Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 21 Mar 2012 (Wednesday) 12:10
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How happy are you with LR4?

 
invincible569
Member
236 posts
Joined Aug 2010
     
Mar 23, 2012 07:00 |  #16

its slower for me too, but i deal with it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Tigerkn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
4,075 posts
Likes: 157
Joined Feb 2009
Location: CA
     
Mar 23, 2012 11:33 |  #17

I think I'll wait a bit longer 'till all the bugs get killed also pick up a faster PC.


Website (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Instagram (external link) | Gears (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Cucamonga ­ Al
Goldmember
Avatar
2,095 posts
Likes: 6
Joined May 2006
Location: SoCal
     
Mar 23, 2012 11:38 |  #18

My biggest beef, is that it won't accept plugins like NIK or TOPAZ that I use on just about every shot. I'm pissed at myself for upgrading so soon.


Have plenty of Canons, enough ammo, enough to blow 'em to "L". Now, I just have to learn to aim.

www.flickr.com/photos/​albert_l_lipsey (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Mar 23, 2012 11:40 |  #19

Cucamonga Al wrote in post #14139488 (external link)
My biggest beef, is that it won't accept plugins like NIK or TOPAZ that I use on just about every shot. I'm pissed at myself for upgrading so soon.

So, you still have LR3? At least you would be inline for the upgrade/bug fix!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,488 posts
Likes: 202
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Mar 23, 2012 11:45 |  #20

Cucamonga Al wrote in post #14139488 (external link)
My biggest beef, is that it won't accept plugins like NIK or TOPAZ that I use on just about every shot. I'm pissed at myself for upgrading so soon.

I imagine the plugin makers will have their own upgrades in place very soon.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
andrewthomasclifton
Member
33 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
     
Mar 23, 2012 12:17 |  #21

I like it for the tools, but its literally taking like 30-45 minutes to load my catalog... thats pretty unacceptable


http://www.evolutionvi​ntage.com (external link)
"the strength of my lens is nothing compared to the strength of my eye" -me

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
Avatar
57,560 posts
Likes: 160
Joined May 2007
Location: Probably Chasing Aircraft
     
Mar 23, 2012 12:25 |  #22

Cucamonga Al wrote in post #14139488 (external link)
My biggest beef, is that it won't accept plugins like NIK or TOPAZ that I use on just about every shot. I'm pissed at myself for upgrading so soon.

Viveza and Silver Effex Pro 2 work OK here...


Jay
Crosswind Images (external link)
Facebook Fan Page (external link)

"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jakefreese
Senior Member
555 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2012
Location: TEXAS
     
Mar 23, 2012 12:26 |  #23

I'm 99% happy with it, just a bit slow on some things, and I can't figure out how to delete pictures off the camera when getting them off the camera.


7D, 70-200L 2.8 IS II, some rocks and hammers...
Flickr (external link)
500PX (external link)
SOUTHWEST REINED COWHORSE ASSOCIATION (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike
ugly when I'm sober
Avatar
15,397 posts
Gallery: 50 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 387
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Canterbury/Ramsgate, UK
     
Mar 23, 2012 12:27 |  #24

Cucamonga Al wrote in post #14139488 (external link)
My biggest beef, is that it won't accept plugins like NIK or TOPAZ that I use on just about every shot. I'm pissed at myself for upgrading so soon.

I'm sure I used Topaz with it last week...


www.mikegreenphotograp​hy.co.uk (external link)
Gear
UK South Easterners
flickr (external link) Insta1 (external link) Insta2 (external link)

A closed mouth gathers no foot.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Mar 23, 2012 12:36 |  #25

jakefreese wrote in post #14139781 (external link)
I'm 99% happy with it, just a bit slow on some things, and I can't figure out how to delete pictures off the camera when getting them off the camera.

Lightroom has a built-in "feature" that doesn't allow you to "Move" files off a card but just "Copy" them. Then you use your camera to Format the card.

This is done because sometimes glitches can happen when importing so it's considered safer to do a copy.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Haswell
Member
Avatar
158 posts
Likes: 202
Joined Oct 2011
Location: The Toon
     
Mar 23, 2012 13:24 |  #26

How do you get plug ins to work with LR4? I have a directory with my plugs in but how do I access them in LR4?


Drinking alcohol never solves anything. But neither does drinking milk.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TTuna ­ Eye
Member
202 posts
Likes: 31
Joined May 2011
Location: Suburban Minneapolis
     
Mar 23, 2012 13:25 |  #27

I am very happy with it. Granted I don't have massive catalogs but I find the Process 2012 settings quite useful.


6D, 60D, 100L, 24-105L, Sig 150-500, nifty 50, EF-S 60mm, Tam SP70-200 f/2.8 Di VC, Underwater gear T2i in a Watershot housing with Inon S2000 strobes.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Numenorean
Cream of the Crop
5,013 posts
Likes: 28
Joined Feb 2011
     
Mar 23, 2012 13:50 |  #28

Cucamonga Al wrote in post #14139488 (external link)
My biggest beef, is that it won't accept plugins like NIK or TOPAZ that I use on just about every shot. I'm pissed at myself for upgrading so soon.

Odd, my Nik suite works fine with it.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Numenorean
Cream of the Crop
5,013 posts
Likes: 28
Joined Feb 2011
     
Mar 23, 2012 13:51 |  #29

Haswell wrote in post #14140084 (external link)
How do you get plug ins to work with LR4? I have a directory with my plugs in but how do I access them in LR4?

Mine were right in the menus and preset when I installed LR4. I didn't have to do anything.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jakefreese
Senior Member
555 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2012
Location: TEXAS
     
Mar 23, 2012 14:07 |  #30

tonylong wrote in post #14139843 (external link)
Lightroom has a built-in "feature" that doesn't allow you to "Move" files off a card but just "Copy" them. Then you use your camera to Format the card.

This is done because sometimes glitches can happen when importing so it's considered safer to do a copy.

Makes sense I haven't experienced that yet. Hopefully never do!


7D, 70-200L 2.8 IS II, some rocks and hammers...
Flickr (external link)
500PX (external link)
SOUTHWEST REINED COWHORSE ASSOCIATION (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

32,996 views & 0 likes for this thread
How happy are you with LR4?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is rush1981
565 guests, 215 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.