Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 12 Sep 2012 (Wednesday) 09:30
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7D Latest Firmware Ver 2.0.3 Available - Fixes Ver 2.0 Freezing

 
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,246 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 279
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Sep 12, 2012 11:16 |  #16

2.0.0 and 2.0.3 did not effect any of my Custom Functions or selections.


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Wish_Star
Senior Member
Avatar
292 posts
Joined Dec 2010
     
Sep 12, 2012 11:48 |  #17

omer wrote in post #14981153 (external link)
Mike did u upgrade ?
does it make iso 6400 better than 5dlll
Can it boil soup ?
:)

Very nice, Better then 5DMII...!!!:lol::lol::lol:



EOS 6D Gripped, 7D Gripped, : 24L II, 100L IS, 24-105 L IS, 100-400L IS, SX50 HS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dougery
Member
57 posts
Joined Mar 2003
     
Sep 12, 2012 12:10 |  #18

msowsun wrote in post #14981236 (external link)
It did seem a little slower than previous firmware upgrades. Did you notice it too?

Definitely slower...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Sep 12, 2012 12:46 |  #19

Just got to the screen
Update is Complete
Ver 1.25 to 2.0.3 press set for OK
and I thought you then turned the camera off but mine is asking for the date and time.
By the time I'd double checked it. The screen was blank.
So I turned off the camera and waited a couple of minutes and turned it on. It then asked for the date and time and I put this in [albeit out of sequence for the camera but in sequence for the instructions] all seems wel and it takes pictures.
Just interested when yours said Update Complete did it go straight into date and time setting or did your screen turn off [I.e. go black].

I assume as it say Ver 2.0.3 in the menu and all seems to work. It's updated itself properly?

There also seems to be some new picture evaluation menu items so I guess I'm on 2.0.3!


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,251 posts
Likes: 84
Joined Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
     
Sep 12, 2012 13:13 |  #20

I "upgraded" to 2.0.0 right when it came out... then started to see posts about people having trouble it. Fortunately my cameras are working fine, no freezing... So I think this time I'll wait and see if there are any reports of issues with 2.0.3 before I adopt it. Let someone else do the beta testing, I've got a busy weekend coming up and really can't afford to have any issues.

So long as you turn the camera off for a couple seconds after getting the confrimation message that the update is complete, you should be good to go when you turn it back on, but will need to reset the time/date. It now has time zones built in and is more compex. Note that you need to update EOS Utilities (and possibly some other softwares) on your computer, too... Coming from any pre 2.0.0 firmware to it or 2.0.3. The earlier version of EOS Utilities won't work right with the new firmware.


Alan Myers (external link) "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2) & other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS (x2), 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - ZENFOLIO (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dpds68
Goldmember
Avatar
1,464 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago W.I.
     
Sep 12, 2012 13:22 |  #21

I have had no problems with 2.0.0 should I upgrade ?

David


Gripped Canon 7D,20D,XT / Tamron 17-50mm 2.8, Canon 85mm f1.8 , 70-200 2.8L,EF50mm1.8 II,Sigma 150-500mm OS, Sigma 105mm 2.8 Macro, Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6
Vivitar285Hv x2,Canon430EX,Nissin Di866,CTR-301P Triggers,
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dpds68/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Sep 12, 2012 13:26 as a reply to  @ Submariner's post |  #22

Oh well heres a confession. I got thrown by the date and time sequence coming up after it said 'update completed', that I just realised I only turned the Camera off for a couple of minutes, and forgot to take the battery out or format the card.
Well I turned it back on and the version menu said Ver. 2.0.3 and I took a picture - all worked.
Then I realised I'd forgotten to take the battery out!
OK I switched it off and took out the battery waited a few minutes and put it back and turned it on and formatted the card.
All seems to still work fine.
So should I just leave it or reload the firmware and follow the sequence properly?


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scapevision
Goldmember
1,118 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
     
Sep 12, 2012 13:44 |  #23

leave it be


scapevision.carbonmade​.com (external link) and on Flickr (external link)
"Amateurs worry about equipment, professionals worry about money, masters worry about light. I just take pictures"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Sep 12, 2012 13:54 |  #24

Scapevision wrote in post #14981970 (external link)
leave it be

Thanks it seems this upgrade is idiot proof! [Me being the idiot]
Apart from the star rating feature on the images are there any other uniqiue features I can check to be sure I have the whole version 2.0.3 upgrade working?


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BaghdadFred
Senior Member
871 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Baghdad Iraq
     
Sep 12, 2012 14:19 |  #25

have any of you noticed that EOSCOUNT.COM (on-line app that gives shutter count on the 7D) seems to no longer work on the Firmware 2.0. That's the only thing that has changed on my camera so I assume it seems to incompatible with the current firmware.

Connecting it reads the camera but shutter count shows up as "UNAVAILABLE" anyone else seen this recently running 2.0?

www.eoscount.com (external link)


Fred - Photographing everyday Military life in Iraq (external link) | SmugMug (external link)
7D | C 100-400L | Σ 70-200 2.8 OS | Σ 30 1.4 | C 10-22 | Σ 8-16 | C 17-55 2.8 IS | C 28-135 IS | 580EX II | Σ 1.4x

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,246 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 279
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Sep 12, 2012 15:24 |  #26

EOSCount still works with 2.0.0 and 2.0.3

All that is changed is that there is now a $1.49 charge for using the program.


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike-P
Member
Avatar
157 posts
Gallery: 64 photos
Likes: 239
Joined Oct 2009
Location: New Milton Hampshire UK
     
Sep 12, 2012 16:25 |  #27

Submariner wrote in post #14982004 (external link)
Apart from the star rating feature on the images are there any other uniqiue features I can check to be sure I have the whole version 2.0.3 upgrade working?

If it didn't work you would have a doorstop rather than a camera. My 7D arrived yesterday and I upgraded the firmware today .. I didn't remove the battery either.

Stop worrying and enjoy your camera.


Canon 7D, Canon M5, Pentax K-1, Pentax K-3II, Panasonic LX5.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,028 posts
Likes: 47
Joined May 2012
Location: London
     
Sep 12, 2012 17:52 |  #28

Mike-P wrote in post #14982560 (external link)
If it didn't work you would have a doorstop rather than a camera. My 7D arrived yesterday and I upgraded the firmware today .. I didn't remove the battery either.

Stop worrying and enjoy your camera.

Thanks Mike
Very reassuring, yes and I am enjoying it. Hope you do too.
Like you mine is relatively new [only a few weeks old] - so getting a 'present' out of the blue like new functionality is a really nice surprise.
Especially as it probably means they won't replace it at Photokina, which gives it an extended lifespan as Canon's top APS C body.


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tmoore323
Goldmember
Avatar
1,945 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Oct 2010
     
Sep 12, 2012 21:07 |  #29

I just picked up a used 7d, upgraded to to 2.03 from 1.25 no issues, recognized the new firmware right away.

Tomorrow it goes out for it's first real test :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rjv
Member
83 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
     
Sep 12, 2012 21:16 as a reply to  @ tmoore323's post |  #30

My 7D unfortunately was one that did freeze. It was annoying having to take the battery out to reset it. I guess I'll see with the revised firmware!


Richard
5DII, 7D, 17-55IS, 50 1.8, 70-200 f/2.8 IS II, 35L, 18-270VC, 24-105L, 85 1.8

Sold gear: 17-85, 70-300 IS, 70-300 APO, 85 1.8, 100 2.8 macro USM, XTi, 10-22, 70-200 f/4 IS, 55-250 IS, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

9,449 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Latest Firmware Ver 2.0.3 Available - Fixes Ver 2.0 Freezing
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Sofun111
928 guests, 319 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.