Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 04 Jul 2012 (Wednesday) 18:37
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

AF problems with your 40mm Pancake? Please post your Serial Number.

 
kawi_200
Goldmember
1,416 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 43
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Stanwood, WA
     
Aug 08, 2012 20:46 |  #106

^ Very nice that they can do a firmware fix for it


5D4 | 8-15L | 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS | 24L II | 40mm pancake | 100L IS | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS mk2 | 400mm f/4 DO IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mrkgoo
Goldmember
2,289 posts
Joined Aug 2006
     
Aug 08, 2012 22:23 |  #107

As I suspected, powering off completely would fix it. To be Horst, I have not experienced the issue since a few times that first week I got it. I think it's because I have been very careful to stow te lens back at infinity.

I'm curious how a lens firmware will be applied. Thy mention it will be downloadable suggesting we can apply it ourselves. What about the big whites which need firmware - don't you have to send those in to canon?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
macroimage
Goldmember
2,169 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Aug 2007
     
Aug 10, 2012 23:25 |  #108

mrkgoo wrote in post #14833635 (external link)
I'm curious how a lens firmware will be applied. Thy mention it will be downloadable suggesting we can apply it ourselves. What about the big whites which need firmware - don't you have to send those in to canon?


Last time (external link) they did have to go to Canon, yes.


Photo Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
v35skyline
Goldmember
3,572 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Apr 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
     
Aug 11, 2012 12:09 |  #109

mrkgoo wrote in post #14833635 (external link)
As I suspected, powering off completely would fix it. To be Horst, I have not experienced the issue since a few times that first week I got it. I think it's because I have been very careful to stow te lens back at infinity.

I'm curious how a lens firmware will be applied. Thy mention it will be downloadable suggesting we can apply it ourselves. What about the big whites which need firmware - don't you have to send those in to canon?

Not for me.


X100s | X-Pro1 | X-T1 | XF 14 | XF 18 | XF 35 | XF 56 | XF 60 | XF 10-24
Gear List & Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 197
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Aug 11, 2012 13:40 |  #110

v35skyline wrote in post #14844485 (external link)
Not for me.

Nor me, i had to take it off the camera and remount it, but its only happened the once so im not too bothered about this fix.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mrkgoo
Goldmember
2,289 posts
Joined Aug 2006
     
Aug 11, 2012 15:12 |  #111

dave_bass5 wrote in post #14844796 (external link)
Nor me, i had to take it off the camera and remount it, but its only happened the once so im not too bothered about this fix.

Did you completely power it off by removing the battery for ten seconds?


Also, it would be crappy if I had to send in the lens. The announcement did say the firmware would be downloadable, implying we can apply it.

Maybe it's just a camera firmware, making sure to 'reset' if the lens position artificially changes.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N.V.M.
Goldmember
Avatar
2,686 posts
Likes: 10320
Joined Sep 2010
Location: North Vancouver,Canada
     
Aug 14, 2012 18:39 as a reply to  @ mrkgoo's post |  #112

happened to me twice now, had it for 3 days... :cry:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N.V.M.
Goldmember
Avatar
2,686 posts
Likes: 10320
Joined Sep 2010
Location: North Vancouver,Canada
     
Aug 14, 2012 20:22 as a reply to  @ N.V.M.'s post |  #113

sorry for the double post, but will the lens firmware be through the camera or does it have to be done to just the lens itself by a tech?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Invertalon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,495 posts
Likes: 21
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
     
Aug 14, 2012 20:50 |  #114

I tried to forcefully get mine to act up, but it still worked like a champ. Pushed on the barrel while focusing, played with a CPL mounted to it, etc... Never once locked up.


-Steve
Facebook (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 197
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Aug 15, 2012 04:27 |  #115

mrkgoo wrote in post #14845100 (external link)
Did you completely power it off by removing the battery for ten seconds?


Also, it would be crappy if I had to send in the lens. The announcement did say the firmware would be downloadable, implying we can apply it.

Maybe it's just a camera firmware, making sure to 'reset' if the lens position artificially changes.

Yes I took the battery out and gave it a few secs. Maybe it would have worked if I had left it longer but removing the lens and remounting takes less than 10 secs so I'm happy to do that instead.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N.V.M.
Goldmember
Avatar
2,686 posts
Likes: 10320
Joined Sep 2010
Location: North Vancouver,Canada
     
Aug 16, 2012 06:39 as a reply to  @ dave_bass5's post |  #116

my lens is being returned saturday. i may as well wait for an updated copy than pay one way shipping and wait for Canon to do mine.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dtufino
Goldmember
4,040 posts
Likes: 604
Joined Apr 2006
Location: New York Gritty
     
Aug 16, 2012 07:55 as a reply to  @ post 14677868 |  #117

My Shorty40 is Strange.....

On my 7D i cannot manual focus when shooting video unless i manually set the lens to M mode (manual).... then i can manually focus... with it on Auto, i cannot use the Focus ring....

On my 5D MKII i can manually focus on both M and A modes on the lens....

Serial #: 9001001245


-David T.
www.dtufinophoto.com (external link)

@dtufino_photo (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 197
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Aug 16, 2012 08:58 |  #118

Are you talking about video on both or only on one camera?
Have you got the back button set for AF? This will allow full MF no matter what the switch is set to on the lens.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dtufino
Goldmember
4,040 posts
Likes: 604
Joined Apr 2006
Location: New York Gritty
     
Aug 16, 2012 09:01 |  #119

dave_bass5 wrote in post #14865682 (external link)
Are you talking about video on both or only on one camera?
Have you got the back button set for AF? This will allow full MF no matter what the switch is set to on the lens.

no works fine on the 5D mkii!

On my 7D, i need to push the switch to Manual Mode on the lens to actually manually focus....

What Back Button are you referring to?


-David T.
www.dtufinophoto.com (external link)

@dtufino_photo (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 197
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Aug 16, 2012 09:11 |  #120

So to be clear, video on the 5D has full time MF but not the 7D?

There is a custom function to move focus to one of the buttons on the back of the camera. On my 60D you can set it indipendently for both video and stills. Once you do this the lens will have full time MF, as well as working in AF when the button is pressed.
I'm wondering if maybe the 5D has this set as default but not the 7D, or maybe it's been changed on the 7D.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

30,394 views & 0 likes for this thread
AF problems with your 40mm Pancake? Please post your Serial Number.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gardenchefs
973 guests, 298 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.