Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 07 Apr 2012 (Saturday) 08:48
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What program for Timelapse video

 
D ­ 550D
Senior Member
404 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Slovenia
     
Apr 07, 2012 08:48 |  #1

I have shot some thousand pictures for a timelapse video. I've batch processed them in PS to mach the 16.9 aspect ratio and now I would like to make a video out of them.

What software should I use to get this done?


http://domenulbl.blogs​pot.com/ (external link)
550D|Sigma 18-35 1.8 Art|Sigma EX 70-200 OS|Nifty Fifty|Samyang 85 1.4|430 EX II|

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Heath
Goldmember
Avatar
2,332 posts
Joined Sep 2009
Location: NYC, NY
     
Apr 07, 2012 09:01 |  #2

What other programs do you have available to you? There are a lot of options.

I use Lightroom and http://lrtimelapse.com​/ (external link).

Edit: Since you are already using photoshop, just create an image sequence.
http://wsa.wikidot.com …eo:photoshopima​gesequence (external link)


Heath
"Some photographers push the envelope. Some sit behind a keyboard and criticize their accomplishments." (seen in the comments of a photo article)
Blog (external link)-Twitter (external link)-Zenfolio (external link)-500px (external link)-Pinterest (external link)-Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ 550D
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
404 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Slovenia
     
Apr 07, 2012 10:16 |  #3

Wow, I didn't know you can do timelapse in LR. That will speed up my workflow! Thanks!


http://domenulbl.blogs​pot.com/ (external link)
550D|Sigma 18-35 1.8 Art|Sigma EX 70-200 OS|Nifty Fifty|Samyang 85 1.4|430 EX II|

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Heath
Goldmember
Avatar
2,332 posts
Joined Sep 2009
Location: NYC, NY
     
Apr 07, 2012 11:07 |  #4

You could make a timelapse in LR without ever leaving Lightroom, but...

Using something like LRTimeslapse will add additional possibilities.

Also, not sure if you have any other Adobe products, but why did you crop the photos before you made the timelapse video? My suggestion would be to create the image sequence, then import into Premiere or AE, and add the 16:9 crop there. This would also allow you to create zooms, pans, tilts, in post. In full HD, you are only exporting the video at 1920x1080, so if you are shooting in Raw, there are a lot of additional pixels to play with.

Go to the forums at timelapse.org. Goos Luck.


Heath
"Some photographers push the envelope. Some sit behind a keyboard and criticize their accomplishments." (seen in the comments of a photo article)
Blog (external link)-Twitter (external link)-Zenfolio (external link)-500px (external link)-Pinterest (external link)-Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GordonSBuck
Senior Member
914 posts
Joined Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
     
Apr 07, 2012 11:08 |  #5

QuickTime Pro will make a time lapse from individual shots.


Gordon
http://lightdescriptio​n.blogspot.com (external link)
My 10 Best Photos: http://hornerbuck.smug​mug.com …187_MdCXA#56343​6691_UdXpt (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kento
Goldmember
Avatar
1,207 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2008
Location: Innsbruck, Austria
     
Apr 07, 2012 11:12 |  #6

If you only use Lightroom you will be very limited in how good you can make the timelapse look. After Effects has been the best option so far for high end timelapse work.


My Tools
-Jesse
Unknown-Studio.com

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
D. ­ Vance
Goldmember
Avatar
4,162 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Jan 2011
Location: VA
     
Apr 07, 2012 12:36 |  #7

call me crazy (And El Cheapo) but I use Windows Live Movie Maker (Until I can figure out Adobe Premier Elements)


I wonder if the video editors on The Titanic ever went, "Sorry, I can't right now. I'm busy synching the Titanic..."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ 550D
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
404 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Slovenia
     
Apr 07, 2012 14:32 |  #8

Heath wrote in post #14225393 (external link)
You could make a timelapse in LR without ever leaving Lightroom, but...

Using something like LRTimeslapse will add additional possibilities.

Also, not sure if you have any other Adobe products, but why did you crop the photos before you made the timelapse video? My suggestion would be to create the image sequence, then import into Premiere or AE, and add the 16:9 crop there. This would also allow you to create zooms, pans, tilts, in post. In full HD, you are only exporting the video at 1920x1080, so if you are shooting in Raw, there are a lot of additional pixels to play with.

Go to the forums at timelapse.org. Goos Luck.

Actually, I didn't crop them. I wanted to keep everything visible, so I added black borders to left and right.


http://domenulbl.blogs​pot.com/ (external link)
550D|Sigma 18-35 1.8 Art|Sigma EX 70-200 OS|Nifty Fifty|Samyang 85 1.4|430 EX II|

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ 550D
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
404 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Slovenia
     
Apr 07, 2012 14:32 |  #9

And I shoot small JPEG to save space and time


http://domenulbl.blogs​pot.com/ (external link)
550D|Sigma 18-35 1.8 Art|Sigma EX 70-200 OS|Nifty Fifty|Samyang 85 1.4|430 EX II|

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drvideo
Mostly Lurking
Avatar
18 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Poway, CA
     
Apr 07, 2012 17:39 as a reply to  @ D 550D's post |  #10

Add my vote for AE, if you have it. There is so much more you can do to achieve the "professional" finish to your product.


60D/Tam 17-50 f2.8 XR Di-II VC LD/Tam 70-200 f2.8 Di LD/Tam 60 F2 Macro/Tok 11-16 f2.8
Sunpak Auto544/Sekonic L758CINE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BoysClub
Member
30 posts
Joined Mar 2012
     
Apr 07, 2012 18:51 |  #11

I prefer QT Pro.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wraptor
Mostly Lurking
13 posts
Joined Apr 2012
     
Apr 08, 2012 23:49 |  #12

virtualdub will also work




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Thesai
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined May 2012
     
May 18, 2012 20:35 |  #13

I use after effects, you can easily pan, zoom, adjust the lighting etc. importing the images is a breeze click the folder with your images, highlight the first image, check the box marked sequence and it's stitched together in seconds.


My time lapse site www.magicpixel.co.uk/m​agicpixel (external link)
Canon550d/ 70-200 F4/ 17-40 F4/ 50 1.8/Powershot G12
www.flickr.com/photos/​xmagicpixelx/ (external link)
Adobe AE4/PR4/PS4/LR4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sims
Goldmember
Avatar
1,437 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Essex & Gower UK
     
May 19, 2012 03:01 |  #14

You can also use Sony Vegas. It's just a case of setting the default time for how long you want the still image - I use 1/25 second (0.04) 'cos that's what we shoot in over here.

Once the stream of images are imported it is easier to manipulate them if you render them out as a single video file as it is otherwise easy to accidentally rearrange individual files while trying to move the whole clip.

Alternatively, to avoid rendering individual "scenes" place each "Scene" on a separate time line. You can then apply global filters to all images in that time line and cross fade onto other time lines. Using rendered clips is easier but the purist might want to use the original, uncompressed, image files.


John Sims
Canon 60D, 30D, 10D, AE1 & some other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChasWG
Goldmember
Avatar
3,640 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Aurora, CO
     
May 19, 2012 03:33 |  #15

Thanks for that John! I still haven't fully figured out all of Vegas' in's and out's. It's good to know that I can do a TL in Sony Vegas.

I've been so wanting to try doing a TL bit of video. Where do I look in Vegas to play with TLs?


Chas Gordon
7D Gripped/40D Gripped/10-24/EF24-70 f2.8L/EF70-200 f4L/EF50 f1.8 Mk I/EF85 f1.8
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/chaswg/ (external link)
http://vimeo.com/user9​461302/videos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,421 views & 0 likes for this thread
What program for Timelapse video
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is laptesf
774 guests, 232 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.