Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 16 Mar 2012 (Friday) 16:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5D3 owners Unite! Discuss and post Photos!

 
this thread is locked
Chet
my rates fluctuate
43,589 posts
Gallery: 130 photos
Likes: 2204
Joined Sep 2007
     
May 03, 2012 10:14 |  #4936

What do you mean?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Todd ­ Lambert
I don't like titles
Avatar
12,643 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 132
Joined May 2009
Location: On The Roads Across America
     
May 03, 2012 10:17 |  #4937

Harm wrote in post #14372508 (external link)
what happened to your 5dii?

Long story short, it's a goner:cry:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KCY
Unlocked the hidden 117 point AF
Avatar
7,170 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jun 2009
Location: I wish I knew...
     
May 03, 2012 10:18 |  #4938

Todd Lambert wrote in post #14372595 (external link)
Long story short, it's a goner:cry:

awww, but welcome to the 5D3 :D

something to look forward too :D


KC - The Circle of PoTN - Member of the UCPC
My Gear|My Smugmug (external link)|Pong

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chet
my rates fluctuate
43,589 posts
Gallery: 130 photos
Likes: 2204
Joined Sep 2007
     
May 03, 2012 10:19 |  #4939

H2O issues?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
coldcuts113
Senior Member
Avatar
930 posts
Joined Aug 2010
Location: NY
     
May 03, 2012 11:45 |  #4940

The Tulip was a RAW - PP'd in Snapseed on my mac. The 2nd was a jpeg, out of the camera. Both w/50L.

Photos didn't go through.. Try again.


Nikon D4, Sony RX10, Sony RX100.
Past Gear: (most recently) 5D3, L's, etc.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
coldcuts113
Senior Member
Avatar
930 posts
Joined Aug 2010
Location: NY
     
May 03, 2012 11:46 |  #4941


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Nikon D4, Sony RX10, Sony RX100.
Past Gear: (most recently) 5D3, L's, etc.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
coldcuts113
Senior Member
Avatar
930 posts
Joined Aug 2010
Location: NY
     
May 03, 2012 11:47 |  #4942


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Nikon D4, Sony RX10, Sony RX100.
Past Gear: (most recently) 5D3, L's, etc.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lawdog2k
Senior Member
Avatar
960 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2011
Location: N. Houston
     
May 03, 2012 12:09 |  #4943

idsurfer wrote in post #14365961 (external link)
The cinematic crop can get addicting! Nothing special here, trying to get LR4 figured out.

I cant get LR4 to update to be able to open CR2 files from my 5dIII. A little irritating.


A guy with a couple cameras, some lenses, and accoutrements
Freelance for Magazines
Gear&Feedback | Flickr (external link) | Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
idsurfer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,188 posts
Gallery: 94 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 4020
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
     
May 03, 2012 12:12 |  #4944

lawdog2k wrote in post #14373285 (external link)
I cant get LR4 to update to be able to open CR2 files from my 5dIII. A little irritating.

pm'd


Cory
Sony ⍺6400 | Sony 10-18/4 | Sony/Zeiss 24/1.8 | Sigma 56/1.4
flickr (external link)
Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Saxi
Goldmember
Avatar
2,781 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: NH, USA
     
May 03, 2012 12:13 |  #4945

lawdog2k wrote in post #14373285 (external link)
I cant get LR4 to update to be able to open CR2 files from my 5dIII. A little irritating.

Well sounds like you are not using the RC1 or RC2. Both of them will open the 5D III files fine, but the RC2 runs A LOT better, RC1 had a lot of performance issues. RC2 is still not perfect, but much better. I've been opening raw files with RC1 & RC2 since the day they were released. There is nothing you need to configure so it just sounds like you are using the wrong version.


5D III, 24-105mm f/4 L, 135mm f/2 L, 70-200mm f/4 IS L, 580EX II
Full Gear List
Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ppusa
Member
Avatar
179 posts
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
     
May 03, 2012 12:49 |  #4946

elrey2375 wrote in post #14368390 (external link)
I'm not understanding this part. You say the MINIMUM speed and then complain it isn't fast enough. That doesn't make any sense. As far as I know, the Auto ISO has nothing to do with shutter speed limitations.

Older 5D2 also has Auto ISO. In Av mode it selects ISO + shutter speed based on focal length. That's kind of useless when you are shooting at 16mm something moving as the camera thinks 1/20s is ok. The moving subject will blur although background is sharp (if you are not panning).

5D3 now has minimum shutter speed setting for auto ISO to fix this. You set minimum shutter speed to 1/250s and you get the lowest ISO that freezes most subjects. Shutter speed is always 1/250s or faster. The problem is that there are lots of situations where 1/250s is not fast enough.

I believe in 1D4 you can set any shutter speed as the minimum shutter speed in auto ISO. From programming perspective that is probably cheaper to implement than the current 5D3 implementation!

Eg.g. Av + Auto-ISO + f/8 + 1/2000s min. shutter could be used for birds in flight in varying lightning. You get enough depth-of-field AND fast enough shutter speed AND the lowest ISO. Whether shutter speed is 1/2000 or 1/8000 doesn't matter in this situation but ISO1600 vs. ISO6400 matters!

Shooting modes and many camera settings are still heavily based on the film age when changing ISO wasn't as easy as it is with digital. it would be about the time to start designing cameras based on the possibilities of digital world.


http://learnsee.wordpr​ess.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Andrew_WOT
Goldmember
1,418 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: CA
     
May 03, 2012 12:59 |  #4947

ppusa wrote in post #14373564 (external link)
5D3 now has minimum shutter speed setting for auto ISO to fix this. You set minimum shutter speed to 1/250s and you get the lowest ISO that freezes most subjects. Shutter speed is always 1/250s or faster. The problem is that there are lots of situations where 1/250s is not fast enough.

I believe in 1D4 you can set any shutter speed as the minimum shutter speed in auto ISO. From programming perspective that is probably cheaper to implement than the current 5D3 implementation!

If the shutter speed is that critical why use Av to begin with? Tv of M (if you also want to control aperture) will serve you much better.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ppusa
Member
Avatar
179 posts
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
     
May 03, 2012 13:08 |  #4948

Andrew_WOT wrote in post #14373623 (external link)
If the shutter speed is that critical why use Av to begin with? Tv of M (if you also want to control aperture) will serve you much better.

Depth-of-field AND fast enought shutter speed TOGETHER are critical not just shutter speed. There are lot's of situations where the photo is ruined if you don't have enough DOF and fast enough shutter speed.

If I use tv + 1/2000s, I don't know what aperture I will get (=how much depth of field ) and in bright conditions I risk getting overexposed images.

I can use manual only if lightning stays the same which is often not the case. Auto-ISO in manual has the same risk of overexposed image.

If I have the time, I could even focus manually. Auto-ISO is very useful in situations when you have to react quickly - or would be if 5D3 minumum shutter speed would have been properly implemented.


http://learnsee.wordpr​ess.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
h4y4sh1
Member
150 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Indonesia
     
May 03, 2012 13:15 as a reply to  @ post 14371176 |  #4949

dho81 wrote in post #14366628 (external link)
Hot!

BodyResults wrote in post #14366654 (external link)
Great capture on this.

Doug

Fotocyco wrote in post #14366673 (external link)
Congrats! Love it !!

It won't be simple to do a better job on your second one ... ;)

navydoc wrote in post #14366755 (external link)
Great colors and an amazing catch.

***************

A bundle of blossoms.

bikeboynate wrote in post #14368384 (external link)
Rollie Pollie Ollie! :p

Great catch! :D

elrey2375 wrote in post #14368403 (external link)
such a badass shot.

WARAT wrote in post #14368821 (external link)
Thor is behind those clouds. :)

Chet wrote in post #14369262 (external link)
I was in a plane a couple years ago that looked similar to the one posted. It had a red strip and no bend on the end, but very close. Great capture, was this through the window?

Yes it was through the window :)

MatthewK wrote in post #14370135 (external link)
The Nothinnnnggggggggggg..​.


Fricken awesome shot, man. Those clouds look so ominous!

Wow, thank you everyone for the comments :oops:


5DMKIII, 5Dc, 24 f1.4 L MKII, 35 f1.4 L, 50 f1.2 L, 85 f1.2 L MKII, 135 f2 L, 300 f4 L IS, 16-35 f2.8 L, 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 f2.8 L IS
100mm f2.8 macro
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
elrey2375
Thinks it's irresponsible
Avatar
4,992 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 276
Joined Nov 2011
     
May 03, 2012 13:44 |  #4950

ppusa wrote in post #14373669 (external link)
Depth-of-field AND fast enought shutter speed TOGETHER are critical not just shutter speed. There are lot's of situations where the photo is ruined if you don't have enough DOF and fast enough shutter speed.

If I use tv + 1/2000s, I don't know what aperture I will get (=how much depth of field ) and in bright conditions I risk getting overexposed images.

I can use manual only if lightning stays the same which is often not the case. Auto-ISO in manual has the same risk of overexposed image.

If I have the time, I could even focus manually. Auto-ISO is very useful in situations when you have to react quickly - or would be if 5D3 minumum shutter speed would have been properly implemented.

what mode are you in where the SS is limited? I haven't experienced this.


http://emjfotografi.co​m/ (external link)
http://500px.com/EMJFo​tografi (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,338,905 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D3 owners Unite! Discuss and post Photos!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mike1911
890 guests, 232 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.