Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 09 Jan 2012 (Monday) 23:37
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom 4 Beta Announced - First Impressions

 
davidsconnolly
Hatchling
Avatar
5 posts
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Chelmsford UK
     
Jan 15, 2012 16:25 |  #166

Downloaded and using seems good :)


Canon EOS 7D | Canon 24-105L f4 | Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro | Canon 50mm 1.8 | Canon 100-300 4.5 | Canon 580EX
Flickr http://www.flickr.com …6/sets/72157628​884893483/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Stone ­ 13
Goldmember
Avatar
1,690 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Huntersville, NC
     
Jan 15, 2012 16:54 |  #167

LR4 is almost unusable on my Macbook pro w/4gb of ram. On the other hand, it's runs decently on my core i7 Dell latitude w/8gb of ram unless I get heavy with the adjustment brush. There will be tons of optimization before the final product is released, so I'm not worried....


Ken
Fujifilm X100T | 5D III gripped |35L | 24-70 2.8L II | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 85 1.8 | 430 EX II | Yongnuo YN-568EX | Billingham 445 | Think Tank UD 60 |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 198
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Jan 15, 2012 17:11 |  #168

I struggling but sticking with it on my home PC. It can take up to 30secs for any changes to register, most of the time the program stops responding for a Whiel during this time but it worth it for me. I only edit a few images at a time so it's something I can live with for a while.
The only real issue I'm having is the program completely crashing when displaying my old S95 raw files in the develop module. These have been in my LR3 catalogue and I've read that this can cause issues but they are fine on my work PC, under the same circumstances.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wallace ­ River
" ...a bit of a pervy voyeur "
Avatar
12,568 posts
Gallery: 145 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 3497
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Wallace, Nova Scotia
     
Jan 15, 2012 17:14 as a reply to  @ dave_bass5's post |  #169

If we checked "agree" on the willing to share experience box, I hope Adobe can pick up on these experiences. Or perhaps they monitor forums like this to get user comments....


IAN - Living life on the shores of the Wallace River in northern Nova Scotia, Canada :
Canon 1D4, 1D-X, almost enough glass.
My Flickr (external link).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DianeK
Senior Member
Avatar
603 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Western Canada
     
Jan 15, 2012 18:29 |  #170

Yohan Pamudji wrote in post #13708859 (external link)
Running an old Intel Q6600 (quad) at 3GHz and 4GB RAM here. I've only just started to play with LR4 but it seems ok to me--not much slower than LR3 anyway. It does use more CPU though. As explained in my previous post I have some LR3 images I imported into LR4 and created virtual copies of that I then converted to the LR4 process. I continuously moved a slider left and right and watched the CPU usage. For the originals that I didn't convert (still LR3 process) the CPU usage was mostly in the 40% occasionally spiking to the 50% range. For the LR4 process CPU usage was mostly in the 50% occasionally spiking to the 70% range. Since this was 4 cores I can see how a dual core might struggle.

So far so good performance-wise for me. Once I get the full version I might realize differently, but right now I'm letting out a sigh of relief that I don't need to upgrade my hardware just yet. I hope.

I have a quad-core iMac with 12 gb ram. By the sounds of it, I'm going to be mighty happy I spent the extra bucks this spring!


Diane
7D | 60D | EF 100mm f/2.8 macro | EF 70-300L IS | EFS 15-85 IS | EFS 10-22 | 430 EXII's | Pocket Wizards | Sony RX100

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bongEstrella
Senior Member
602 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
     
Jan 16, 2012 14:26 |  #171

Is anyone else having problems importing and making a second copy (while at the same time renaming) on mac? I tried this on windows but works perfectly, totally different experience on mac.


My Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 60d, 15-85
Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
garys1
Goldmember
Avatar
1,044 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Dec 2009
     
Jan 16, 2012 14:54 |  #172

Working just as fast as LR3 on my MacBook Pro w/8G RAM and SSD.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
edge100
Goldmember
1,920 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jan 16, 2012 15:06 |  #173

garys1 wrote in post #13714409 (external link)
Working just as fast as LR3 on my MacBook Pro w/8G RAM and SSD.

Same here on same spec machine (2.2GHz i7, FWIW).


Street and editorial photography in Toronto, Canada (external link)
Mirrorless: Fujifilm X-Pro1
Film: Leica MP | Leica M2 | CV Nokton 35/1.4 | CV Nokton 40 f/1.4 | Leitz Summitar 50 f/2 | Canon 50 f/1.2 LTM | Mamiya 7 | Mamiya 80 f/4.0 | Mamiya 150 f/4.5 | Mamiya 43 f/4.5
How to get good colour from C-41 film scans (external link)

Digitizing film with a digital camera (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooter9
Member
Avatar
115 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Ohio
     
Jan 16, 2012 17:54 |  #174

Do most of you leave the PPI value at the 240 default when exporting? New to LR.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chopperdave
Goldmember
Avatar
1,198 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 70
Joined Sep 2008
Location: San Diego
     
Jan 16, 2012 18:11 |  #175

garys1 wrote in post #13714409 (external link)
Working just as fast as LR3 on my MacBook Pro w/8G RAM and SSD.

I don't have a SSD, but i have an older Macbook Pro 13" and the spot correction tool is CRAZY slow compared to 3. Everything else is OK, but that is brutal.


David
davidmoorephoto.com (external link)
More Than Pnup (external link)
I feel like I've gone back in time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jan 16, 2012 18:36 |  #176

Shooter9 wrote in post #13715437 (external link)
Do most of you leave the PPI value at the 240 default when exporting? New to LR.

I do, simply because for most uses the ppi figure is meaningless! For instance the Web ignores it and most printers ignore it (they print at the print size you specify in inches). Some commercial printers ask for a specific ppi or maybe a minimum of real ppi, but that's a combination of the actual pixels in your image and your desired print size -- the ppi figure you "see" will change if you resample the image to a specific print size.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cagenuts
Senior Member
Avatar
860 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Jan 17, 2012 00:29 |  #177

As Tony says, the only time the ppi values mean anything is if you telepathetically move the image to Photoshop and then resize and resample.

Otherwise...


...Ask me anything, I'm an ultracrepidarian.
Hilton
_______________
C A N O N | 6D | Σ f/1.4 | 24-70 f/4 | 70-200 f/2.8 II | Kenko Pro300 DGX 1.4 TC |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mlech
Senior Member
305 posts
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Jan 17, 2012 05:36 |  #178

Well I'll be interested in getting this when the full version becomes available.

Although I do find Lightroom 3 to be great enough.


FACEBOOK PAGE (external link)
FLICKR (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davidcrebelxt
Goldmember
Avatar
3,016 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Missouri, USA
     
Jan 17, 2012 12:28 |  #179

I'm seeing noticable lag on my older machine too (Win7 64-bit; Core2Duo @ 2.0ghz, 4gb RAM.)
I think in the past, they've optimized their code after the beta, so hopefully release version will have some performance improvements.


David C.
Equipment: Canon Dig. Rebel XT; 18-55mm EF-S; 28-105mm EF; 50mm 1.8 EF
Sigma ef-500 DG ST, Elements, Gimp, Lightroom
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dcrebelxt (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gh ­ patriot
Goldmember
1,310 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan U.S.S.A.
     
Jan 17, 2012 13:03 |  #180

One feature that I dont hear mentioned to often it the "Remove Chromatic Aberration" check box. It is wicked awesome when used on shots with my 35L shot wide open for example or 85 1.8. It really does a fantastic job especially when compared to LR3.

Also I have the quad core i5 with 6gb ram and its running great.


2 x 5D III | 40D | Rokinon 14 2.8 | 35L | 50[B]L | 85IIL | 100 L |135L | 300 f4L | | 24-70L | | 70-200 2.8L II | 2XL |
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

36,187 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom 4 Beta Announced - First Impressions
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is shootthegroove
3040 guests, 282 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.