Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 11 Jul 2012 (Wednesday) 11:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Mixing Old & New 600ex RT, 580 EX II PW Flex - Mini

 
taygull
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Jul 11, 2012 11:56 |  #1

Without doing a ton of searching I'm curious of some real world applications you guys have had.

I had all my gear stolen last week with the exception of a few pieces. I buy 95% of my gear at a local pro shop. They are wanting me to go with the 600ex RT's instead of 580ex II's for replacement. I will still use the PW Flex and Mini as it works in my studio. I also will pickup a couple used 580's for various off camera scenarios where I need multiple units.

Any thoughts on why spend the extra dollars if I'm still going to have the PW's and need them, can I mix the PW's with the 600's and the 580's and use manual mode and ETTL, along with the AC3 to adjust the individual power of each flash/group with the PW setup.

Thanks guys - and gals!


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,316 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jul 11, 2012 12:31 |  #2

Personally... my opinion is that if you are still going to use PocketWizards for triggering you don't really have a need for the 600EX-RT's, since that is a MAJOR portion of their price (built-in radio triggers).

If you were able to get rid of your PocketWizards and shoot with the 600EX-RTs and their built-in radio system I would go that route vs. having to keep separate trigger devices... assuming that you also need ETTL and/or control of Speedlite power from the back of your camera.


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Jul 11, 2012 13:14 |  #3

Yes! I must be able to control lights without touching them.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,316 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jul 11, 2012 17:25 |  #4

Do you have any other lights (e.g. studio strobes) or are the Speedlights your only lights?

Do you plan to use other lights in the future? If so, how will you trigger and/or control them?


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Jul 11, 2012 17:54 |  #5

In my OP I commented I do use the PW's in my studio, so yes I need triggers. Prefer to stay with the PW's.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,316 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jul 11, 2012 19:18 |  #6

taygull wrote in post #14703753 (external link)
In my OP I commented I do use the PW's in my studio, so yes I need triggers. Prefer to stay with the PW's.

... in which case I don't think you really need the functionality of the 600EX-RTs


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,697 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 504
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 12, 2012 09:00 |  #7

go for the 600...
according to PW, this is a planned future firmware upgrade:

MiniTT1/FlexTT5 BETA firmware release:
Compatibility with the following CANON gear:
1. Canon 600EX-RT Speedlite**
2. Canon ST-E3-RT Commander**

Source: http://www.pocketwizar​d.com …ws/firmware_rel​ease_plan/ (external link)


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,316 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Aug 2009
     
Jul 12, 2012 15:14 |  #8

Hmm, I wonder what that really means in terms of functionality though... Does that mean full functionality with 'Groups' is available? ... or that some things are there, but others aren't? Does it mean that one could use an ST-E3 on camera, and it could fire a FlexTT5 with a ETTL flash attached? It's pretty much impossible to know what exactly that means...

Personally, I don't really follow the reason to have 600EX-RTs with built-in radio system when you are using PocketWizards anyway...


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,697 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 504
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 12, 2012 15:22 |  #9

drvnbysound wrote in post #14707754 (external link)
Hmm, I wonder what that really means in terms of functionality though... Does that mean full functionality with 'Groups' is available? ... or that some things are there, but others aren't? Does it mean that one could use an ST-E3 on camera, and it could fire a FlexTT5 with a ETTL flash attached? It's pretty much impossible to know what exactly that means...

I'm sure there will be compromises - but seeing that the ST-E3 can only trigger stuff, and they're going to make it compatible, I suspect it will be able to trigger remote TT5 stuff (I'm hoping for TT5 + AC9)

drvnbysound wrote in post #14707754 (external link)
Personally, I don't really follow the reason to have 600EX-RTs with built-in radio system when you are using PocketWizards anyway...

unless Canon comes out with something that allows their stuff + 3rd party lights (i.e. Bees, Einsteins, etc...) to be used together, PW would be the answer to mixing lights


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Jul 12, 2012 16:28 |  #10

I went with the 580ex II, bought one new and now will pickup a few more used. Dealer agreed with how I like to shoot the 600's at this point provided no advantage if I'm sticking with the PW's.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,697 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 504
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 13, 2012 20:11 |  #11

And beta software for RT-PW compatibility is out....makes me want to go buy a 600


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
delsol9400
Senior Member
Avatar
332 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 4
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Naples, FL
     
Jul 14, 2012 01:54 as a reply to  @ SMP_Homer's post |  #12

There is an advantage of using the 600 instead of the 580s... You don't have the radio interference of the 580. I use my 600 with mini and flex because I mix it with einsteins and everything works great.


joecapasso.com (external link)
http://www.facebook.co​m/joecapassophotograph​y (external link)
TWITTER: @JoeCapassoPhoto
http://twitter.com/Joe​CapassoPhoto (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bizzle23
Member
Avatar
212 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
     
Jul 14, 2012 02:18 |  #13

SMP_Homer wrote:
And beta software for RT-PW compatibility is out....makes me want to go buy a 600

Can you send me the link where I can get the beta software? I thought at this moment, PW only have the beta for the Sekonic only. I been waiting for the beta of the 600ex to see if there is anything special and make me want to keep my PW FlexTT5 and MiniTT1.

Thank you,


1DXMKII | 5DMKIII | 7DMKII | 16-35 2.8L II | 24-70 2.8L II | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 85 1.2L II | 100 2.8L | SIGMA 50 1.4 ART | SIGMA 15 2.8 FISHEYE | (3) 600EX- RT | 055CXPRO4 + 498RC2
Website (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,697 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 504
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 15, 2012 06:54 |  #14

you get the software through the PW utility software on your PC/MAC

info for the beta is here:
http://www.pocketwizar​d.com/support/download​s/beta (external link)


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
klr.b
Goldmember
2,509 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
     
Jul 15, 2012 14:39 |  #15

drvnbysound wrote in post #14707754 (external link)
Hmm, I wonder what that really means in terms of functionality though... Does that mean full functionality with 'Groups' is available? ... or that some things are there, but others aren't? Does it mean that one could use an ST-E3 on camera, and it could fire a FlexTT5 with a ETTL flash attached? It's pretty much impossible to know what exactly that means...

Personally, I don't really follow the reason to have 600EX-RTs with built-in radio system when you are using PocketWizards anyway...

I don't ever see that happening since they run on different frequencies. It's probably just a compatibility thing where you run a Flex in pass-through with an ST-E3 on top to trigger other RT's.


gordon
Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,169 views & 0 likes for this thread
Mixing Old & New 600ex RT, 580 EX II PW Flex - Mini
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is tonyf1827
845 guests, 235 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.