Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 12 Jun 2012 (Tuesday) 16:08
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Auto Focus Inconveniently Stops Working

 
JimCreightonKy
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Location: western Ky
     
Jun 12, 2012 16:08 |  #1

EOS 40D, happened last night while shooting a time-critical event (external link): autofocus just stopped working and I was unable to shoot. Had a brain cramp, so I grabbed my backup Rebel to finish up. Found today that the 40D will shoot fine in manual focus.
Had this happen 6-8 months ago, and I was able to clear it up (it seemed) by removing the lens and cleaning the camera body contact pins and lens contacts, but it changes nothing now. Doesn't make any difference what lens I put on (tried 3 last night during my frenzy!) - none of them worked, so appears the issue is in the camera, not the lens. I've done a "clear all camera settings" just in case I inadvertently did something crazy, but that changes nothing.
We're many miles from a Canon repair facility; I'd like to solve this if I can. Any ideas for me? Thx!


Jim Creighton, in western Kentucky

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
The ­ Fox
Goldmember
Avatar
1,838 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 117
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Eugene, OR
     
Jun 12, 2012 16:26 |  #2

What lens?

Nick


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
EOS R6 Gripped | 7D MK II Gripped | 24mm F1.4 | 35mm F2 IS | 24-70mm F2.8L | 70mm F2.8 Macro | 135mm F2L | 70-200mm F4L IS |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gofer
Goldmember
1,548 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: UK
     
Jun 12, 2012 16:30 as a reply to  @ The Fox's post |  #3

Do you have a grip attached? If so remove it and try again. Failing that, take both batteries out and leave for 30mins before refitting. This will reboot the electrickery insde the camera.


Steve.

Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JimCreightonKy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Location: western Ky
     
Jun 12, 2012 16:39 as a reply to  @ gofer's post |  #4

Lens: Canon EF 28-135 IS. However, I pulled it, put on another Canon (kit 18-55 from the Rebel, and a Sigma 24mm 1:1.8 EXDG, and neither lens changed the response.
Yes, I do have a battery grip. I just pulled it, and will leave out all night and try again tomorrow - will post an update then w/status. Thanks for the idea.


Jim Creighton, in western Kentucky

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pwm2
"Sorry for being a noob"
Avatar
8,626 posts
Likes: 3
Joined May 2007
Location: Sweden
     
Jun 12, 2012 16:50 |  #5

Remember the tiny battery for the camera settings.


5DMk2 + BG-E6 | 40D + BG-E2N | 350D + BG-E3 + RC-1 | Elan 7E | Minolta Dimage 7U | (Gear thread)
10-22 | 16-35/2.8 L II | 20-35 | 24-105 L IS | 28-135 IS | 40/2.8 | 50/1.8 II | 70-200/2.8 L IS | 100/2.8 L IS | 100-400 L IS | Sigma 18-200DC
Speedlite 420EZ | Speedlite 580EX | EF 1.4x II | EF 2x II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JimCreightonKy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Location: western Ky
     
Jun 12, 2012 16:58 as a reply to  @ pwm2's post |  #6

You mean, pull the little watch battery, too, right?


Jim Creighton, in western Kentucky

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
Goldmember
Avatar
1,838 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 117
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Eugene, OR
     
Jun 12, 2012 17:02 |  #7

Yeah, remove that too. That will let the camera completely clear itself and go back to all factory settings.

Nick


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
EOS R6 Gripped | 7D MK II Gripped | 24mm F1.4 | 35mm F2 IS | 24-70mm F2.8L | 70mm F2.8 Macro | 135mm F2L | 70-200mm F4L IS |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cfcRebel
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,252 posts
Joined Feb 2005
Location: Austin, TX
     
Jun 12, 2012 17:05 |  #8

I have seen half a dozen cases like this with several 40Ds. Also occurred with 30D. In the viewfinder if the green dot is blinking when halfpress the shutter button, that means no focus is achieved hence prevents you from taking a picture. This could be a result of dirty focus screen.
If the green dot is solid and a focus beep is heard but still can't take picture, it's likely that the shutter button connector is dirty. Before sending the camera to Canon, there's a cheap method you can try and see if it helps. It may (or may not) save you money. Check it out here http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=tB_gSqyidI0 (external link)


Fee

Canon | SIGMA | TAMRON | Kenko | Amvona

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JimCreightonKy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Location: western Ky
     
Jun 12, 2012 17:07 |  #9

Thanks, all. I'm out of here for the evening. All batteries pulled, will report back in the morning.


Jim Creighton, in western Kentucky

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
38,898 posts
Gallery: 115 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 7395
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jun 12, 2012 17:26 |  #10

If you do the alcohol thing, be sure to keep the camera tilted as in the video, and do not ever just lay the camera upside down level. The alcohol will most likely get into the top LCD screen layers and bubble them. It has happened before.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JimCreightonKy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Location: western Ky
     
Jun 13, 2012 08:02 |  #11

Success! Grip and small memory battery left out all night, and it's working fine this morning. Now, the real question: "why does this happen?", followed by "Is there a better immediate action fix to permit shooting?" Any exact idea of how long the batteries must be out to kill the camera's memory? 5 minutes might be workable, 30 won't solve the problem on site. Thanks to all who helped me!


Jim Creighton, in western Kentucky

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pwm2
"Sorry for being a noob"
Avatar
8,626 posts
Likes: 3
Joined May 2007
Location: Sweden
     
Jun 13, 2012 08:55 |  #12

If camera is turned on when you rip the battery grip, any reserves for driving the processors will drain almost instantly. If camera is in power-save mode, the spare power in capacitors will keep the processor supplied for quite some time, but probably 5-10 min is enough.

If the issue requires a reset of the configuration memory, it's way worse because that memory could - potentially - survive hours without the button cell. The power consumption is almost zero, so if there is a capacitor inside the camera it will happily feed the config memory.

If problem happens again, an initial test is to keep camera powered (display on) and pop the batteries from the grip. Then just wait 2-3 min and put in the batteries. You could potentially try to press the shutter button without the batteries - if processor did go down in power-save fast enough, you might possibly trick it with this wake-up request, to make sure it quickly drains spare power from capacitors.


5DMk2 + BG-E6 | 40D + BG-E2N | 350D + BG-E3 + RC-1 | Elan 7E | Minolta Dimage 7U | (Gear thread)
10-22 | 16-35/2.8 L II | 20-35 | 24-105 L IS | 28-135 IS | 40/2.8 | 50/1.8 II | 70-200/2.8 L IS | 100/2.8 L IS | 100-400 L IS | Sigma 18-200DC
Speedlite 420EZ | Speedlite 580EX | EF 1.4x II | EF 2x II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,871 views & 0 likes for this thread
Auto Focus Inconveniently Stops Working
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mannyromano123
576 guests, 192 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.