Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 14 Aug 2012 (Tuesday) 06:10
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2X converter will not work with 70-200 2.8

 
MortenG
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Dec 2010
     
Aug 14, 2012 06:10 |  #1

Autofocus will not work when I use my Canon 2x converter with a Canon 70-200 f2.8 IS lens. Last time I tried this used this combo, about a year ago, autofocus worked great. What can the problem be? My camera is a 5D mkII




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
regatta
Senior Member
342 posts
Joined Jul 2011
Location: St. Pete Beach, Florida
     
Aug 14, 2012 06:24 |  #2

Can you dismount and remount it again?


Sam
7D and saving for 600mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DavidR
Goldmember
1,543 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 61
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Titusville, Florida
     
Aug 14, 2012 06:51 |  #3

Also try cleaning the contacts on the 2X, lens, and the body.


M10 - ZM 21mm - Elmarit 28mm-CV - Nokton 50mm f/1.2 - Elmarit 90mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bob_r
Goldmember
2,452 posts
Gallery: 23 photos
Likes: 663
Joined Aug 2006
Location: West Tennessee, USA
     
Aug 14, 2012 11:20 |  #4

Do you have the aperture set to f/2.8?


Canon 7D, 5D, 35L, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, 135L, 200L, 10-22, 17-55, 70-300, 100-400L, 500D, 580EX(2).
Sigma 150 macro, 1.4X, 2X, Quantaray 2X, Kenko closeup tubes, Yongnuo YN685(3), Yongnuo YN-622C-TX. Lots of studio stuff.
** Image Editing OK **

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Aug 14, 2012 11:39 |  #5

bob_r wrote in post #14857282 (external link)
Do you have the aperture set to f/2.8?

Just curious, but why would that matter? Once you mount the f/2.8 lens with 2X attached the camera will show f/5.6 as the widest aperture. :D

Sounds to me like a dirty contact on the t-con (or the AF switch on the lens has accidentally been changed to MF).


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roroco
Senior Member
647 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Aug 14, 2012 12:11 |  #6

Clean the contacts and make sure you turn you camera off before mounting the 2X and the 70-200. If that doesn't work, one of the lenses may be defective.


Roger
Gear List: 5D Mark III -- 50mm f/1.4 -- 85mm f1.8 -- 100mm f/2.8L IS Macro -- 17-40mm f/4L -- Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 VC -- 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II -- 2.0X III TC

Lights -- Alien Bees B800 -- 580 EX II -- Yongnuo YN-560 II & YN-568EX -- Mother Nature -- RF 602s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeWa
Senior Member
Avatar
879 posts
Gallery: 89 photos
Likes: 235
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Seattle Washington
     
Aug 14, 2012 12:29 as a reply to  @ Roroco's post |  #7

Do you have another lens you can test this extender with?

Mike


Mike...G9; 7D; 7D Mark II; EF-S 10-22mm; EF-S 18-135mm IS STM; EF 28-300mm F3.5-5.6L; EF 70-300mm IS USM; EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS-II; EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS; EXT 1.4-II & 2.0-III; The more I learn the less I know.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Christina.DazzleByDesign
Goldmember
Avatar
1,973 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2012
     
Aug 14, 2012 15:30 |  #8

Bob_A wrote in post #14857347 (external link)
Just curious, but why would that matter? Once you mount the f/2.8 lens with 2X attached the camera will show f/5.6 as the widest aperture. :D

Sounds to me like a dirty contact on the t-con (or the AF switch on the lens has accidentally been changed to MF).

Because if the OP had the aperture set to something like f/5.6 initially, the 2X would bump it to f/8 would it not? OP would have to drop it down again to its widest of f/5.6 with the 2X attached.


5D3 | 7D | 85L II | 70-300L | 24-105L | Nifty Fifty | 600EX-RT_______________
| Facebook (external link) | Website (external link) | Gear List |Flickr (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DavidR
Goldmember
1,543 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 61
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Titusville, Florida
     
Aug 14, 2012 15:38 |  #9

Christina.DazzleByDesi​gn wrote in post #14858303 (external link)
Because if the OP had the aperture set to something like f/5.6 initially, the 2X would bump it to f/8 would it not? OP would have to drop it down again to its widest of f/5.6 with the 2X attached.

No that is incorrect, it will still be f/5.6


M10 - ZM 21mm - Elmarit 28mm-CV - Nokton 50mm f/1.2 - Elmarit 90mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,632 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Likes: 442
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Aug 14, 2012 15:45 |  #10

Christina.DazzleByDesi​gn wrote in post #14858303 (external link)
Because if the OP had the aperture set to something like f/5.6 initially, the 2X would bump it to f/8 would it not? OP would have to drop it down again to its widest of f/5.6 with the 2X attached.

it would still focus at 2.8 + converter - it will not stop down until he either hits the shutter button all the way, or the preview button that's usually near the lens mount


EOS R / 7D2 / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Christina.DazzleByDesign
Goldmember
Avatar
1,973 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2012
     
Aug 14, 2012 15:49 |  #11

DavidR wrote in post #14858341 (external link)
No that is incorrect, it will still be f/5.6

Oh ok gotcha :) I have very little experience with TC's, guess I was misinformed!


5D3 | 7D | 85L II | 70-300L | 24-105L | Nifty Fifty | 600EX-RT_______________
| Facebook (external link) | Website (external link) | Gear List |Flickr (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Aug 14, 2012 16:23 |  #12

Christina.DazzleByDesi​gn wrote in post #14858386 (external link)
Oh ok gotcha :) I have very little experience with TC's, guess I was misinformed!

No problem Christina :)

Here's a guide for the Canon 1.4X: http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …ts/canon1_4xExt​ender.html (external link) I find it interesting that the 70-200 f/2.8L only AF's with the center AF point yet all AF points work with the 70-200 f/4L. It's not a typo either, I used to have the f/4L and the 1.4X and indeed all AF points worked.

and one for the Canon 2X: http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …arts/canon2xExt​ender.html (external link) Notice that because you lose two stops with the 2X, the 70-200 f/4L no longer AF's, since the widest aperture is f/8.


OP: Check that the 5D MKII is set to the center focusing point.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jimewall
Goldmember
1,871 posts
Likes: 11
Joined May 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
     
Aug 14, 2012 16:29 as a reply to  @ Bob_A's post |  #13

MortenG did any of the suggestions work?


Thanks for Reading & Good Luck - Jim
GEAR

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MortenG
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Dec 2010
     
Aug 21, 2012 15:10 as a reply to  @ jimewall's post |  #14

Thanks for your posts. I have tried all your suggestions, unfortunately AF will still not work when I use the converter on my 70-200 2.8 IS. Today I tried the extender on my friends 5D with his 70-200 f4 and AF worked properly. I think I will let the Canon serviceteam look at it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lnguyen1203
Senior Member
319 posts
Joined Nov 2011
     
Aug 21, 2012 17:56 |  #15

did you check to see if the switch on the 70-200 set to AF? From time to time I bumped the switch on my 300mm f2.8 and danged the AF does not work, then I check the AF switch and every time it got bump to MF. Good luck.


lnguyen1203, Canon 1DX, 5D3, T3i, 500L f4 II, 70-300L f4.0-5.6, 16-35L f2.8, 1.4X II, 2X III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,714 views & 0 likes for this thread
2X converter will not work with 70-200 2.8
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gabrielkmusic
1108 guests, 206 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.