Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 11 May 2012 (Friday) 18:22
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Is there any way to check shutter count on a 5D2 via a picture?

 
LowriderS10
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
May 11, 2012 18:22 |  #1

Hi guys,

I bought a new (refurb) 5D2, but since I'm in Korea, I had it sent to my parents' place in Canada, and I'm going to get it in a few months when I meet up with some friends in Europe (I know...awesome life, eh?). Anyhoo...I'm a little curious as to how many clicks are on it (doesn't REALLY matter, just curious, that's all). If I get my dad to send me a straight off the card JPEG, is there a program that would tell me the shutter count? (I know EOScount needs the camera to be connected to the computer, so that won't work for me).

Thanks,
Tamas


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
rdalrt
Goldmember
Avatar
1,691 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 770
Joined Aug 2008
Location: The Great White North
     
May 11, 2012 19:10 |  #2

Sorry, I can't help with your question.

But have a question for you of my own. I am curious how you had a Canon refurb sent to a Canadian address. I was always under the impression that the refurbs were only available to US credit cards and US shipping addresses.


Just Sports Photographyexternal link
My Junk ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EL_PIC
Goldmember
Avatar
2,028 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Austin Texas - Lucca Italy
     
May 11, 2012 19:22 |  #3
bannedPermanent ban

http://www.eoscount.co​m/ (external link) is the way.
Have Dad use it and he can send you a pict of the screen - LOL.
FYI - my 5D MKII refurb from Canon Direct had a count of 340.


EL_PIC - RIT BS Photo '78 - Photomask Engineering Mgr
Canon DSLR - Nikon SLR - Phase One 60MP MFDSLR
http://www.Photo-Image-Creations.com (external link)
http://www.musecube.co​m/el_pic/ (external link)
http://www.facebook.co​m/PhotoImageCreations (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
the ­ flying ­ moose
Goldmember
1,640 posts
Likes: 76
Joined Dec 2006
     
May 11, 2012 19:25 |  #4

rdalrt wrote in post #14418252 (external link)
Sorry, I can't help with your question.

But have a question for you of my own. I am curious how you had a Canon refurb sent to a Canadian address. I was always under the impression that the refurbs were only available to US credit cards and US shipping addresses.

Can you not purchase Canon refurbs through places such as Adorama and KEH that will ship to Canada?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
May 11, 2012 19:59 as a reply to  @ the flying moose's post |  #5

rdalrt wrote in post #14418252 (external link)
Sorry, I can't help with your question.

But have a question for you of my own. I am curious how you had a Canon refurb sent to a Canadian address. I was always under the impression that the refurbs were only available to US credit cards and US shipping addresses.

This is true. I got it off a member here. He bought it when Canon had it on the 20% off sale, but he didn't want it, so he sold it on here (to me) without ever opening the package.

I'm sure he made a few bucks, but I got it for exactly as much as Canon has it on their site (plus, the seller included the shipping)...and Canon is constantly sold out. So, I think both the seller and I are very happy :)

EL_PIC wrote in post #14418276 (external link)
http://www.eoscount.co​m/ (external link) is the way.
Have Dad use it and he can send you a pict of the screen - LOL.
FYI - my 5D MKII refurb from Canon Direct had a count of 340.

haha thanks, but like I said in my original post, I'm aware of EOSCount. I really don't want to bother my dad with this this much, he's already doing a lot for me (shipped my 1D3 when I sold it, dealt with customs for the 5D2, going to be testing it for me, and dealing with getting it to my friends, etc...). I'm just hoping to use a test shot I'm getting him to take to make sure the camera works as a basis for a shutter count...though I can't remember such a thing existing...

And thanks for the input on your count! I'd be stoked if mine was in the dozens or few hundreds! Basically, if all works out I'll be getting a brand new 5D2 at used market prices :)


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lar55
Senior Member
277 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2010
     
May 11, 2012 20:49 |  #6

To answer your original question, very few if any Canons put the shutter count in EXIF. (I think some 1D models might.) So no, the image won't have the shutter count. (FYI, this is more common on Nikon; e.g. the D5100 does put the shutter count in EXIF.)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
IA40D
Senior Member
338 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Waterloo, IA
     
May 11, 2012 21:20 |  #7

well i believe mine tonight messing around with it today it added to the 13 it had and still is consistent so i think i must have had it all hooked up right very happy....hope to get a chance to go play tomorrow


5Dmk2, 7D, 1DIIn(sold), 1Dclassic(sold), 40D(Sold), 70-200 2.8L, 100-400L IS, 17-40L, 24-105L, 85 1.8, 135L, Tammy 28-75 2.8(sold), Tammy 10-24(sold)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gregg.Siam
Goldmember
Avatar
2,383 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Bangkok
     
May 11, 2012 23:29 as a reply to  @ IA40D's post |  #8

If RAW, you can open the image in Photoshop and look at the count. Go to File Info and look through the tabs. I forget exactly where.

Not all models record EXIF data like this, but XXD and Xd series have a much better chance than a XXXD series.


5D MKIII | 24-105mm f/4 L| 50mm f/1.8 | 600EX-RT [FONT=Tahoma][COLOR=bl​ue][FONT="]|
∞ 500px (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,406 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6085
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
May 12, 2012 07:01 |  #9

Gregg.Siam wrote in post #14419191 (external link)
If RAW, you can open the image in Photoshop and look at the count. Go to File Info and look through the tabs. I forget exactly where.

Not all models record EXIF data like this, but XXD and Xd series have a much better chance than a XXXD series.

No, this count is reset-able via the menus. Shutter count is not in the 5d2 exif.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jack ­ lumber
Goldmember
Avatar
1,105 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Mar 2006
Location: southern alberta.
     
May 12, 2012 07:45 |  #10

Download an UNEDITED image to Flickr, check the exif. Shutter count showed when I tried this with a 20D.;)


There is a fine line between "hobby" and "obsession"
---------------
5D-20D-7D gripped- all canon-28MM 1.8 - 50MM 1.8 -17-40 L -100MM 2.8 macro -70-200MM L F4- 100-40MM L -1X4 teleconverter-Sigma 20-40MM 2.8:D 580 EX 11 flash- manfrotto tripods and monopods.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,406 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6085
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
May 12, 2012 07:47 |  #11

jack lumber wrote in post #14420169 (external link)
Download an UNEDITED image to Flickr, check the exif. Shutter count showed when I tried this with a 20D.;)

Again, resettable when you reset image count to zero in the menu. The true shutter count IS NOT in the exif data.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HelenOster
That's me!
Avatar
4,503 posts
Likes: 583
Joined Jul 2008
Location: New York
     
May 13, 2012 09:59 |  #12

the flying moose wrote in post #14418283 (external link)
Can you not purchase Canon refurbs through places such as Adorama and KEH that will ship to Canada?

Yes, you can!



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,373 views & 0 likes for this thread
Is there any way to check shutter count on a 5D2 via a picture?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mjennis
1179 guests, 282 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.