Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 27 Mar 2007 (Tuesday) 19:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

STICKY: Color problems? [work in progress?]

 
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,642 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 522
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Apr 29, 2012 00:33 |  #316

To get the best results from the lab, download their profiles -- they will have ones specific for the printer/paper combination (you specify a paper for your order).

When you download them and follow their instructions for where to install them, then they will show up in Photoshop and Lightroom as a "softproof profile". It's different from a monitor profile. The monitor calibration profile helps you to see things "accurately", though, when you do the soft-proofing.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mantra
Goldmember
Avatar
1,617 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
     
Apr 29, 2012 01:31 |  #317

tonylong wrote in post #14346327 (external link)
To get the best results from the lab, download their profiles -- they will have ones specific for the printer/paper combination (you specify a paper for your order).

thanks Tony
in short there is only 1 profile for a lab print ,isn't it?
i don't use lightroom
only dpp and photoshop
is enough load it in photoshop?

ps i remember i installed in my os a profile that gave me some issue in the past , if i can avoid (install in the os) i would be happier

cheers


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Apr 29, 2012 03:07 |  #318

You download the profile and copy it to the proper folder for your OS. Then you will be able to use it in PS/DPP.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
Avatar
1,617 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
     
Apr 29, 2012 04:30 |  #319

René Damkot wrote in post #14346710 (external link)
You download the profile and copy it to the proper folder for your OS. Then you will be able to use it in PS/DPP.

is only 1 file ?
but is not enough to load in photoshop ?

or is enough use photoshop ? (proof setup --> custom and load)
after proof colors

by the way file *.icc under w7 and xp are in photoshop folders and under c:\windows\*\spool\dri​vers\color
is the right place?

thanks Renè


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
Avatar
1,617 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
     
Apr 29, 2012 04:40 |  #320

René Damkot wrote in post #2941196 (external link)
Start off (after calibrating your monitor) by setting Photoshops color settings something like this (click image to enlarge):
QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://www.moonglade.n​et …POTN/color/PSCS​2Color.jpg  (external link)

you guide is really great
by the way i have
gray->dot gray 15%
spot ->dot gray 15%

may i know the differents between
gray->dot gray 15% vs gray gamma 2.2
and
spot ->dot gray 15% vs dot grain 10 ?
in the manual there is nothing :(

the other settings are the same , outside photoshop cs5 i haven't CMYK Europe iso coated fotogra27

thanks cheers


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Apr 29, 2012 06:09 |  #321

mantra wrote in post #14346898 (external link)
is only 1 file ?
but is not enough to load in photoshop ?

Never tried that.

mantra wrote in post #14346898 (external link)
c:\windows\*\spool\dri​vers\color

I think that's the right place for Windows.

mantra wrote in post #14346916 (external link)
gray->dot gray 15%
spot ->dot gray 15%

may i know the differents between
gray->dot gray 15% vs gray gamma 2.2
and
spot ->dot gray 15% vs dot grain 10 ?
in the manual there is nothing :(

the other settings are the same , outside photoshop cs5 i haven't CMYK Europe iso coated fotogra27

thanks cheers

The default working spaces are only used when you create a new document in Photoshop or go Mode > Grayscale or Mode > CMYK for instance (which is not the best practice anyway). So they don't matter that much if the other settings are correct.

Have a read here: http://www.getcolorman​aged.com …nagement/pscolo​rsettings/ (external link)

It's largely a matter of personal preference & knowing what you're doing.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
Avatar
1,617 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
     
Apr 29, 2012 09:16 |  #322

René Damkot wrote in post #14347078 (external link)
Have a read here: http://www.getcolorman​aged.com …nagement/pscolo​rsettings/ (external link)

It's largely a matter of personal preference & knowing what you're doing.

yes i'm reading , and it's really very complete ,but outside personal prefenrece you quote

For same reasons as above never, ever use Gamma 1.8. It’s obsolete.

they are the default preference of cs3


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Apr 29, 2012 10:12 |  #323

That's "If you do a lot of grayscale images for web".
I also mention "If you print them to a specific Offsetpress and you know what dot gain to use, by all means do."

sRGB has an approximate gamma of 2.2
AdobeRGB has gamut 2.2.

If you post an image with Gray Gamma 1.8 to the web, it will appear too dark in a non color managed browser.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
Avatar
1,617 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
     
Apr 29, 2012 10:54 |  #324

René Damkot wrote in post #14347809 (external link)
That's "If you do a lot of grayscale images for web".
I also mention "If you print them to a specific Offsetpress and you know what dot gain to use, by all means do."
.

thanks Renè
my last question
to know how the photo will look in a lab studio (after installing the profile)
i have to go
photoshop -> view->proof setup and select the lab profile
and after proof colors?

i'm right ,aint' i?

thanks again for you kindness


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,642 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 522
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Apr 30, 2012 00:08 |  #325

mantra wrote in post #14346898 (external link)
is only 1 file?

We need to go back to this because from this and an earlier comment I think you don't understand something:

Printing profiles provided by a lab or, if you are printing directly from your printer driver, are for a specific paper and printer combo, and sometimes for a specific ink as well.

So, the lab has a variety of papers you can choose from. You choose and they print using their printer.

They provide you profiles for each paper type, so you can get multiple profile files.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
Avatar
1,617 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
     
Apr 30, 2012 00:45 |  #326

tonylong wrote in post #14351267 (external link)
Printing profiles provided by a lab or, if you are printing directly from your printer driver, are for a specific paper and printer combo, and sometimes for a specific ink as well.

So, the lab has a variety of papers you can choose from. You choose and they print using their printer.

They provide you profiles for each paper type, so you can get multiple profile files.

thanks Tony

now i got it , it's clear , i have to choice the paper i like , the profile in this case contains paper+ink+device lab , only 1 profile for paper


isorry but my english really sucks

thanks again Tony
cheers


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,642 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 522
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Apr 30, 2012 01:40 |  #327

mantra wrote in post #14351403 (external link)
thanks Tony

now i got it , it's clear , i have to choice the paper i like , the profile in this case contains paper+ink+device lab , only 1 profile for paper

isorry but my english really sucks

thanks again Tony
cheers

Hey, at least you are hanging in there on an all-English forum hosted in Finland, no less:)!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
Avatar
1,617 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
     
Apr 30, 2012 04:14 |  #328

tonylong wrote in post #14351542 (external link)
Hey, at least you are hanging in there on an all-English forum hosted in Finland, no less:)!

lol


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
May 01, 2012 12:36 |  #329

mantra wrote in post #14347985 (external link)
thanks Renè
my last question
to know how the photo will look in a lab studio (after installing the profile)
i have to go
photoshop -> view->proof setup and select the lab profile
and after proof colors?

i'm right ,aint' i?

thanks again for you kindness

If you're meaning what I think you are saying, yes.

Here's a video on LL explaining Soft proofing: http://luminous-landscape.com …journal/c2p-preview.shtml (external link)


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
Avatar
1,617 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Italy, Rome
     
May 07, 2012 01:29 |  #330

René Damkot wrote in post #14360873 (external link)
If you're meaning what I think you are saying, yes.

Here's a video on LL explaining Soft proofing: http://luminous-landscape.com …journal/c2p-preview.shtml (external link)

thanks really

i'm looking for IlfordGallerie Gold Fibre Silk profile , can't find , can 't download it

thanks


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

275,188 views & 1 like for this thread
Color problems? [work in progress?]
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Arjunsarumagar
792 guests, 265 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.