Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 26 May 2012 (Saturday) 17:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Given a canon raw file can you tell if IS was on?

 
kenwood33
Goldmember
2,614 posts
Likes: 25
Joined Jul 2005
     
May 26, 2012 17:47 |  #1

Is it possible to tell if IS was on, given a canon raw file?


Gearlist

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,482 posts
Likes: 199
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
May 26, 2012 18:16 |  #2

No.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imjason
Goldmember
1,667 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
May 26, 2012 18:49 |  #3

yes, but not by visually looking at the image. IS information can be found in the metadata tho.


Canon gear: EOS M, Canonet QL17, SX230HS, S95, SD1200IS
Non-Canon gear: D600, D5000, D70, XG-2, U20
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
May 26, 2012 19:13 |  #4

imjason wrote in post #14489168 (external link)
yes, but not by visually looking at the image. IS information can be found in the metadata tho. the value would read "0" if no IS was used.

Are you sure about that? It doesn't appear to show up in my "standard" apps -- Lightroom, DPP and my (older) CS3. What software are you using to see it?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imjason
Goldmember
1,667 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
May 26, 2012 19:43 |  #5

tonylong wrote in post #14489243 (external link)
Are you sure about that? It doesn't appear to show up in my "standard" apps -- Lightroom, DPP and my (older) CS3. What software are you using to see it?

Im using the Preview app on OSX. . Heres two with my cheapo 55-200 nikon lens. IS data is 4th line from the bottom. One image is off and one image is on.

Check out other Canon tags here: http://www.exiv2.org/t​ags-canon.html (external link)

I take back what i said about 0 being IS off, the value is dependent on camera maker.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Canon gear: EOS M, Canonet QL17, SX230HS, S95, SD1200IS
Non-Canon gear: D600, D5000, D70, XG-2, U20
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
May 26, 2012 20:21 |  #6

Ah, well, I see the IS in the Canon tags, just not in the three "normal" Exif readers I have. Oh well, if the OP wants/needs the info, they can hunt up some software. If the OP is using Windows then PhotoME would likely work -- it shows a ton of stuff!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Skaperen
Member
232 posts
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Wheeling, WV, USA
     
May 27, 2012 00:00 as a reply to  @ tonylong's post |  #7

I'm not seeing the IS info from my 7D with kit 18-135 lens, using exiftool to extract. Either it isn't being recorded or it isn't being extracted.


7D, 450D, 18-135/3.5-5.6, 18-55/3.5-5.6, 60/2.8 macro
Wish List: 5DsR, 16-35/2.8L,100/2.8L macro, 135/2L, LC-E6E

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
May 27, 2012 00:01 |  #8

You might try PhotoME -- that app pulls a whole lot of stuff out of the Exif!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,482 posts
Likes: 199
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
May 27, 2012 03:06 |  #9

ExifTool doesn't include it and in PhotoMe in the Overview at the top of the chart Image Stabilization is a field but it is blank and in the Maker Notes section it appears but in multiple photos that I know had IS operating it is listed as off.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
imjason
Goldmember
1,667 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
May 27, 2012 05:01 |  #10

im wondering if its lens dependent? as in canon has a tag for it, but the lens is not outputting the data because its an older lens?
i know its body dependent for sure. my older nikon bodies didnt have image stabilization status in the exif.


Canon gear: EOS M, Canonet QL17, SX230HS, S95, SD1200IS
Non-Canon gear: D600, D5000, D70, XG-2, U20
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
May 28, 2012 07:16 |  #11

Might also be brand specific…

The question was about a CR2, not a NEF ;)


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,764 views & 0 likes for this thread
Given a canon raw file can you tell if IS was on?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is vitanayura
799 guests, 217 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.