Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Guest
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Lenses 
Thread started 18 Oct 2011 (Tuesday) 02:36
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

Microadjust Software for 5D2

 
TheRightLight
Senior Member
Avatar
295 posts
Joined Apr 2012
     
Aug 22, 2012 14:19 |  #1246
bannedPermanent ban

Also, how far away do I have to be to calibrate a 300mm lens on a crop body? Is there a reference guide anywhere?


Marketplace Feedback:
As a Seller: One. Two. Three. As a Buyer: Link.
My Ebay Account: 100% Positive Feedback. (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
footman
Senior Member
Avatar
258 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 180
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Camberley UK
     
Aug 22, 2012 14:28 |  #1247

@tdodd

Tim, I'm interested to see that you've tested using the Kenko 1.4x TC.
I recalibrated some lenses today because the light actually seemed consistent for a change, the software worked fine with my 300 F4 but when I attached the TC I got an error message that calibration was not possible citing poor body, lens or other conditions.

Perversely it worked fine calibrating my 500mm with same teleconverter.


My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tdodd
Goldmember
Avatar
3,733 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
     
Aug 22, 2012 14:36 |  #1248

Frank covered it in his reply. FoCal comes with documentation in the download about setup for lighting, distance etc.. Maybe it is on the website too. I don't know. I haven't looked.

EDIT : I've looked. Here you go - https://dl.dropbox.com …20Test%20Distan​ce_1.0.pdf (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tdodd
Goldmember
Avatar
3,733 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
     
Aug 22, 2012 14:40 |  #1249

@Laurence. I don't know why there would be a problem. I used the TC with a 135/2, 70-200/2.8L IS I and a Sigma 120-300/2.8 OS. With my 100L Macro it goes mental and won't focus at all, with or without FoCal.

One possible suggestion - make sure you fit the TC to the lens first and then fit the pair to the body.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
footman
Senior Member
Avatar
258 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 180
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Camberley UK
     
Aug 22, 2012 14:50 |  #1250

tdodd wrote in post #14892866 (external link)
@Laurence. I don't know why there would be a problem. I used the TC with a 135/2, 70-200/2.8L IS I and a Sigma 120-300/2.8 OS. With my 100L Macro it goes mental and won't focus at all, with or without FoCal.

One possible suggestion - make sure you fit the TC to the lens first and then fit the pair to the body.

Thanks Tim, I'm pretty sure I did it the other way round so I'll try again.


My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RAW-Shooter
Senior Member
Avatar
912 posts
Likes: 95
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
     
Aug 22, 2012 21:48 |  #1251

TheRightLight wrote in post #14892495 (external link)
I've got a 50D coming in the mail and I was dead-set on purchasing this software a few days ago.

Now, I'm not so sure. There seem to be *far* too many variables at play here to ensure any kind of accuracy, and that's pretty depressing. (Examples being: 1. Distance from the target. 2. Ensuring that the target is parallel to the image sensor 3. Finding the right kind of light. 4. Obtaining the appropriate *amount* of light. 5. Choosing ideal aperture settings. 6. Choosing ideal exposure compensation settings. 7. Choosing the right printer and paper to use for a testing target...and more.)

The last nail in the coffin might be this: I own a *desktop* and I absolutely can not take this outside.

Is this all just a big giant waste of time for me?

None of this is actually accurate as other have pointed out already. 5 and 6 are not even for you to decide, really. All tests are ideally run with aperture wide open and no exposure compensation.

All my portable devices are Android, so I was in the same boat. I just went out and got a 60 feet USB cable. No problem at all.

The time "wasted" can only be answered by one person and that would be you.

Cheers.


BoKo
Olympus OM-D E-M1X | Oly 12-60mm f/2.8-4 SWD | Oly 40-150 f/2.8 PRO | Oly 300mm f/4 PRO | and a bunch of good old manual lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RAW-Shooter
Senior Member
Avatar
912 posts
Likes: 95
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
     
Aug 22, 2012 21:53 |  #1252

TheRightLight wrote in post #14892782 (external link)
Also, how far away do I have to be to calibrate a 300mm lens on a crop body? Is there a reference guide anywhere?

20 to 50 times the FL = 6m - 15m or 20ft - 50ft

You can also just print the target at any size you want, put it at any distance you want and just enter the length of the printed top bar into the software.
Done.

It is that easy.

Cheers.


BoKo
Olympus OM-D E-M1X | Oly 12-60mm f/2.8-4 SWD | Oly 40-150 f/2.8 PRO | Oly 300mm f/4 PRO | and a bunch of good old manual lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TheRightLight
Senior Member
Avatar
295 posts
Joined Apr 2012
     
Aug 22, 2012 22:06 |  #1253
bannedPermanent ban

RAW-Shooter wrote in post #14894471 (external link)
20 to 50 times the FL = 6m - 15m or 20ft - 50ft

You can also just print the target at any size you want, put it at any distance you want and just enter the length of the printed top bar into the software.
Done.

It is that easy.

Cheers.

I see you shoot a 50D as well.

Has this software made a *real* impact on your lenses?


Marketplace Feedback:
As a Seller: One. Two. Three. As a Buyer: Link.
My Ebay Account: 100% Positive Feedback. (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Todd ­ Lambert
I don't like titles
Avatar
12,643 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 131
Joined May 2009
Location: On The Roads Across America
     
Aug 22, 2012 22:11 |  #1254

If nothing more, it reaffirms what I already knew about my lenses just from usage.

But it's also allowed me to adjust both ends of my zoom lenses on my 5D3, which has done wonders for some of my glass.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jdetmold
Senior Member
Avatar
428 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
     
Aug 22, 2012 22:44 |  #1255

TheRightLight wrote in post #14894518 (external link)
I see you shoot a 50D as well.

Has this software made a *real* impact on your lenses?

i have a 50d and a 5d3 i have not tried it with the 5d3 yet but it has worked great for my 50d
if your thinking about buying it find the review link i posted a few pages back and it will save you a bit of money... might make your decision easier

edit: looks like they removed the discount page


-Jeff
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tdodd
Goldmember
Avatar
3,733 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
     
Aug 23, 2012 03:33 |  #1256

TheRightLight wrote in post #14894518 (external link)
I see you shoot a 50D as well.

Has this software made a *real* impact on your lenses?

It will only make an impact if you have a calibration problem to begin with. If you know you have problems with front or back focus this might help you fix it. If you're happy with your focus already then it would seem a waste of time to purchase unless you are attracted by some of the additional features, like sharpest aperture analysis or dust bunny analysis.

As far as calibration goes you can employ more labour intensive methods if you like, but FoCal can speed things along and give a much higher confidence in the outcome as you can see any performance inconsistencies in the graph that is plotted (at least in the Pro version). With more manual methods I think it is hard to account for spurious focus results which might lead you astray or cause frustration. The AFMA calibration graph plotted by FoCal gives a very visual clue to how reliable/repeatable your focus results are. If the graph is all over the place then you know you'll have a hard time getting that body/lens to perform well in the real world when used wide open. If you get a smooth bell curve then you get a warm fuzzy feeling about the precision of your gear.

Even if the calibration is off, so long as the AF performance in reliable/repeatable then it should be easy to correct. It's really no different to adjusting the sights on a rifle. Tight grouping which is just off centre can easily be fixed by a small adjustment. Wild shots which hit all over the target really can't be saved by adjusting the sights. There is a more fundamental problem to be resolved.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RAW-Shooter
Senior Member
Avatar
912 posts
Likes: 95
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
     
Aug 23, 2012 13:33 |  #1257

TheRightLight wrote in post #14894518 (external link)
I see you shoot a 50D as well.

Has this software made a *real* impact on your lenses?

No offense, but micro adjust does not effect lenses at all. It just corrects AF in the camera. sure enough, it makes only sense if you actually set MA in the "per lens" mode as opposed to a general (for all lenses) setting.

Yes, I feel that I got the last bit of performance out of the 50D now that I have my MA set for the lenses I own.

Cheers.


BoKo
Olympus OM-D E-M1X | Oly 12-60mm f/2.8-4 SWD | Oly 40-150 f/2.8 PRO | Oly 300mm f/4 PRO | and a bunch of good old manual lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ouessant
Senior Member
741 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Versailles, France
     
Sep 04, 2012 05:44 |  #1258

I'm having serious problems with FoCal Plus v.1.6.0.141

After a while I get following error message : "License error - Please ensure your system clock is correct - (Code1) "
Then I have to wait several hours before it works again.

Yesterday I got another error message (about AE stuff or something like that) and Focal began acting up.
Each time I mounted a lens on my 7D, the MA setting in the camera menu was -92 (!) and I got an awfully blurred image in the viewfinder. Unmounted and re-mounted the lens, image was still blurry. Tried another lens, image was still blurry.
Also, the MA settings I had entered previously were gone back to 0. I had to disconnect the camera from the computer, then turn it off and on to get things working properly.

I have never encountered such problems with previous versions and I don't understand how it can set the MA to -92 in the camera, which results in a heavy blur, both in the viewfinder and on the pictures I take. ???

I tried to repair and reinstall FoCal, but no change : after I have calibrated 2 or 3 lenses the software just stops working and messes everything up.


Fran├žois
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon ­ Bob
Goldmember
2,063 posts
Likes: 52
Joined May 2007
Location: Poitou-Charentes, France
     
Sep 04, 2012 13:31 |  #1259

Are you by any chance running the new Firmware on your 7D Francois ?

Bob


1Dx2 (2), 5DSR, 1Ds3, 1D4, 5D2(590nm), 5D2(720nm) EF600 EF400 EF300-II EF300 EF200 EF200-II EF180L EF135L EF100 EF85-II EF50L TS-E17/4 TS-E24L-II TS-E45 TS-E90 MP-E65 EF70-200-II EF24-70/2.8-II EF16-35/4 EF8-15/4 EF11-24/4 Zeiss 15/2.8 21/2.8 25/2 28/2 35/1.4 35/2 50/2 85/1.4 100/2 135/2 T/C's L-SC & a WIFE!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ouessant
Senior Member
741 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Versailles, France
     
Sep 04, 2012 14:11 |  #1260

Hi Bob, apparently we like to hang out on the same forums ! Thanks again for my Camera Axe ;-)a

Yes, I've updated my firmware but I'm not sure that's where the problem comes from, since FoCal keeps displaying all sorts of weird error messages.

Fortunately, it looks like my 7D works properly now, and that's a good thing because I'm flying to Madagascar in a few days and it would have been disastrous if the 7D had been out of order.

But I would like to MA all my lenses on my 5D3 too, and FoCal is acting weirdly since I updated to 1.6.0 so I don't know if it's a good idea to use it with the 5D3.


Fran├žois
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

245,135 views & 0 likes for this thread, 249 members have posted to it and it is followed by 5 members.
Microadjust Software for 5D2
FORUMS Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Forums   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset   •  Home

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.58forum software
version 2.58 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Tacbeardpics
518 guests, 204 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15,144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.