Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 27 Jan 2012 (Friday) 15:58
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 7d won't remember settings when powered off

 
psion99
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Jan 2012
     
Jan 27, 2012 15:58 |  #1

I was recently on a shoot using my 7D but I wasn't the one shooting. The DP using my camera encountered a problem where every time the camera turned off, the settings would refresh themselves. The camera would switch from 24 fps to 30 fps, the white balance would return to auto, the picture profile would reset as well. In the end, he had to store his settings in one of the User Profiles and even then, he had to constantly change the framerate when the camera turned off.

I'm trying to troubleshoot the problem now, but I can't seem to replicate it, and this never happened to me when I was shooting with it. Has this ever happened to anyone before?

The only thing I can guess is that maybe there is some internal battery inside that stores the camera settings and this battery might have died before we started shooting. I generally don't store the camera with the main battery inside, but perhaps this battery was keeping the little internal battery charged.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
artyman
Sleepless in Hampshire
Avatar
14,402 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 69
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Hampshire UK
     
Jan 27, 2012 16:46 |  #2

Pick your settings then allocate them to C1, C2 or C3 simples.


Art that takes you there. http://www.artyman.co.​uk (external link)
Ken
Canon 7D, 350D, 15-85, 18-55, 75-300, Cosina 100 Macro, Sigma 120-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
steve40
Member
Avatar
188 posts
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
     
Jan 27, 2012 16:53 as a reply to  @ artyman's post |  #3

Your camera has an internal battery, which holds the settings for a short period of time. As it ages this time will decrease, removing the batteries has probably let this battery completely discharge.

You will probably have to send it to cannon, for replacement. And while it is there, I would let then do a general tune up on it.


Steve40.
http://steveslandscape​s.50webs.com (external link)
Cameras: Canon G12, SX150 is, & A1200.
Darkroom & Printer: PhotoShop Elements 9, Canon Pixma iX6520.
Tripods: Manfrotto 190XPROB & Giottos MT 9251 + Several Heads.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tiger_993
Senior Member
Avatar
553 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Jan 27, 2012 17:08 |  #4

Did he start out shooting with the camera on a custom function and then tweak some settings? If the camera starts on a custom function and then one of the saved settings is changed manually, then I believe a power cycle will take the camera back to the saved custom function, loosing any changes that were made.


5DM2 + BG-E6 | 50 1.4 | TS-E 17L | 16-35L | 135L | 70-200 f/4L IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
artyman
Sleepless in Hampshire
Avatar
14,402 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 69
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Hampshire UK
     
Jan 27, 2012 17:09 |  #5

The small battery that remembers everything is in the main battery compartment and can be replaced by the user.


Art that takes you there. http://www.artyman.co.​uk (external link)
Ken
Canon 7D, 350D, 15-85, 18-55, 75-300, Cosina 100 Macro, Sigma 120-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChasWG
Goldmember
Avatar
3,640 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Aurora, CO
     
Jan 28, 2012 19:06 |  #6

And this is why I love this forum, I learn something new every day here! :D


Chas Gordon
7D Gripped/40D Gripped/10-24/EF24-70 f2.8L/EF70-200 f4L/EF50 f1.8 Mk I/EF85 f1.8
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/chaswg/ (external link)
http://vimeo.com/user9​461302/videos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
psion99
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Jan 2012
     
Jan 30, 2012 13:06 |  #7

Thanks for your help everyone! Does anyone know how I could replace this battery myself? I purchased my camera body used and it's probably past the warranty period.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
psion99
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Jan 2012
     
Jan 30, 2012 13:07 as a reply to  @ artyman's post |  #8

thanks, do you know how I could replace this myself? Is there an online tutorial somewhere?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
psion99
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Jan 2012
     
Jan 30, 2012 13:34 as a reply to  @ artyman's post |  #9

nevermind. I just found the battery.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
icopus
"the creep following them around taking pictures"
Avatar
2,862 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 901
Joined Dec 2010
Location: In the shadows of Houston
     
Jan 30, 2012 13:35 as a reply to  @ psion99's post |  #10

It's probably in the manuals? At work and don't have time to look through it myself, but -
http://www.usa.canon.c​om …os_7d#Brochures​AndManuals (external link)


It's my life and I'll get pissed if I want to.
"Just because your voice reaches halfway around the world doesn't mean you are wiser than when it reached only to the end of the bar." - E.R. Murrow

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Atlas_aus
Member
41 posts
Joined Jan 2009
     
Aug 09, 2012 05:55 |  #11

Hi All,

I have just had the same thing happen... Select JPEG & RAW for instance and turn off it resets to JPEG only... I have changed the CMOS battery just now, no difference.. RESET all setting... Just upgraded to VER 2 firmware... Co-incidence ?


:D Atlas :D
Brisbane Australia

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,083 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 7d won't remember settings when powered off
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Willday
988 guests, 307 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.