Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 28 Apr 2012 (Saturday) 12:15
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Will a Sigma 70-300 APO Macro work on a Canon?

 
cameraperson
Senior Member
Avatar
816 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
     
Apr 28, 2012 12:15 |  #1

It was from a film Canon. It's autofocus. It is not the DG version.

Will it work on a Canon digital camera? I paid $20 for it. Thanks.


Xsi, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
GregoryF
Goldmember
Avatar
2,322 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Bella Vista, AR
     
Apr 28, 2012 12:27 |  #2

Most likely not. In fact I am sure it won't except maybe wide open.


6D, 5D, 7D, Eos R and too many lenses, flashes and aux. gear to list!:cool:
A simple hobby gone horribily wrong

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
Avatar
18,183 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 2584
Joined Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
     
Apr 28, 2012 12:35 |  #3

it might...i've never heard of any rechipping with the APO version of that lens...

you already bought it though, right? put it on a camera, and see what happens...


Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cameraperson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
816 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
     
Apr 28, 2012 12:50 |  #4

GregoryF wrote in post #14343932 (external link)
Most likely not. In fact I am sure it won't except maybe wide open.

Even if it is autofocus? Has the connectors and all.


Xsi, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GregoryF
Goldmember
Avatar
2,322 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Bella Vista, AR
     
Apr 28, 2012 13:16 |  #5

Yes, Old chips that Sigma will not replace. I tried one once. It will autofocus, but if you try to stop down it will give an error code.


6D, 5D, 7D, Eos R and too many lenses, flashes and aux. gear to list!:cool:
A simple hobby gone horribily wrong

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cameraperson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
816 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
     
Apr 28, 2012 13:46 |  #6

Well, there's always ebay and craigslist I guess.


Xsi, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
Avatar
18,183 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 2584
Joined Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
     
Apr 28, 2012 13:49 |  #7

why don't you put it on a camera and see what happens first....


Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RPCrowe
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,145 posts
Likes: 1553
Joined Nov 2005
Location: San Diego County, California, USA
     
Apr 28, 2012 14:24 as a reply to  @ DreDaze's post |  #8

YOU HAVE WON...

OR LOST... The Sigma Lottery!


See my images at http://rpcrowe.smugmug​.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cameraperson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
816 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
     
Apr 28, 2012 15:26 |  #9

DreDaze wrote in post #14344236 (external link)
why don't you put it on a camera and see what happens first....

I don't have one.


Xsi, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
Avatar
18,183 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 2584
Joined Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
     
Apr 28, 2012 15:47 |  #10

cameraperson wrote in post #14344512 (external link)
I don't have one.

take it to a camera store, and try it on one of their cameras...


Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wayne.robbins
Goldmember
2,062 posts
Joined Nov 2010
     
Apr 29, 2012 16:54 |  #11

You paid $20 for an old out-of-date Canon lens, and don't even have a DSLR to put it on. You lost $20. Who cares ? Throw it in the trash, or take out the lens elements and have fun burning ants.. Then turn the rest of it into a cup for your pens and pencils. Otherwise, toss it in the trash and be done with it. If you are worried about the $20, punish yourself and skip lunch twice.


EOS 5D III, EOS 7D,EOS Rebel T4i, Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS II, Canon 24-105L, Canon 18-135 IS STM, 1.4x TC III, 2.0x TC III, Σ 50mm f/1.4, Σ 17-50 OS, Σ 70-200 OS, Σ 50-500 OS, Σ 1.4x TC, Σ 2.0x TC, 580EXII(3), Canon SX-40, Canon S100
Fond memories: Rebel T1i, Canon 18-55 IS, Canon 55-250 IS, 18-135 IS (Given to a good home)...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cameraperson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
816 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
     
Apr 29, 2012 22:32 |  #12

wayne.robbins wrote in post #14349364 (external link)
You paid $20 for an old out-of-date Canon lens, and don't even have a DSLR to put it on. You lost $20. Who cares ? Throw it in the trash, or take out the lens elements and have fun burning ants.. Then turn the rest of it into a cup for your pens and pencils. Otherwise, toss it in the trash and be done with it. If you are worried about the $20, punish yourself and skip lunch twice.

Sells for $60 on Ebay for whatever reason.


Xsi, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Don ­ Madson
Senior Member
Avatar
360 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2005
Location: 07920
     
Apr 29, 2012 22:41 |  #13

I had one of those on a Rebel 300D a number of years ago. It worked fine on that body.


dmadson.photoreflect.c​om
T'ai Chi Ch'uan...Relaxation, with an attitude!
---------------
70D, Mamiya 645 Pro TL, some lenses, a tripod, a monopod, some filters, a few straps, some batteries, 2 flash units, a few bags...;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cameraperson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
816 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
     
May 01, 2012 18:05 |  #14

I found a guy with a 30D. It gave Err 99, whatever that means. Oh well. I"m going to see what Adorama will give me.


Xsi, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,726 views & 0 likes for this thread
Will a Sigma 70-300 APO Macro work on a Canon?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gardenchefs
1140 guests, 331 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.