Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 10 Feb 2012 (Friday) 20:36
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5 Shot AEB

 
Numenorean
Cream of the Crop
5,013 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 11, 2012 11:40 |  #16

Simpleboy wrote in post #13865546 (external link)
Am I the only one who'd think this would come in handy?
I've been travelling a bit recently, and using my 7D with AEB to do some HDR shots, but 3 exposures just isnt enough at times and I dont always have my tripod with me to do more than 3 shots in a burst.
Am I alone in wanting a custom function to give a 5 shot AEB mode to expand options when doing HDRs while travelling light?

If you're shooting HDR with 3 shots and not using a tripod, you're already doing something wrong.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
noisejammer
Goldmember
Avatar
1,053 posts
Likes: 5
Joined May 2010
Location: Toronto ON
     
Feb 11, 2012 12:21 |  #17

Assume you're on a tripod and set the camera to 3 shot AEB with say +3 and -3 stops. The camera already has 11 stops available so you end up with 17 stops possible and you've got 8 stops of overlap between the frames.

In all seriousness - how often do you really need more? Ok - I've done some astrophotography where I mapped 22 stops onto 8 bits for printing... that was once.


Several cameras and more glass than I will admit to.
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
talbot_sunbeam
Senior Member
Avatar
848 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: UK
     
Feb 11, 2012 12:42 |  #18

Yes, 5 shot bracketing would help my workflow in many cases.

You can work around but all of the workarounds are not optimal.

Nikon's do this better - you choose how many shots you want, and the range between them. It seems it's a minor software function only with a small bit of UI, so it's not exactly hard to implement.



7D, 450D | 17-55, 10-22, 55-250, 50 1.8, 580EXII | YN568II | YN622 x3 | Magic Lantern | (Still) Jonesing for a 70-200 2.8...
Turns out a gripped 7D + 622 + 580exII + 70-200 2.8 IS MK2 is BLOODY HEAVY! Who knew?!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cheezz
Member
172 posts
Joined Apr 2010
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:17 |  #19

If you have custom functions like the 7D, program C1 and C2 for different settings. When finished with c1 just turn the dial to c2, then c3, etc. Quickest way IMO. But then, a tripod is a must.


Canon 7D // EF 24-70mm f2.8L USM, EF 85mm f1.8 USM, 50mm 1.8 II Nifty Fifty, EF 28-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM kit lens, EF-S 55-250mm f4-5.6 IS, 430EX II
Added: EF-S 15-85mm f3.5-5.6
Added: EF 70-200mm f4L IS
Added: 1.4 II TC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Old ­ Baldy
Senior Member
718 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2010
Location: South Lyon, MI
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:25 as a reply to  @ cheezz's post |  #20

Yes, Canon needs to get with the program, and cater to folks who want to capture the full DR of many scenes, which are currently being clipped by having only an additional 4EV for the vast majority of their cameras.

My Canon 5Dc has a measured DR of 8.5 - 9 EV of DR from a single shot, so with the standard 3 shot AEB and maximum 2EV steps, I'm only able to capture 12.5 - 13 EV of DR when using AEB, without touching the camera. Canon is way behind the game with this.


OB
Gear list
Flickr Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Numenorean
Cream of the Crop
5,013 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:32 |  #21

Old Baldy wrote in post #13868909 (external link)
Yes, Canon needs to get with the program, and cater to folks who want to capture the full DR of many scenes, which are currently being clipped by having only an additional 4EV for the vast majority of their cameras.

My Canon 5Dc has a measured DR of 8.5 - 9 EV of DR from a single shot, so with the standard 3 shot AEB and maximum 2EV steps, I'm only able to capture 12.5 - 13 EV of DR when using AEB, without touching the camera. Canon is way behind the game with this.

Why exactly do you feel you need more? What are you doing with them? I'd love to see.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
number ­ six
"After 40 years still not housebroken, I still piddle on the carpet"
Avatar
8,944 posts
Likes: 71
Joined May 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:32 |  #22

Numenorean wrote in post #13868406 (external link)
If you're shooting HDR with 3 shots and not using a tripod, you're already doing something wrong.

Oh? I shoot AEB handheld from time to time and it works well. Using high speed burst, of course...

-js


"Be seeing you."
50D - 17-55 f/2.8 IS - 18-55 IS - 28-105 II USM - 60 f/2.8 macro - 70-200 f/4 L - Sigma flash
I do not piddle on the carpet!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Numenorean
Cream of the Crop
5,013 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:34 |  #23

number six wrote in post #13868945 (external link)
Oh? I shoot AEB handheld from time to time and it works well. Using high speed burst, of course...

-js

It's simply not good enough for the quality of image I want to create.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Avatar
7,359 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 88
Joined Jan 2007
Location: DFW Metro-mess, Texas
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:34 |  #24

gremlin75 wrote in post #13865853 (external link)
You're not the only one. 5 or ever 7 shot AEB would be great as part of the native firmware. I honesty don't understand why canon has not added it already with the increasing popularity of HDR!!

It's obvious. They want to sell you another camera. ;)


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
number ­ six
"After 40 years still not housebroken, I still piddle on the carpet"
Avatar
8,944 posts
Likes: 71
Joined May 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:37 |  #25

Numenorean wrote in post #13868952 (external link)
It's simply not good enough for the quality of image I want to create.

:lol:


"Be seeing you."
50D - 17-55 f/2.8 IS - 18-55 IS - 28-105 II USM - 60 f/2.8 macro - 70-200 f/4 L - Sigma flash
I do not piddle on the carpet!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Old ­ Baldy
Senior Member
718 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2010
Location: South Lyon, MI
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:43 |  #26

Numenorean wrote in post #13868942 (external link)
Why exactly do you feel you need more? What are you doing with them? I'd love to see.

Many scenes are greater than 13-14EV. Virtually any scene with shadows and snow in the background (or indoor to outdoor when want to retain the detail through the window or doorway), or many beach scenes with white sand and dark detail you want to retain, or many scenes in a darkish forest where you want to not only capture the very dark tree details but also capture bright light/clouds overhead.


OB
Gear list
Flickr Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JFusion
Senior Member
Avatar
851 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Dayton, Ohio
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:45 |  #27

I've just been using DLSR Controller for Android for this sort of thing. Of course I always use a tripod also if I'm doing AEB for HDR or something.


Jeremi
http://www.jeremiblurt​on.com (external link)
JB Photography - Facebook Fan Page (external link)
5D Mark iii, 7D, 24-70 2.8L, 70-200 2.8L IS II, 100 Macro 2.8, Nifty, 100-400 4.5-5.6L and a bunch of other stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
akfreak
Goldmember
Avatar
1,087 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:51 |  #28

I use an intervalometer, out my camera in blub mode and set the intervalometer to do the bracketing for me. It is simple and I can do as many as shots as I want all 10 stop apart. I find my middle exposure then set it up. So simple


http://www.speedtest.n​et/result/1460485335.p​ng (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Old ­ Baldy
Senior Member
718 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2010
Location: South Lyon, MI
     
Feb 11, 2012 13:52 |  #29

JFusion wrote in post #13869006 (external link)
I've just been using DLSR Controller for Android for this sort of thing. Of course I always use a tripod also if I'm doing AEB for HDR or something.

If I had that option, I'd probably do the same, but to the OP's point - the basic ability to capture real-world scenes via a more comprehensive AEB feature set (at least with 5-7 shots and minimum 2EV steps) should be part of any Canon DSLR, IMO.


OB
Gear list
Flickr Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Numenorean
Cream of the Crop
5,013 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Feb 2011
     
Feb 11, 2012 14:04 |  #30

Old Baldy wrote in post #13868994 (external link)
Many scenes are greater than 13-14EV. Virtually any scene with shadows and snow in the background (or indoor to outdoor when want to retain the detail through the window or doorway), or many beach scenes with white sand and dark detail you want to retain, or many scenes in a darkish forest where you want to not only capture the very dark tree details but also capture bright light/clouds overhead.

I can do that with 3 shots quite easily. Actually I can do it with one.

I'd like to see what you're creating with these shots. I've looked at your Flickr but I'm not seeing anything.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,426 views & 0 likes for this thread
5 Shot AEB
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is despedidasolte
927 guests, 187 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.