Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 09 Feb 2012 (Thursday) 16:07
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Computer build

 
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,813 posts
Gallery: 229 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 3414
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Where ever I lay my hat is my home
     
Feb 10, 2012 12:20 |  #16

So Tim you are saying that one can move the catalog only to the SSD for faster rendering. If it's faster than what I am already getting then damn I may have to give it a try. How do you have your folder on the SSD set up for your LR catalog? Do you have to move it via LR so the images won't get disconnected?

Al

tim wrote in post #13858195 (external link)
Is your catalog on the SSD or on the RAID array? I'd put the catalog on the SSD for fast low latency access to the cache, and the images on RAID. Well, I wouldn't bother with RAID, one disk is fine for me.


Gear
MethodicalImages (external link)
Flickr (external link)
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
sapearl
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
16,342 posts
Gallery: 152 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1424
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
     
Feb 10, 2012 12:21 |  #17

tkbslc wrote in post #13862531 (external link)
No, the adapter has risers to support the 3.5" drive centered in the drive opening. They work well. We used to use them to add zip drives to computers back when those were popular.

Ah - understood. I've got one of those nice little external Sandisk card readers with the rounded front.


GEAR LIST
MY WEBSITE (external link)- MY GALLERIES (external link)- MY BLOG (external link)
Artists Archives of the Western Reserve (external link) - Board

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,813 posts
Gallery: 229 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 3414
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Where ever I lay my hat is my home
     
Feb 10, 2012 12:25 |  #18

Which board are you looking at? Does the case and/or MB offer external 3.0 usb? If so, I'd just get one of these (external link).

sapearl wrote in post #13862019 (external link)
One of the machine configurations I'm considering has USB 3.0 on the motherboard, and the case has enough extra 5.25" drive bays that I'm considering an internal card reader. Trouble is I have not seen too many available on the market other than this one:

http://www.amazon.com …B003OC9LZG/ref=​pd_vtp_e_2 (external link)

Anybody have recommendations? Thanks.


Gear
MethodicalImages (external link)
Flickr (external link)
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sapearl
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
16,342 posts
Gallery: 152 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1424
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
     
Feb 10, 2012 12:37 |  #19

Methodical wrote in post #13862972 (external link)
Which board are you looking at? Does the case and/or MB offer external 3.0 usb? If so, I'd just get one of these (external link).

Looking at the Asus P8Z68 VPRO/GEN3 which has 3.0 on the MB that can be connected to the two 3.0 ports on the front of the Corsair 500R.


GEAR LIST
MY WEBSITE (external link)- MY GALLERIES (external link)- MY BLOG (external link)
Artists Archives of the Western Reserve (external link) - Board

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,813 posts
Gallery: 229 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 3414
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Where ever I lay my hat is my home
     
Feb 10, 2012 13:05 |  #20

Is the card reader faster than usb 3.0? Or you're looking for convenience?

sapearl wrote in post #13863046 (external link)
Looking at the Asus P8Z68 VPRO/GEN3 which has 3.0 on the MB that can be connected to the two 3.0 ports on the front of the Corsair 500R.


Gear
MethodicalImages (external link)
Flickr (external link)
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeleFragger
Goldmember
Avatar
3,186 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Williamstown, NJ
     
Feb 10, 2012 13:16 |  #21

i have purchased 2 of the cheapies on newegg.. and both are now dead.. first one i bought and it worked for a bit.. then stopped.. bought another then it died.. hence the bought 2... i not sure if the cheap ones are all that good... so maybe pony up for a nice one...
maybe i wore out the SD slot cuz the usb still works on them...


GearBag - Feedback****Flickr - my playhouse (external link)****RF-603 Discussion
Canon 7Dm2 Gripped | 32GB Transcend CF | 64GB Toshiba FlashAir | YN-468 Flash | YN-468 II Flash | RF-603 | EF-S 18-55 IS|EF 24-105L|EF 50 MKII 1.8|EF-S 55-250 IS |EF 85 1.8| Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC |Primo's Trigger Stick Monopod | Manfrotto Carbon Fiber Tripod
if I post a pic.. it is there to be picked on... (I have thick skin.. im in IT)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sapearl
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
16,342 posts
Gallery: 152 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1424
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
     
Feb 10, 2012 14:06 |  #22

Methodical wrote in post #13863182 (external link)
Is the card reader faster than usb 3.0? Or you're looking for convenience?

I have only seen one USB 3.0 Card Reader advertised so far - the plan would be to connect that to USB 3.0 pin out on the Asus motherboard. Speed would match then (at least according to the paperworl ;))


GEAR LIST
MY WEBSITE (external link)- MY GALLERIES (external link)- MY BLOG (external link)
Artists Archives of the Western Reserve (external link) - Board

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,009 posts
Likes: 368
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Feb 10, 2012 14:26 as a reply to  @ sapearl's post |  #23

sapearl wrote in post #13862019 (external link)
One of the machine configurations I'm considering has USB 3.0 on the motherboard, and the case has enough extra 5.25" drive bays that I'm considering an internal card reader. Trouble is I have not seen too many available on the market other than this one:

http://www.amazon.com …B003OC9LZG/ref=​pd_vtp_e_2 (external link)

Anybody have recommendations? Thanks.

Don't consider anything without USB 3 on the motherboard. There are a couple of brands of USB 3 card reader, Lexar seems good.

TeleFragger wrote in post #13862508 (external link)
but does wonders on vmware hypervisor 5!!!!

Yeah lots of RAM is handy if you're running multiple VMs and OS's, but photographers don't tend to do that. I had a machine with 32GB of RAM once, running 5 OS's, each running its own server software.

Methodical wrote in post #13862939 (external link)
So Tim you are saying that one can move the catalog only to the SSD for faster rendering. If it's faster than what I am already getting then damn I may have to give it a try. How do you have your folder on the SSD set up for your LR catalog? Do you have to move it via LR so the images won't get disconnected?

Al

Yes. The folder on the SSD is just a regular folder, just copy it there then open it in LR. I don't know if LR can move a catalog itself.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,585 posts
Likes: 23
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Feb 10, 2012 14:33 |  #24

TeleFragger wrote in post #13862508 (external link)
but does wonders on vmware hypervisor 5!!!!

.

Hey, I run that at work. Only I have 112 Cores and 640GB of RAM.  :p


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
EOS Rp | iPhone 11 Pro Max

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,813 posts
Gallery: 229 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 3414
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Where ever I lay my hat is my home
     
Feb 10, 2012 15:01 |  #25

This (external link) is usb 3.0 card reader I use. Since you have two usb 3.0 ports on the front this would be a good alternative. Do you need or even use all those other card slots? Just an FYI. You need to download the asmedia 3.0 software for the front and rear usb 3.0 ports to work.

sapearl wrote in post #13863550 (external link)
I have only seen one USB 3.0 Card Reader advertised so far - the plan would be to connect that to USB 3.0 pin out on the Asus motherboard. Speed would match then (at least according to the paperworl ;))


Gear
MethodicalImages (external link)
Flickr (external link)
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Erik_L
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
3,160 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Minnesota
     
Feb 11, 2012 03:45 |  #26

sapearl wrote in post #13863046 (external link)
Looking at the Asus P8Z68 VPRO/GEN3 which has 3.0 on the MB that can be connected to the two 3.0 ports on the front of the Corsair 500R.

This is the board I went with. Be warned that it DOES have 4x SATA III connectors, but two are on one controller, and two are on another. I think I mentioned this in the first post.

Here it the card reader I was looking at getting:

http://www.newegg.com …aspx?Item=N82E1​6820176023 (external link)

And it's out of stock - so I guess you all beat me to it :)

I just picked up a new power supply today - the other one was too noisy. This computer is completely silent (pretty much) and I'm quite happy with it :)

I also swapped out my OCZ SSD for a Crucial m4 unit (i've been reading that the OCZ ones are more failure-prone). I used a program called HD Clone to copy the data over USB 3.0 to my new drive... Win7 Ultimate, TONS of apps ... 37 GBs of data moved over in three minutes :)


Canon EOS 1D III
Manfrotto 190X Pro B w/324RC2 "Action Head" | Canon 580EX II
Sigma 20 f/1.8 | Canon 35 f/1.4 L | Sigma 50 f/1.4 | Sigma 85 f/1.4 | Canon 135 f/2 L
Flick (external link)r

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,232 views & 0 likes for this thread
Computer build
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member was a spammer, and banned as such!
923 guests, 304 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.