Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 16 Jul 2012 (Monday) 11:50
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Transcend Compact flash 16 gig ...My Canon 5D mark II read only 8 gig

 
sega62
Senior Member
Avatar
756 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Aug 2011
     
Jul 16, 2012 11:50 |  #1

I recently purchased 2x16 gig memory 133x cards from Transcend, and while they are 16 gig each of them, when I format any of them on my Canon 5D mark II it only recognize 8 gig on each card.

Bizarre, anyone had that problem before?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
Avatar
15,884 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
     
Jul 16, 2012 12:03 |  #2

Just to ask, is your 5D2 up to date on its firmware?


[Gear List | Flickr (external link) | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection (external link) /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sega62
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
756 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Aug 2011
     
Jul 16, 2012 12:12 |  #3

i bought the camera recently, so it's software
2.1.2




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dsit995
Senior Member
Avatar
527 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Danbury, CT
     
Jul 16, 2012 12:45 |  #4

Nope, I have multiple 16gb transcend cards and have never had that problem...
I take it you have tried to format the cards w/ the camera?


Canon 5D MkII | T2i | 35L | 24-105 IS L | 70-200L | 100L | 17-40L | 85 1.8 | 50 1.4 | 430EX II
5∞ (external link) | GEAR & FeedBack | flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BrickR
Cream of the Crop
5,935 posts
Likes: 114
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Dallas TX
     
Jul 16, 2012 12:53 |  #5

dsit995 wrote in post #14724385 (external link)
Nope, I have multiple 16gb transcend cards and have never had that problem...
I take it you have tried to format the cards w/ the camera?

Was going to suggest same thing


My junk
The grass isn't greener on the other side, it's green where you water it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
Avatar
15,884 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
     
Jul 16, 2012 12:56 |  #6

sega62 wrote in post #14724236 (external link)
i bought the camera recently, so it's software
2.1.2

Okay, and as others suggested above, you formatted it in the camera right and not on a computer?


[Gear List | Flickr (external link) | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection (external link) /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sega62
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
756 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Aug 2011
     
Jul 16, 2012 13:49 |  #7

Yes it's formated on my 5D mkII
It see's only 8 gig
I phones the store that sold it to me and told me to bring them back to the store
I was on vacation and had to shoot jpeg instead of raw
What a bugger




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,418 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 16, 2012 14:01 |  #8

Look at transcend site. Is a known issue with fix/workaround


5D4 / Want a 1D X
Sig85 /35L/100L/135L/16-35L II/70-200L II/100-400L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Jul 16, 2012 14:07 |  #9

SMP_Homer wrote in post #14724717 (external link)
Look at transcend site. Is a known issue with fix/workaround

Got a link? I was just there and if they do have it, it sure isn't obvious. Couldn't turn it up in the FAQ, which, in spite of my stipulating a 600x CF, kept giving me questions about SD cards.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,418 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 18, 2012 09:36 |  #10

Jon wrote in post #14724747 (external link)
Got a link? I was just there and if they do have it, it sure isn't obvious. Couldn't turn it up in the FAQ, which, in spite of my stipulating a 600x CF, kept giving me questions about SD cards.

take a look at this thread (specifically post #19)
https://photography-on-the.net …ighlight=transc​end+format

funny enough, you have several posts in that thread ;-)a


5D4 / Want a 1D X
Sig85 /35L/100L/135L/16-35L II/70-200L II/100-400L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Jul 18, 2012 11:13 |  #11

So, the best way to find something on Transcend's site is by looking on POTN? Sure doesn't give me a warm fuzzy. Neither, for that matter, does trusting a card that's previously given me an error that left it unformattable using normal procedures.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
Avatar
15,884 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
     
Jul 18, 2012 11:30 |  #12

Jon wrote in post #14734847 (external link)
So, the best way to find something on Transcend's site is by looking on POTN? Sure doesn't give me a warm fuzzy. Neither, for that matter, does trusting a card that's previously given me an error that left it unformattable using normal procedures.

Stick with Sandisk ;)


[Gear List | Flickr (external link) | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection (external link) /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Jul 18, 2012 11:33 |  #13

I do!


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,418 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Jul 18, 2012 12:24 |  #14

I dunno if it's the best way, but one of the things I recall about this issue is that it had been posted here, so I looked here first...


5D4 / Want a 1D X
Sig85 /35L/100L/135L/16-35L II/70-200L II/100-400L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MingTyhMaa
Member
107 posts
Joined Sep 2010
     
Jul 18, 2012 22:50 |  #15

Same thing happened to me. The Transcend fix is simply a software that changes the partitioning errors made when the 5d2 formats the Cf card. The same fix can be made with windows itself. But frankly if u intend to format the cf card with every shoot like we're all told to, using these cards represent much more hassle than simply switching brands.


Sony A7II + 24-70 f4 + 55 1.8
Sony A6000 + 8mm fish, 10-18, 55-210
Sony RX100III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,271 views & 0 likes for this thread
Transcend Compact flash 16 gig ...My Canon 5D mark II read only 8 gig
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Macroramphosis
727 guests, 343 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.