Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 14 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 11:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Problem with Canon 7D, Sigma 150-500 Lens and Aperture Priority- Incorrect exposure

 
BadBrad
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 14, 2012 11:00 |  #1

I was shooting photographs of birds at my home using my Canon 7D and a Sigma 170-500 lens (non-OS- approx. 4 years old) lens and a Yongnuo remote shutter operating system. I used the Aperture Priority setting. I shot the first first four photos at f6.3, ISO 640 with the lens at 500 mm. The Canon 7D selected a shutter speed of 1/1000 of a second and those photos were properly exposed. However, I then closed the f-stop to f8 (to increase sharpness) and left everything else the same. The outdoor lighting remained unchanged. After that change, the camera now selected 1/2000 of a second as a shutter speed rather than a slower shutter speed grossly under exposing the 50 or so photographs that I shot thereafter by at least two f-stops. At all times, exposure compensation was set to 0. I thought there was a problem with the Sigma lens and sent it to Sigma who informed me that the lens is functioning correctly. I then used a Canon 100-400L on the Canon 7D and it worked properly with the same settings. I have not had this problem using my other Sigma Lenses (70-200 f2.8 and 18-50 f2.8) Also, last year, I used the Sigma 170-500 and did not have that problem. The tech.s at Sigma believe that it is a problem with the Canon 7D. Has anyone had this type of problem or know why the 7D is selecting the wrong shutter speed?


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
BadBrad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 14, 2012 20:19 |  #2

PS- from the author- it's a Sigma 170-500, not a 150-500


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cfcRebel
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,252 posts
Joined Feb 2005
Location: Austin, TX
     
Jun 14, 2012 21:38 |  #3

Have u tried a more controlled environment, such as a well-lit, even-lighting indoor room, to test the lens on your 7D?


Fee

Canon | SIGMA | TAMRON | Kenko | Amvona

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BadBrad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 15, 2012 04:28 |  #4

The Sigma170-500 is a little big for indoors. However, When I last used it and I was getting incorrect exposures, all the photos were shot outdoors within the same half hour under the nearly the exact same lighting- very thin, high, overcast that permitted the sun through, it was fairly bright out. Last year I used the same lens with the same 7D and did not have that issue. However, I have upgraded, successfully, the 7D firmware.


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pknight
Goldmember
Avatar
2,693 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 128
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Flyover Country
     
Jun 15, 2012 06:37 as a reply to  @ BadBrad's post |  #5

Logic suggests that if all of you other lenses work with the 7D, the problem lies with the 170-500, not the 7D.


Digital EOS 90D Canon: EF 50mm f/1.8 II, EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro, Life-Size Converter EF Tamron: SP 17-50mm f/2.8 DiII, 18-400mm f/3.5-6.3 DiII VC HLD, SP 150-600 f/5-6.3 Di VC USD G2, SP 70-200 f/2.8 Di VC USD, 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 DiII VC HLD Sigma: 30mm f/1.4 DC Art Rokinon: 8mm f/3.5 AS IF UMC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BadBrad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 15, 2012 09:19 |  #6

pknight wrote in post #14582301 (external link)
Logic suggests that if all of you other lenses work with the 7D, the problem lies with the 170-500, not the 7D.

I agree, but it may be a software issue between the 7D and the Sigma Lens. With the Sigma, I shot approximately 50 photos. The first 4 were shot at F6.3, (the 7D select of shutter speed of 1/1000). I wanted to increase sharpness and while in Aperture Priority, stepped the lens down to f8.0 (for increased sharpness on that Sigma lens). I made no other changes and the lighting remained exactly the same. Thereafter, all the other photographs were underexposed as the 7D, for some reason, selected a shutter speed of 1/2000 rather than approximately 1/500 (or so). Sigma tested the lens with a 7D and swears they could not duplicate the problem. I even sent them samples of the photos I took to they could check the metadata themselves. In any event, the lens is being shipped back to me and I likely still have that problem.


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BadBrad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 15, 2012 09:21 |  #7

PS- to last post. I did not realize that the 7D was underexposing for a while as I was shooting with a remote shutter switch, a Yongnuo. When I checked the 7D and saw there was a problem. I put a Canon 100-400L on it, lost 100 mm of reach, but the problem "went away."


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jhayesvw
Cream of the Crop
7,230 posts
Gallery: 167 photos
Likes: 270
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Tucson AZ
     
Jun 15, 2012 11:08 as a reply to  @ BadBrad's post |  #8

If it happens again perhaps try to use shutter priority and see if it messes up the aperture. Maybe try the sigma on a different body?



My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
arkphotos
Senior Member
455 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Plano, Texas
     
Jun 15, 2012 12:36 |  #9

What metering mode are you using?
Is ISO a static value, or are you using auto-iso?
Can you set up a static experiment - using a grey card, or uniform subject?


1.6 crop & some lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BadBrad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 15, 2012 13:45 |  #10

arkphotos wrote in post #14583700 (external link)
What metering mode are you using?
Is ISO a static value, or are you using auto-iso?
Can you set up a static experiment - using a grey card, or uniform subject?


ISO at all times was 640 to keep the noise reasonable. I used spot metering on a bird feeder as the birds were small and my priority was that they were properly exposed. However, note that the first 4 photos at f6.3 were property exposed and the camera failed to properly expose the same scene with same lighting at f8, everything else remained the same. I will need to use the 18% grey card test. As the 7D reacted to the change in smaller f-stop, but in the wrong way, I suspect that if it is not the Sigma 170-500 lens, but a software issue related to the camera and the lens.


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pknight
Goldmember
Avatar
2,693 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 128
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Flyover Country
     
Jun 15, 2012 13:50 |  #11

BadBrad wrote in post #14582813 (external link)
I agree, but it may be a software issue between the 7D and the Sigma Lens.

Sure. But it is Sigma's responsibiity to make sure that their lenses work with Canon's (or whoever's) bodies. It may be a problem with your particular lens, but I am willing to bet that ultimately it is the lens, whether specific to your sample or to this model in general.


Digital EOS 90D Canon: EF 50mm f/1.8 II, EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro, Life-Size Converter EF Tamron: SP 17-50mm f/2.8 DiII, 18-400mm f/3.5-6.3 DiII VC HLD, SP 150-600 f/5-6.3 Di VC USD G2, SP 70-200 f/2.8 Di VC USD, 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 DiII VC HLD Sigma: 30mm f/1.4 DC Art Rokinon: 8mm f/3.5 AS IF UMC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BadBrad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 15, 2012 14:20 |  #12

pknight wrote in post #14584068 (external link)
Sure. But it is Sigma's responsibiity to make sure that their lenses work with Canon's (or whoever's) bodies. It may be a problem with your particular lens, but I am willing to bet that ultimately it is the lens, whether specific to your sample or to this model in general.

Interestingly, the tech at Sigma wrote me that the lens, whch is approx. 4 years old, has the latest firmware available for it. I updated the firmware of the 7D and await the new firmware release. I did not have any problems with the Sigma Lens prior to the 7D firmware update. All my other lenses work correctly. The Sigma tech. told me they ran the lens on a 7D and it worked properly at all settings. This evening I will post on this thread one of the first four photo that was properly exposed, and one that was not, I will have to reduce their size. Hopefully, the metadata for the photos will transfer as well. I like the Sigma Lens when it works. Having a 500mm reach for a $1,000.00 or so is a good deal provided you shoot the lens in bright daylight and keep the f-stop at f8 or so for acceptable sharpness. My Canon 100-400L is of better quality, but the reach for birds and certain airshow shots isn't always enough. However, there are no problems with the Canon lens. I also have a Sigma 70-200 2.8 OS and a Sigma 18-50 2.8 OS. They take good photos and I have not had any problems with them like I have had with the older Sigma 170-500. I await the return of the 170-500, but am reluctant to use it if it randomly or regularly causes underexposure. I hate correcting with Photoshop.


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BadBrad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 15, 2012 14:23 |  #13

PS- Quick and accurate manaual focusing on either the Sigma 170-500 or the Canon 100-400L is nearly impossible when using a 1.4 teleconverter.


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jhayesvw
Cream of the Crop
7,230 posts
Gallery: 167 photos
Likes: 270
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Tucson AZ
     
Jun 15, 2012 14:46 as a reply to  @ BadBrad's post |  #14

many people have found that shooting with the 100-400 and cropping still produces a better photo than using the SIgma at 500.
That may not be the case for you, but there are many people that will agree with that statement.
perhaps its time to sell the sigma.:cry:



My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BadBrad
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts
     
Jun 15, 2012 14:56 |  #15

Food for thought, I can apply the funds for second camera body.


Gear- Canon 7D; Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX; Sigma 70-200 2.8 EX; Sigma 170-500 5-6.3 APO; Sigma Tele.Con. 1.4; Canon 55-250 4.0-5.6 Canon 100-400L 4.0-5.6; Manfrotto 055CX3 w/322RC2 joystick; Manfrotto 498RC2 head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,570 views & 0 likes for this thread
Problem with Canon 7D, Sigma 150-500 Lens and Aperture Priority- Incorrect exposure
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mannyromano123
568 guests, 188 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.