Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 Jun 2012 (Thursday) 00:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!

 
wizard13
Goldmember
Avatar
1,169 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Western NY
     
Aug 22, 2012 17:41 |  #1171

BB Snapshots wrote in post #14891483 (external link)
I have the same exact issue. I have cleared my settings, (although I don't think that is going to do anything), and I've reinstalled the firmware. So far I haven't had any freezes, but I haven't been able to shoot much - just keeping it by my desk at work and testing it out. (Shoot, let it go to sleep, shoot, let it go to sleep - no issues yet.)

Note: on the second firmware update I did two things differently than the first time:

1.) I took off my canon battery grip and only used a single battery. (My theory being - the issue could be related to the grip.)

2.) I powered down and took the battery out after hitting "OK" that the firmware was installed. Last time I updated the date/time/location before turning off and removing battery for 10s. (Instructions say 2s, but hey - I'm trying to fix my baby here!)

I'll keep you updated if I have any freezing issues after the second installation.

Cheers,
Brian


Thanks for the suggestion. I will try to reinstall without the grip and see what happens. It is weird though because it can so to 'sleep' and wake up most times then right in the middle of using the camera it will freeze. So sometimes after sitting and sometimes while using.
Will have to try tonight--


Photography = a constant learning process
Website (external link) || Facebook (external link) || Gear/Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Redfire427
Member
114 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 3
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
     
Aug 22, 2012 20:15 |  #1172

I had the same error this past weekend. I have never had an error in the 9 months I have owned the camera, so my conclusion is that it must be the firmware update. I will change my auto-power off function to "off" and see if that fixes it.

Carmen


Canon 5D Mark III /// 7D : 24-70 f2.8L /// 70-200 f2.8L IS /// 24-105 f4L IS ///100-400L f4.5-5.6 IS /// 10-22 EF-S /// 50mm f1.8 /// 580 EX II /// ST-E2 /// 2X tele-converter

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BB ­ Snapshots
Goldmember
Avatar
1,805 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 614
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
     
Aug 22, 2012 22:17 |  #1173

BB Snapshots wrote in post #14891483 (external link)
I have the same exact issue. I have cleared my settings, (although I don't think that is going to do anything), and I've reinstalled the firmware. So far I haven't had any freezes, but I haven't been able to shoot much - just keeping it by my desk at work and testing it out. (Shoot, let it go to sleep, shoot, let it go to sleep - no issues yet.)

Note: on the second firmware update I did two things differently than the first time:

1.) I took off my canon battery grip and only used a single battery. (My theory being - the issue could be related to the grip.)

2.) I powered down and took the battery out after hitting "OK" that the firmware was installed. Last time I updated the date/time/location before turning off and removing battery for 10s. (Instructions say 2s, but hey - I'm trying to fix my baby here!)

I'll keep you updated if I have any freezing issues after the second installation.

Cheers,
Brian

UPDATE:

So far so good! I have kept my camera on at work today, snapping photos and letting it go back to sleep, no freezes.

(The assumption being that the auto-shut off is the point at which the camera is having issues. People have reported changing the auto power off to "OFF" or to a higher value than "1 MIN" has fixed things. Please note that I have left mine at "1 MIN".)

Tonight I got out for some new long exposures and some handhelds for some actual shooting. Again - no issues.

For now, it seems that following this new procedure has cured my freezing issue! :D

If anything changes I'll be sure to update you guys.

Cheers,
Brian


Brian Buckler
Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | Brian Buckler Photography (external link) | Like my page on Facebook! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mihael.mafy
Hatchling
Avatar
5 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Europe
     
Aug 22, 2012 22:36 |  #1174

Problem (Europe, Germany)
The body just stop working, then I have tried to shutdown but the body is still alive whiteout soul.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


5D Classic | 5D mk2 |5D mk3 | 7D
16-35mm f2.8 L | 24mm f1.4 L | 50mm 1.2 L | 85mm 1.2 L | 100mm f2.8 L | 135mm f2 L | 70-200mm f2.8 IS L | 300mm 2.8 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeG2012
Senior Member
335 posts
Gallery: 20 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 61
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Aug 22, 2012 22:40 |  #1175

mihael.mafy wrote in post #14894610 (external link)
Problem (Europe, Germany)
The body just stop working, then I have tried to shutdown but the body is still alive whiteout soul.

This happened to me.

Take out the battery's and that should do it. Worked for me. Only happened once so hopefully its just a random glitch. Also try formatting the card once you get the body working again.

Mike


Mike Glatzer Photography (external link)
5D3 | EF 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II | EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS | EF 24-105 f/4 L IS | EF 16-35 f/2.8 L | Ʃ 35 f/1.4 | EF 50 f/1.2 L | EF 85 f/1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mihael.mafy
Hatchling
Avatar
5 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Europe
     
Aug 22, 2012 22:44 |  #1176

MikeG2012 wrote in post #14894622 (external link)
This happened to me.

Take out the battery's and that should do it. Worked for me. Only happened once so hopefully its just a random glitch. Also try formatting the card once you get the body working again.

Mike

I have done that ;)
Today

Tnx Mike

I'm posting just the pictures :)


5D Classic | 5D mk2 |5D mk3 | 7D
16-35mm f2.8 L | 24mm f1.4 L | 50mm 1.2 L | 85mm 1.2 L | 100mm f2.8 L | 135mm f2 L | 70-200mm f2.8 IS L | 300mm 2.8 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
javierz0509
Senior Member
Avatar
744 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Miami FL
     
Aug 22, 2012 23:50 |  #1177

how did you guys get that to happen? that did not happen to me.


Follow me on Facebook (external link) - Canon 5D MK3 - 85mm f/1.8 - 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lonewolf41
Member
38 posts
Joined May 2010
     
Aug 23, 2012 07:28 |  #1178

Does anybody here know if you can go back to the previous firmware? I haven't had any problems yet but I'm starting to think I should of waited a couple of months before all the bugs got worked out.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
-dave-m-
Senior Member
491 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 49
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
     
Aug 23, 2012 08:20 |  #1179

lonewolf41 wrote in post #14895649 (external link)
Does anybody here know if you can go back to the previous firmware? I haven't had any problems yet but I'm starting to think I should of waited a couple of months before all the bugs got worked out.

Are you having any issues since you updated? If not why would you flash back. My 7D hasn't had a glitch since the update, if you read through this thread take note of how many updated and how many report problems.

AFAIK once you installed 2.0.0 you can not go back.


5D MkII Gripped | 7D MkII Gripped | 200 f/2.8L | 17-40 f/4L | Σ 24-105 OS f/4 Art | Σ 50 f/1.4 Art | Σ 150-600 OS f/5-6.3 C | 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
waterrockets
Goldmember
Avatar
3,927 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 264
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Austin (near TX)
     
Aug 23, 2012 08:59 |  #1180

-dave-m- wrote in post #14895800 (external link)
AFAIK once you installed 2.0.0 you can not go back.

Wow, that's weird. I wonder why they'd do that. It does appear to be forward only on the 7D (external link). (deleting my incorrect post above)


1D MkIV | 1D MkIII | 550D w/grip & ML| EF 70-200mm f2.8L| EF 24-105mm f4L IS | Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS | Samyang 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC | 430EXii | EF 50mm f1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
artyman
Sleepless in Hampshire
Avatar
14,402 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 69
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Hampshire UK
     
Aug 23, 2012 09:32 |  #1181

There seems to be various reports of cameras locking up after the upgrade, which may possibly be linked to installation whilst a battery grip is attached. Is there any definite confirmation of this or is this an upgrade that produces random problems on some cameras and not others. I've held off upgrading mine at the moment.


Art that takes you there. http://www.artyman.co.​uk (external link)
Ken
Canon 7D, 350D, 15-85, 18-55, 75-300, Cosina 100 Macro, Sigma 120-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick5
Goldmember
Avatar
3,094 posts
Likes: 192
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
     
Aug 23, 2012 09:41 |  #1182

strobe monkey wrote in post #14866109 (external link)
after updating my firmware to v2, I still have the same problem..

my pictures are still crap!

BADADUMP! Pshhhhhhhhh.......


Canon 5D Mark III (x2), BG-E11 Grips, 7D (x2) BG-E7 Grips, Canon Lenses 16-35 f/4 L IS, 17-40 f/4 L, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 70-200 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/4 L IS Version II, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS Version II, TS-E 24 f/3.5 L II, 100 f/2.8 L Macro IS, 10-22 f3.5-4.5, 17-55 f/2.8 L IS, 85 f/1.8, Canon 1.4 Extender III, 5 Canon 600 EX-RT, 2 Canon ST-E3 Transmitters, Canon Pixma PRO-10 Printer

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
totoyo
Member
Avatar
67 posts
Joined Apr 2011
     
Aug 23, 2012 11:05 |  #1183

artyman wrote in post #14896111 (external link)
There seems to be various reports of cameras locking up after the upgrade, which may possibly be linked to installation whilst a battery grip is attached. Is there any definite confirmation of this or is this an upgrade that produces random problems on some cameras and not others. I've held off upgrading mine at the moment.

Hi, i have a 7D with a Phottix grip and canon original batteries... i instaled the firmware upgrade following the manual (included with the firmware) instructions, my camera has no issues at the moment (at least with that grip and batteries combo).
cheers.


7D + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 + EF 28-70 f/2.8L + EF 50mm f/1.8 + Falcon 8mm f/3.5 fisheye + EF 100mm f/2.8L IS + EF 80-200 f/2.8L "magic drainpipe" + 580 EXII + wish to learn

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DianeK
Senior Member
Avatar
603 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Western Canada
     
Aug 23, 2012 11:09 |  #1184

BB Snapshots wrote in post #14894556 (external link)
UPDATE:

So far so good! I have kept my camera on at work today, snapping photos and letting it go back to sleep, no freezes.

(The assumption being that the auto-shut off is the point at which the camera is having issues. People have reported changing the auto power off to "OFF" or to a higher value than "1 MIN" has fixed things. Please note that I have left mine at "1 MIN".)

Tonight I got out for some new long exposures and some handhelds for some actual shooting. Again - no issues.

For now, it seems that following this new procedure has cured my freezing issue! :D

If anything changes I'll be sure to update you guys.

Cheers,
Brian

Hi Brian. Just wondering about your reinstall procedure. Did you just repeat the install procedure and the firmware was written on top of the already installed firmware even though they are the same version?


Diane
7D | 60D | EF 100mm f/2.8 macro | EF 70-300L IS | EFS 15-85 IS | EFS 10-22 | 430 EXII's | Pocket Wizards | Sony RX100

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pete ­ W
Goldmember
Avatar
1,267 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 147
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Bishops Stortford, Herts. UK
     
Aug 23, 2012 14:40 |  #1185

artyman wrote in post #14896111 (external link)
There seems to be various reports of cameras locking up after the upgrade, which may possibly be linked to installation whilst a battery grip is attached. Is there any definite confirmation of this or is this an upgrade that produces random problems on some cameras and not others. I've held off upgrading mine at the moment.

No problem with my upgrade with Canon Grip Attached.....


All the best
Pete Woods LRPS QGP
My Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

234,009 views & 0 likes for this thread
New 7D firmware released - good upgrades!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is radzinski
990 guests, 295 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.