Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 04 Feb 2012 (Saturday) 21:49
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Stop LR3 from removing my camera settings. HELP

 
lankforddl
Senior Member
Avatar
747 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 5
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Minnesota
     
Feb 04, 2012 21:49 |  #1

SOooo, I shoot RAW, use LR3 for post processing and when I open a RAW image I get a brief glimpse of the image that I shot and WANT but then LR3 goes and removes those settings from my RAW file and I have to redo, in lightroom, what the camera had already done.

How can I stop LR from removing, (or better yet) retain in camera settings?

I tried the "Camera Calibration" but it doesn't look as a good as that brief first look before LR strips is down to bare RAW file.


5DIICAN17-40CAN50CAN85CAN100CAN135CAN70-200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,488 posts
Likes: 202
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Feb 05, 2012 03:00 |  #2

Can't be done. LR is not Canon firmware and it is not Canon DPP. It has its own defaults and it has its own way of rendering the image. The same is true of any other third party RAW converter. BUT, in Lightroom it is very easy to change the defaults. Spend a few minutes editing an image until it is the way you would want it to open (you can open DPP or a jpg to compare). Remember that a Canon Picture Style is more than just a profile, it is also a certain level of contrast and sharpness. Then hold down the Alt/Opt key and the Reset button at the bottom changes to Reset Defaults. Click it. Another option is rather than resetting the defaults make a preset that can be set on the Import page to automatically be applied during import. Or use these presets from Matt Kloskowski:
http://lightroomkiller​tips.com …fix-preset-with-profiles/ (external link)


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
5Dmaniac
Goldmember
Avatar
1,303 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
     
Feb 05, 2012 06:08 |  #3

What you see briefly in LR before it "renders" the RAW file is the JPEG from your camera with the in-camera settings. As tzalman says, Adobe has its own version of rendering, but it really is easy to come up with your own presets to mimic the in-camera settings.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Feb 05, 2012 12:57 |  #4

My advice to someone who is new to shooting Raw is to install and use the Canon Raw processing software Digital Photo Professional (DPP) as a quick and easy way to get a "jpeg-like) image as a "starting point" -- you can do a quick "conversion" using the in-camera settings (DPP "reads" and works with those settings) but you can also "tweak" things in DPP to improve on the settings made in your camera.

If you want to use Lightroom, you just have to realize that Lightroom does not read and use the in-camera settings, as you have noted. By default, Lightroom takes a more "muted" approach to rendering photos compared to the "typical" Canon Picture Styles (at least compared to the Standard and especially the Landscape Picture Styles).

If you want to see how that works, in DPP take a Raw image that you shot using either the Standard or Lanscape Picture Style, and in DPP change the Picture Style to Neutral...then open the same image in Lightroom, and without applying any processing you can compare the two views and they should look very similar.

As you go, you can learn to work with Lightroom to get a "look" that you are happy with. Maybe it will be "like" an out-of-camera jpeg, but over time you will get a "feel" of improving on that "look". The good thing with the Raw format/file data is that you have "latitude" to make those improvements.

In the meantime, I'd say you may benefit from working with DPP to get the "quick" conversions if that helps you. Be aware, though, that DPP processing won't be visible to Lightroom when working with the Raw files, and vice-versa. They are separate tools. Just take your time with Lightroom and don't fall into frustration!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mac ­ Mahon
Member
71 posts
Joined Feb 2006
     
Feb 06, 2012 03:01 |  #5

lankforddl wrote in post #13827153 (external link)
SOooo, I shoot RAW, use LR3 for post processing and when I open a RAW image I get a brief glimpse of the image that I shot and WANT but then LR3 goes and removes those settings from my RAW file and I have to redo, in lightroom, what the camera had already done.

How can I stop LR from removing, (or better yet) retain in camera settings?

I tried the "Camera Calibration" but it doesn't look as a good as that brief first look before LR strips is down to bare RAW file.

What you're briefly seeing during import is the JPEG thumbnail generated by the camera's firmware. It's done some guesswork as to what you might like the image to look like. It's not a question of LR's removing anything, rather the camera does something to the RAW image behind your back which LR normally ignores.

However, LR can also do that guesswork: it's in the develop module as the 'autotone' setting. If you set that as a preset to be applied on import, you might get something closer to what the camera was doing to the thumbnail.

It can't do any harm: you can make different tone adjustments later if it's not to your taste after all.

Cheers

Tim




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,488 posts
Likes: 202
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Feb 06, 2012 06:01 |  #6

Mac Mahon wrote in post #13833220 (external link)
What you're briefly seeing during import is the JPEG thumbnail generated by the camera's firmware. It's done some guesswork as to what you might like the image to look like. It's not a question of LR's removing anything, rather the camera does something to the RAW image behind your back which LR normally ignores.

It's not a guess and it's not behind anybody's back. The thumbnail is processed according to the user selectable Picture Style and its ancillary Contrast, Saturation, Hue and Sharpness settings (also with a somewhat limited UI). It would be a good idea if the Digic processing did an Auto Tone or at least Auto Levels, It would even be possible to do Auto Highlight Recovery, but sadly it does not.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mac ­ Mahon
Member
71 posts
Joined Feb 2006
     
Feb 06, 2012 13:57 |  #7

tzalman wrote in post #13833491 (external link)
It's not a guess and it's not behind anybody's back. The thumbnail is processed according to the user selectable Picture Style and its ancillary Contrast, Saturation, Hue and Sharpness settings (also with a somewhat limited UI). It would be a good idea if the Digic processing did an Auto Tone or at least Auto Levels, It would even be possible to do Auto Highlight Recovery, but sadly it does not.

Sure. If you're recording JPEGs that's exactly right! I shoot RAW only, and never bother with the in-camera settings, but the (fleeting) thumbnails always look different to untreated, raw imports. IOW the camera firmware is doing something to the colour and tone of the thumbnails: possibly applying a default 'picture style' setting.

The point I was making was simply that using auto-tone preset, when importing raw might alleviate the OPs feeling of disappointment. FWIW it's not something I do - I want to control the adjustments myself.

Tim




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Feb 06, 2012 14:48 |  #8

I have my camera Picture Style set to Neutral with Contrast and Saturation dialed way back, so there is very little difference between the initial jpeg thumbnail and my LR preview.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,488 posts
Likes: 202
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Feb 06, 2012 16:42 |  #9

Mac Mahon wrote in post #13835685 (external link)
Sure. If you're recording JPEGs that's exactly right! I shoot RAW only, and never bother with the in-camera settings, but the (fleeting) thumbnails always look different to untreated, raw imports. IOW the camera firmware is doing something to the colour and tone of the thumbnails: possibly applying a default 'picture style' setting.

For sure. There can't be an embedded display jpg without processing and the camera does the same processing for output jpg or display jpg. I guess if you have never changed a thing from the second it came out of the box it would still be at the factory defaults.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,040 views & 0 likes for this thread
Stop LR3 from removing my camera settings. HELP
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is DTPhotography
771 guests, 201 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.