Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 08 Feb 2012 (Wednesday) 19:09
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

The old 1D mk3 foucus fix?

 
peregrineflier
Goldmember
Avatar
4,069 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2010
     
Feb 08, 2012 19:09 |  #1

I have been stuggling with the AF on my 1D that I have had for about a year. Called Canon and when I told the my Serial # they said it is within the focus issue recal and told me to send it in (they are paying for shipping).
What will they do do it to fix the problem?


Thanks, Tom the Peregrineflier ;) Lyle Washington
Canon 1D mk3, Canon 100-400 L, Canon 300mm f/4L IS
http://peregrineflier.​smugmug.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
jhayesvw
Cream of the Crop
7,229 posts
Gallery: 167 photos
Likes: 255
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Tucson AZ
     
Feb 08, 2012 21:52 |  #2

who cares!
As long as its fixed!
Im kidding of course.
I hope it works out for you. Ive seen your work on the bird forum.
Fantastic stuff.



My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DarthVader
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,508 posts
Likes: 40
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Death Star
     
Feb 08, 2012 21:58 |  #3

Put a bunch of washers.

peregrineflier wrote in post #13852291 (external link)
I have been stuggling with the AF on my 1D that I have had for about a year. Called Canon and when I told the my Serial # they said it is within the focus issue recal and told me to send it in (they are paying for shipping).
What will they do do it to fix the problem?


Nikon/Fuji.
Gear is important but skills are very important :)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peregrineflier
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
4,069 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2010
     
Feb 08, 2012 22:01 |  #4

jhayesvw wrote in post #13853202 (external link)
who cares!
As long as its fixed!
Im kidding of course.
I hope it works out for you. Ive seen your work on the bird forum.
Fantastic stuff.

LOL, true! And thanks!


Thanks, Tom the Peregrineflier ;) Lyle Washington
Canon 1D mk3, Canon 100-400 L, Canon 300mm f/4L IS
http://peregrineflier.​smugmug.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peregrineflier
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
4,069 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2010
     
Feb 08, 2012 22:02 |  #5

DarthVader wrote in post #13853237 (external link)
Put a bunch of washers.

I can do that, guess a trip to home depot is in order. : )


Thanks, Tom the Peregrineflier ;) Lyle Washington
Canon 1D mk3, Canon 100-400 L, Canon 300mm f/4L IS
http://peregrineflier.​smugmug.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MrNothing
Member
Avatar
125 posts
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Canada
     
Feb 08, 2012 22:19 |  #6

as far as i know it has to do with a sub-mirror fix and the way it responded. hope everything goes well and tell us if you see any drastic changes! i've got a bad serial # too haha :)



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sun5150
Member
160 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2007
     
Feb 10, 2012 01:49 as a reply to  @ MrNothing's post |  #7

I had mine done by Canon and it was night and day.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PaulB
Goldmember
1,543 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Leeds, Yorkshire
     
Feb 10, 2012 04:44 as a reply to  @ sun5150's post |  #8

The problem seems to have been a batch of slightly misshaped rubber stops which the sub-mirror rests on - this meant that the sub-mirror did not always return to the correct position. Angle of mirror wrong = AF off.
So Canon replace either the rubber stops or the sub-mirror assembly.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
h4ppydaze
Goldmember
1,329 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2011
     
Mar 09, 2012 02:59 |  #9

I am having the same sort of AF issues. I am the second owner though, will they still fix it for free I wonder?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,514 views & 0 likes for this thread
The old 1D mk3 foucus fix?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Ubaedkader
827 guests, 318 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.