Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 05 Sep 2012 (Wednesday) 16:39
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help Stacking 30 second exposures in CS5

 
Canon_Shoe
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
Sep 05, 2012 16:39 |  #1

What is the best way to stack around 10 RAW images in CS5? I have some 30 second exposures from last night where I caught some lightning in a few of the images and then when I try to blend the opacity for all of these(a method I read about), the lightning doesn't show up. Can you load them as layers, hit auto align and then stack them somehow?


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 545
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Sep 05, 2012 17:15 |  #2

What method/approach are you using when you say you are trying to blend the layers?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Shoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
Sep 05, 2012 17:33 |  #3

tonylong wrote in post #14952178 (external link)
What method/approach are you using when you say you are trying to blend the layers?

There was a method I read about where you load them all as layers and change the opacity starting at the bottom layer. It's basically the 1 divided the number of the layer, so if you had 4 layers the one on the bottom would be 100%, the one above 50%, then 33.33%, then 25% and so on depending on how many you have. Works pretty well with clouds if the foreground is the same, but not really working for a time lapse type deal like this with lightning without some serious layer masks. Just figured there might be a better way


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 545
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Sep 05, 2012 17:40 |  #4

I don't know about the approach you describe, it doesn't surprise me that you would have trouble!

I guess my "intsinctive" approach would be use masks and just brush in the individual strokes, that's what I've done with focus stacking as well as high dynamic range blending, but I haven't had the opportunity to shoot a thunderstorm.

Another thing you could play with is various layer blending modes, but I don't have much experience with playing with modes, someone else could maybe chime in!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Shoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
Sep 05, 2012 18:14 |  #5

tonylong wrote in post #14952283 (external link)
I don't know about the approach you describe, it doesn't surprise me that you would have trouble!

I guess my "intsinctive" approach would be use masks and just brush in the individual strokes, that's what I've done with focus stacking as well as high dynamic range blending, but I haven't had the opportunity to shoot a thunderstorm.

Another thing you could play with is various layer blending modes, but I don't have much experience with playing with modes, someone else could maybe chime in!

I should have an extra hour or so to play wih this tonight.......I think once you stack all of the layers that don't have the lightning strikes, it fades them away


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Shoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
Sep 05, 2012 18:19 |  #6

Was thinking of trying this and seeing how it works too........
http://earthseaimagery​.wordpress.com …ages-using-photoshop-cs4/ (external link)


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jerr6
Senior Member
Avatar
384 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2011
Location: chicagoland
     
Sep 05, 2012 21:45 |  #7

Canon_Shoe i think the technique you described is used in astrophotography. did you try the blend mode "lighten" ? are you trying to have multiply lightening on one image?


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/astrographer/ (external link)
http://500px.com/jerr6 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Beau ­ Hudspeth
-Cool Title-
Avatar
2,837 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 368
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Aloha, Or.
     
Sep 05, 2012 22:22 |  #8

It can be done fairly easily (as my image below shows) but I do not recall the exact layer set-up I used. I think it was LIGHTEN for most of them.

This is 5.5 minutes of strikes, 30 seconds at a time.

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR

_______________
My FAVORITE ImageGear List

Photoshop Action SetMy Flickr (external link)
_______________

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Shoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
Sep 06, 2012 01:05 |  #9

jerr6 wrote in post #14953231 (external link)
Canon_Shoe i think the technique you described is used in astrophotography. did you try the blend mode "lighten" ? are you trying to have multiply lightening on one image?

Just trying to have everything from the 3 minutes of exposures I took overlap in photoshop like a time lapse. I haven't tried switching the blend mode to lighten yet


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Shoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
Sep 06, 2012 01:06 |  #10

Beau Hudspeth wrote in post #14953395 (external link)
It can be done fairly easily (as my image below shows) but I do not recall the exact layer set-up I used. I think it was LIGHTEN for most of them.

This is 5.5 minutes of strikes, 30 seconds at a time.

IMAGE NOT FOUND
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR

Whoa! Fantastic capture! You just changed the layer mode to lighten is all?


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
boerewors
Goldmember
Avatar
1,948 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Sep 2009
Location: South African living in Indonesia
     
Sep 06, 2012 01:37 |  #11

on cs5 you click "File > Scripts > Load Files into Stack". once done you will see options to automatically align layers and to convert to smart object. click them both. once the stack is complete you then choose your blending method in "Layer > Smart Objects > Stack Mode" and select a stack mode from the sub menu.
some of the explanations of what they do is below. i don't know if any of them will help you for what you need though my guess is you could try median blending:

Mean: Effective for noise reduction
Median: Effective for noise reduction and removal of unwanted content from the image


The most important piece of gear you own, resides in your head and its called your brain.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Sep 08, 2012 11:34 |  #12

boerewors wrote in post #14953928 (external link)
on cs5 you click "File > Scripts > Load Files into Stack". once done you will see options to automatically align layers and to convert to smart object. click them both. once the stack is complete you then choose your blending method in "Layer > Smart Objects > Stack Mode" and select a stack mode from the sub menu.

Stacking is for CS5 extended only. You should use "Maximum" blending.

https://photography-on-the.net …ght=stacking#po​st14907825
http://help.adobe.com …e-8EAB-1384C0B432D3a.html (external link)

If you use PSCS5 (normal version): Yep, blend mode "lighten" will work.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Shoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
Sep 09, 2012 22:25 |  #13

René Damkot wrote in post #14964014 (external link)
Stacking is for CS5 extended only. You should use "Maximum" blending.

https://photography-on-the.net …ght=stacking#po​st14907825
http://help.adobe.com …e-8EAB-1384C0B432D3a.html (external link)

If you use PSCS5 (normal version): Yep, blend mode "lighten" will work.

Thanks! I tried this with maximum blending and it came out just like I wanted it to :)


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,279 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help Stacking 30 second exposures in CS5
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is reservengineer
964 guests, 335 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.