts the lens in the EXIF when i upload to flickr..

my Sigma however does not...and if i remember right Tamron doesnt either


Gear, New and Old! RAW Club Member
Wanted: 70-200. Time and good health
Deviantart (external link)
Flickr (This is where my good stuff is!) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,619 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can you tell me what lens I took this picture with?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is SaraiukiSama
1941 guests, 251 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.