Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 00:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!

 
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,480 posts
Gallery: 108 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5575
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Aug 16, 2012 10:03 |  #1126

Peter2516 wrote in post #14865832 (external link)
I tried it and it works just follow step by step just teamspeed stated. Wow amazing. Thank you awesome guy. You are such a big help in this thread. Kudos to you sir.

Lol, just keepin' it going, eh? :lol:

I will see your reply and raise you this.... :D


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock
For Sale: Ladies Thirty-One Camera Sling

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Peter2516
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,302 posts
Gallery: 949 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 24287
Joined Oct 2010
Location: State of Washington
     
Aug 16, 2012 10:07 |  #1127

TeamSpeed wrote in post #14865986 (external link)
Lol, just keepin' it going, eh? :lol:

I will see your reply and raise you this.... :D

Now you have to reveal how you got that man...:D

Mine says 5753 shutter counts.


Peter
http://www.flickriver.​com/photos/peterbangay​an (external link)
EOS 5D Mark IV, 1Dx1, 7D Mark I & II/Canon T2i Gripped/EF 500mm f/4L IS USM MK1 / EF70-200mm f2.8L IS II USM / EF100 -400 f4.5-5.6L USM/ EFS 10-22mm/EFS 17-55mm/EFS 18-200mm/Canon 1.4x II/Canon 2x III/ 430EXII / 580EXII.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
strobe ­ monkey
Goldmember
Avatar
1,234 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Arizona
     
Aug 16, 2012 10:36 |  #1128

after updating my firmware to v2, I still have the same problem..

my pictures are still crap!


6D, 7D, EF35 f2, EF50 f1.4, EF50 f1.8
Sold:
EF 70-200 F4, EF 24-105L, EF 24-70L, EF 17-40L, EF 85 f1.8, Stigma 10-20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jodelak
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,463 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
     
Aug 16, 2012 11:30 |  #1129

Madwrench wrote in post #14862228 (external link)
I did that sequence and the ghost of Ansel Adams came out of the camera, slapped the sh*t out of me, told me to go take some pictures, and then left with my wife.

this cracks me up!


... does it really matter?i see with my eyes, i shoot with my fingers.
My Flickr Page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jodelak
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,463 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
     
Aug 16, 2012 11:36 |  #1130

Peter2516 wrote in post #14865832 (external link)
I tried it and it works just follow step by step just teamspeed stated. Wow amazing. Thank you awesome guy. You are such a big help in this thread. Kudos to you sir.

Peter, follow teamspeed's procedure and then activate built-in flash and voila! your camera will work just like james bond's sunglasses, you will see naked people :D


... does it really matter?i see with my eyes, i shoot with my fingers.
My Flickr Page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
waterrockets
Goldmember
Avatar
3,927 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 264
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Austin (near TX)
     
Aug 16, 2012 12:44 |  #1131

Peter2516 wrote in post #14865999 (external link)
Now you have to reveal how you got that man...:D

Mine says 5753 shutter counts.

Holy crap, I've put that on a body in two weeks.


1D MkIV | 1D MkIII | 550D w/grip & ML| EF 70-200mm f2.8L| EF 24-105mm f4L IS | Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS | Samyang 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC | 430EXii | EF 50mm f1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Peter2516
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,302 posts
Gallery: 949 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 24287
Joined Oct 2010
Location: State of Washington
     
Aug 16, 2012 13:35 |  #1132

jodelak wrote in post #14866312 (external link)
Peter, follow teamspeed's procedure and then activate built-in flash and voila! your camera will work just like james bond's sunglasses, you will see naked people :D

I did and it did, I saw naked are just the villains from the movie. Lol


Peter
http://www.flickriver.​com/photos/peterbangay​an (external link)
EOS 5D Mark IV, 1Dx1, 7D Mark I & II/Canon T2i Gripped/EF 500mm f/4L IS USM MK1 / EF70-200mm f2.8L IS II USM / EF100 -400 f4.5-5.6L USM/ EFS 10-22mm/EFS 17-55mm/EFS 18-200mm/Canon 1.4x II/Canon 2x III/ 430EXII / 580EXII.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
Aug 16, 2012 14:09 |  #1133

DreamMaker23 wrote in post #14865449 (external link)
Yea it's nice..But for some reason..
Everything seems the same for me! Yes i'm on 2.0.0..
Only thing that bugs me is that I can not control the audio while recording.
I have to do it before I start recording. Kinda, of a BUM move Canon!

It's fine when recording in neutral environment, but if you walk in a place where music is playing. (You are toast)

You will have to stop the video recording and adjust. :confused:

I don't believe any of the Canons offer this, maybe the 5D MkIII but someone would have to confirm.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,480 posts
Gallery: 108 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5575
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Aug 16, 2012 16:16 |  #1134

Peter2516 wrote in post #14865999 (external link)
Now you have to reveal how you got that man...:D

Mine says 5753 shutter counts.

It was a completely different sequence of button pushes than the one I posted, I can assure you that. :D


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock
For Sale: Ladies Thirty-One Camera Sling

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kfreels
Goldmember
Avatar
4,297 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Princeton, IN
     
Aug 16, 2012 21:48 |  #1135

TeamSpeed wrote in post #14856310 (external link)
Wow another undocumented feature with this upgrade...

Hold down Q, then hit these in order: DOF Preview, Review, Set, turn rear dial 5 clicks, and let go of Q, press set again, and you get a diagnostics screen showing shutter count and some other strange values the techs must be able to understand.

Wow, Canon is awesome with this firmware update :D :) :lol:

Well, I just did this and I got three extra lives and a 20% battery pack extension.


I am serious....and don't call me Shirley.
Canon 7D and a bunch of other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
waterrockets
Goldmember
Avatar
3,927 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 264
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Austin (near TX)
     
Aug 16, 2012 22:26 |  #1136

joeblack2022 wrote in post #14866986 (external link)
I don't believe any of the Canons offer this, maybe the 5D MkIII but someone would have to confirm.

You can with bodies running Magic Lantern...


1D MkIV | 1D MkIII | 550D w/grip & ML| EF 70-200mm f2.8L| EF 24-105mm f4L IS | Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS | Samyang 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC | 430EXii | EF 50mm f1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
takai
Member
166 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
     
Aug 16, 2012 22:30 |  #1137

pixelbasher wrote in post #14851214 (external link)
Interesting. All my Ma setting were still in place after the update, just the actual real world results had changed.

Went out again this afternoon, and with the new settings it's spot on. So mine definitely needed changing after upgrade. Certainly no placebo there!! The 24-105 is pretty tolerant to a couple of MA points either way, but the 135 sure lets you know quickly if it's not right!

Can't help with your upload issue, I always plug the card into a reader, USB2 is too slow nowdays!

But just as a test, I just plugged mine in via USB, in win7 64 also, and it pops up as usual with all the images under DCIM/100EOS7D as per before. I use the Microsoft raw codec as well so I can see the thumbnails and view them if I like.

I don't have LR, so can't test that for you.

My MFA settings didn't change on firmware upgrade, but FoCal reported different settings when i retested the lenses. My 40mm 2.8 went from -6 to +4, and then 85mm 1.8 went from +3 to -4.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Red ­ Dog
Senior Member
Avatar
868 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 413
Joined Feb 2007
Location: N Ireland
     
Aug 17, 2012 04:32 |  #1138

Got caught short the other night after updating the firmware I was transferring pics from the 7D to my laptop during International football match and all the photos appeared as blank spaces in EOS Utility - nothing to download, but all visable on back of LCD screen. Shut down the camera, disconnected it from laptop and retried. Exact same outcome.
Decided to forget about the 7D at that stage until I got home.
Re-visited download site and did update for EOS Utility and Zoombrowser and hay presto all back to normal. Moral of story, after updating firmware always check if other utilities have also been updated and don't get caught short as I did. Lesson learnt. Lucky it was my back-up camera for close ups which weren't critical.


www.portadownfc.co.uk (external link)
Canon 1DX +1D Mkiv - Canon 300 IS F2.8 + Sigma 70-200 F2.8 & 120-300 f2.8
My Gallery: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/actionpix/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,035 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 286
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Aug 17, 2012 05:21 as a reply to  @ Red Dog's post |  #1139

Canon did at least state in the upgrade info that you also had to update the support software.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Red ­ Dog
Senior Member
Avatar
868 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 413
Joined Feb 2007
Location: N Ireland
     
Aug 17, 2012 05:50 |  #1140

apersson850 wrote in post #14869625 (external link)
Canon did at least state in the upgrade info that you also had to update the support software.

Unfortunately didn't take time to read all the supporting blog. Sure it didn't matter so much it was only Finland pictures! ;)


www.portadownfc.co.uk (external link)
Canon 1DX +1D Mkiv - Canon 300 IS F2.8 + Sigma 70-200 F2.8 & 120-300 f2.8
My Gallery: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/actionpix/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

234,272 views & 0 likes for this thread
New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is morris scott
1861 guests, 298 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.