Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 00:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!

 
dfarina
Member
176 posts
Joined Apr 2003
     
Aug 07, 2012 13:59 |  #601

Yogi Bear wrote in post #14826481 (external link)
But did you have MFA adjustments entered into the camera prior to the upgrade?

Yes,I also have Focal and that is how it was originally set,might run the lenses through Focal again to confirm




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Pete ­ W
Goldmember
Avatar
1,266 posts
Gallery: 12 photos
Likes: 79
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Bishops Stortford, Herts. UK
     
Aug 07, 2012 14:02 |  #602

AJCanon wrote in post #14826605 (external link)
I'm guessing my 7D has the Japanese firmware as it only has Japanese and English as languages. Am I ok to update to the USA version? I know it was asked before but there wasnt a clear answer and I'm paranoid with stuff so expensive

Just charging my battery then I willl be updateing :D

Yes you are OK... The Jap/english language limitation is hardwired into the camera for domestic market (japan)


All the best
Pete Woods LRPS
My Gear List
My Websiteexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Avatar
7,355 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 85
Joined Jan 2007
Location: DFW Metro-mess, Texas
     
Aug 07, 2012 14:06 as a reply to  @ post 14826579 |  #603

I was able to ripple off 29 rounds before it paused to catch its breath. This was at ISO 100 and file sizes were about 20.3 MB. The subject was the sky with some thin clouds.

Next, I went in my shop and shot images of a very cluttered workbench at ISO 12800 and file sizes of about 32.4 MB. The total number of shots before pausing was only eleven.

In both tests, the aperture was f/2.8 and shutter speed was 1/2000 second.

I sure have wasted a lot of photons and electrons today. :oops:


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AJCanon
Member
69 posts
Joined Mar 2012
     
Aug 07, 2012 14:09 |  #604

Pete W wrote in post #14826652 (external link)
Yes you are OK... The Jap/english language limitation is hardwired into the camera for domestic market (japan)

Sweet, thank you!


Canon 7D2, 7D, XS, Sigma 17-50, Canon 10-18, Canon 70-300 USM, Canon 60mm, Speedlite 230exII
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AJCanon
Member
69 posts
Joined Mar 2012
     
Aug 07, 2012 14:26 |  #605

17,462,140 bytes right?


Canon 7D2, 7D, XS, Sigma 17-50, Canon 10-18, Canon 70-300 USM, Canon 60mm, Speedlite 230exII
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dpds68
Goldmember
Avatar
1,464 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago W.I.
     
Aug 07, 2012 14:31 |  #606

AJCanon wrote in post #14826725 (external link)
17,462,140 bytes right?


That's correct .

David


Gripped Canon 7D,20D,XT / Tamron 17-50mm 2.8, Canon 85mm f1.8 , 70-200 2.8L,EF50mm1.8 II,Sigma 150-500mm OS, Sigma 105mm 2.8 Macro, Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6
Vivitar285Hv x2,Canon430EX,Nissin Di866,CTR-301P Triggers,
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dpds68/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AJCanon
Member
69 posts
Joined Mar 2012
     
Aug 07, 2012 14:31 |  #607

dpds68 wrote in post #14826742 (external link)
That's correct .

David

Thanks. Here we go!


Canon 7D2, 7D, XS, Sigma 17-50, Canon 10-18, Canon 70-300 USM, Canon 60mm, Speedlite 230exII
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tsmith
Formerly known as Bluedog_XT
Avatar
10,429 posts
Likes: 25
Joined Jul 2005
Location: South_the 601
     
Aug 07, 2012 15:14 |  #608

Quick question for those in the know. Can you make RAW file adjustments in camera with files taken before the update or is it that the new files captured will have some kinda data embedded to make it possible?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tom ­ W
Canon Fanosapien
Avatar
12,743 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee
     
Aug 07, 2012 15:15 |  #609

Got to run off quickly, but I installed version 2.00 in my 7D. Burst went from around 16 frames (RAW) to 27 before slowing down. Very positive. I'll take some time and play with it tomorrow.


Tom
5D III, 70D, & various lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Peter2516
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,110 posts
Gallery: 895 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 21296
Joined Oct 2010
Location: State of Washington
     
Aug 07, 2012 15:20 |  #610

What compact flash you guys can recommend I just got my 7d yesterday.
Thank you very much.


Peter
http://www.flickriver.​com/photos/peterbangay​an (external link)
EOS 5D Mark IV, 7D Mark I & II/Canon T2i Gripped/EF 500mm f/4L IS USM MK1 / EF70-200mm f2.8L IS II USM / EF70-200 f4L USM/ EFS 10-22mm/EFS 17-55mm/EFS 18-200mm/Canon 1.4x II/Canon 2x III/ 430EXII / 580EXII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digsmum
Senior Member
263 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Surrey
     
Aug 07, 2012 15:21 as a reply to  @ Tom W's post |  #611

Just done mine - never updated firmware before but didn't have any problems - nearly gave myself a nervous breakdown tho deciding to push the button! Was fully planning to wait a while - you guys are a bad influence.


Emma

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Peter2516
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,110 posts
Gallery: 895 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 21296
Joined Oct 2010
Location: State of Washington
     
Aug 07, 2012 15:21 |  #612

Tom W wrote in post #14826881 (external link)
Got to run off quickly, but I installed version 2.00 in my 7D. Burst went from around 16 frames (RAW) to 27 before slowing down. Very positive. I'll take some time and play with it tomorrow.

What cf card are you using. I like your result. Thanks


Peter
http://www.flickriver.​com/photos/peterbangay​an (external link)
EOS 5D Mark IV, 7D Mark I & II/Canon T2i Gripped/EF 500mm f/4L IS USM MK1 / EF70-200mm f2.8L IS II USM / EF70-200 f4L USM/ EFS 10-22mm/EFS 17-55mm/EFS 18-200mm/Canon 1.4x II/Canon 2x III/ 430EXII / 580EXII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Boehme
Enjoy being spanked
Avatar
7,355 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 85
Joined Jan 2007
Location: DFW Metro-mess, Texas
     
Aug 07, 2012 15:22 |  #613

Tsmith wrote in post #14826880 (external link)
Quick question for those in the know. Can you make RAW file adjustments in camera with files taken before the update or is it that the new files captured will have some kinda data embedded to make it possible?

There is nothing different about the raw files. Even if it didn't, that would hardly be important.


Atmospheric haze in images? Click for Tutorial to Reduce Atmospheric Haze with Photoshop.
Gear List .... Gallery: Woodturner Bill (external link)
Donate to Support POTN Operating Costs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ceremus
Senior Member
Avatar
266 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Location: Southeastern Michigan
     
Aug 07, 2012 15:23 |  #614

mrkgoo wrote in post #14824869 (external link)
Apple? I would say it's Canon's issue here. Mountain Lion has been out for a while, and so has the development beta.

Canon should've been preparing an update to EOSutility to be compatible.

Canon blows at keeping their software up to date. We still don't have a reliable way of showing thumbnail previews for RAW files in Windows Explorer because Canon's driver isn't compatible with Win7 x64, which every single PC ships with these days. You either have to download a paid codec or hope the Microsoft camera codec works. (Which it often does! Yup, Microsoft provided a solution where Canon dropped the ball.)

Up-to-date support from Canon on Apple? Good luck.


My flickriver (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tgara
Goldmember
Avatar
2,336 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
     
Aug 07, 2012 15:23 as a reply to  @ Tom W's post |  #615

I did the update and tried the new GP-E2 GPS device.

The firmware adds a GPS Settings menu, which I won't go into detail about. Suffice it to say the GP-E2 is essentially plug-and-play. On the 7D, you need to use a short cord which is somewhat awkward, but I wrapped it through one of the clips on my strap so it is out of the way.

The GP-E2 works great. It grabbed a GPS signal from outside my house in about 10 seconds. It adds GPS data (Lat/Long/Alt) to each shot on the fly. You can see that data in the Info pane when reviewing the pics on the back of your camera. It also showed up in the EXIF data in Aperture when I transferred some test shots to my iMac.

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR


IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR


IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR

EOS 5D Mark III
EOS Rebel SL1
Full Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

224,465 views & 0 likes for this thread
New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is occult
685 guests, 306 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.