Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 13 Mar 2012 (Tuesday) 14:10
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

firmware updating question

 
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Mar 13, 2012 14:10 |  #1

Having downloaded firmware v 2.1.2 from the Canon USA website, what do I need to do now to load it onto my 5D2?

The annoying thing is I've done it once but totally forgotten.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
vince_ross
Senior Member
350 posts
Joined Oct 2004
Location: Belpre, OH
     
Mar 13, 2012 14:41 |  #2

1. Download the .FIR firmware file to your hard drive
2. Copy the file to a CF memory card by inserting the card into a card reader and dragging/dropping the file to the card
3. Install the CF card into your camera and call up Firmware in the third set-up Menu
4. Select OK when asked if you want to upgrade to the new version (firmware X.X.X).

Make sure you have a good charge on your battery when you update. It only takes a few minutes to run the firmware update.

(I actually forgot too....I had to look at my notes )


www.ohiovalleyphoto.ne​t (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ One ­ Pixel ­ Wonder
Member
80 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Mar 13, 2012 15:29 |  #3

Lowner wrote in post #14079294 (external link)
Having downloaded firmware v 2.1.2 from the Canon USA website, what do I need to do now to load it onto my 5D2?

The annoying thing is I've done it once but totally forgotten.

The disk image that you download actually has a PDF in it with very clear instructions.


TOPW

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
THREAD ­ STARTER
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Mar 14, 2012 05:01 |  #4

Next problem!

I cannot even unzip the thing. I keep getting a dialogue box that tells me that it does not know which programme to open the unzipped file into.

So I've fallen at the first fence.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,491 posts
Likes: 205
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Mar 14, 2012 05:17 |  #5

Your OS probably came with a demo copy of WinRAR or WinZIP, but if it didn't there are plenty of free applets for opening it and extracting the contents. Google for them.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike
ugly when I'm sober
Avatar
15,397 posts
Gallery: 50 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 387
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Canterbury/Ramsgate, UK
     
Mar 14, 2012 05:21 |  #6

For Zipped files I use 7zip on one computer and IZArc on another, both free (I think) and both very good. (Win 7).


www.mikegreenphotograp​hy.co.uk (external link)
Gear
UK South Easterners
flickr (external link) Insta1 (external link) Insta2 (external link)

A closed mouth gathers no foot.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
Avatar
57,560 posts
Likes: 162
Joined May 2007
Location: Probably Chasing Aircraft
     
Mar 14, 2012 05:25 |  #7

Is there still a preferred size memory card for firmware use? Didn't Canon used to warn against using "large" cards?


Jay
Crosswind Images (external link)
Facebook Fan Page (external link)

"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike
ugly when I'm sober
Avatar
15,397 posts
Gallery: 50 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 387
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Canterbury/Ramsgate, UK
     
Mar 14, 2012 05:31 |  #8

As this new firmware is supposed to help the support for large cards...a smaller one would probably be best ;)

I use either a 4 or 8 gig card usually.


www.mikegreenphotograp​hy.co.uk (external link)
Gear
UK South Easterners
flickr (external link) Insta1 (external link) Insta2 (external link)

A closed mouth gathers no foot.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
Avatar
57,560 posts
Likes: 162
Joined May 2007
Location: Probably Chasing Aircraft
     
Mar 14, 2012 05:34 |  #9

I still have a 512Mb card from my 5Dc updating days! :D


Jay
Crosswind Images (external link)
Facebook Fan Page (external link)

"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jemann
Member
166 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Reading, United Kingdom
     
Mar 14, 2012 05:40 as a reply to  @ FlyingPhotog's post |  #10

I updated both my 5D2 and 7D last night using a 32GB card in both cases.

The 5D2 firmware was just in a plain zip file. I just right-clicked it and selected "Extract" from the context menu to use Windows' built in unzipping function.

The 7D firmware was a self-extracting executable, which popped up a prompt asking me which folder to extract into.

Windows has had the built-in ability to create and extract zip files since 1998. They call it "compressed folders". There's no need to install third party software to handle zip files.


7D, 100-400L, 5D2, 17-40L, 24-105L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike
ugly when I'm sober
Avatar
15,397 posts
Gallery: 50 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 387
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Canterbury/Ramsgate, UK
     
Mar 14, 2012 06:29 |  #11

I think I have a 256MB card somewhere...they used to be soo big...


www.mikegreenphotograp​hy.co.uk (external link)
Gear
UK South Easterners
flickr (external link) Insta1 (external link) Insta2 (external link)

A closed mouth gathers no foot.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
THREAD ­ STARTER
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Mar 14, 2012 07:59 |  #12

Despite my ignorance about these things I have finally managed it. The file did not need unzipping (is that because it "self-extracted" as jemann explains?). I found the pdf instructions and followed them, using the direct upload rather than via the card method. The camera is happy therefore so am I.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jim ­ K
Senior Member
451 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Rockledge, FL
     
Mar 14, 2012 16:28 |  #13

Mike wrote in post #14083731 (external link)
I think I have a 256MB card somewhere...they used to be soo big...

I have a 512 MB card in a drawer here. And it cost less than $100, but not a lot less, when I bought it. :)

I don't think I would use a card this old and this small for the update. I have a pair of 2GB cards so I could use one of them.


Canon: 7D (2, 1 gripped), 50D gripped, 500 f/4L IS, 100-400 L IS, 70-200 f/4L IS, 28-135 IS, 10-22, 15-85 IS, 1.4x II, 580EX
5D3, 24-105 f/4L IS, 17-40 f/4L IS, TS-E 24 f/3.5L II. S100 p&s
Gitzo GT3530LS, Wimberley ver. II. Manfrottto: tripod 055XPROB legs, 448RC2 head; monopod 679B, 234RC tilt head

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nate42nd
Senior Member
Avatar
767 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: The Wild West
     
Mar 14, 2012 18:36 |  #14

I have a video on doing my 7D and it's exactly the same if you want to watch me do it step by step. It's self extracting file. Not too hard if you see it done.

Same user name just search for 7D firmware update.....it will show up. Good luck


7D - - 17-55 F/2.8 - 24-105 F/4L - 100mm F/2.8 - 50mm F/1.8 - S95 / To see all click here
My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thesupe87
Senior Member
Avatar
305 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: USA
     
Mar 30, 2012 09:53 |  #15

Did you guys notice anything better or worse with the 2.1.2 firmware? Lately I'm a huge fan of the philosophy, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." I have 2.0.7 right now on my 5d Mark II.


Portfolio (external link) | BLOG (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Facebook (external link)
:D Gripped 5D Mark II | 40D | 24-70L | 70-200 f4L | 100L f2.8 Macro | 85 f1.8 | 50 f1.8 | 18-55 IS | (3)B800s | Manfrotto 055XPROB / 496RC2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,977 views & 0 likes for this thread
firmware updating question
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Zochor
876 guests, 260 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.