Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 24 Sep 2012 (Monday) 17:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

RAW???

 
mikeweddle22795
Member
181 posts
Joined Sep 2011
     
Sep 24, 2012 17:00 |  #1

ok so everybody is telling me to shoot in raw but when i try to open a photo in photoshop cs3 it wont open, does anybody know how to fix this?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,472 posts
Likes: 195
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Sep 24, 2012 17:07 |  #2

What camera?


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mikeweddle22795
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
181 posts
Joined Sep 2011
     
Sep 24, 2012 17:10 |  #3

canon t1i




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Paulos75
Senior Member
Avatar
541 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Tauranga - New Zealand
     
Sep 24, 2012 17:17 |  #4

You'll probably find that CS3 doesn't support the t1i raw files.
The solution would either be to convert the raws to a DNG format (free download from the adobe site) or upgrade your version of CS.


Cheers, Paul.
If it moves, shoot it. If it shoots back, get a bigger lens.
Gear: A slowly but surely growing list of mainly Canon bits and pieces.
Flickr (external link)
Website (external link)Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mikeweddle22795
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
181 posts
Joined Sep 2011
     
Sep 24, 2012 17:20 |  #5

how do i download the program to convert them ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Paulos75
Senior Member
Avatar
541 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Tauranga - New Zealand
     
Sep 24, 2012 17:31 |  #6

Have a look here:
http://www.adobe.com …isplayTab2.html​#downloads (external link)

It does say that it's compatible with CS3 so that should work.

Another solution may be to open the files in DPP, save as TIFF then open in photoshop.


Cheers, Paul.
If it moves, shoot it. If it shoots back, get a bigger lens.
Gear: A slowly but surely growing list of mainly Canon bits and pieces.
Flickr (external link)
Website (external link)Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Sep 25, 2012 11:47 |  #7

Yep. The software needed is the "DNG converter".

Personally, I think I'd use DPP (which gives better conversions then ACR4.x IMHO)


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kfreels
Goldmember
Avatar
4,297 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Princeton, IN
     
Sep 25, 2012 23:46 |  #8

You probably need to install the Canon Raw Codec as that version of photoshop was out before the T1i's proprietary RAW format from the T1i came out.
http://www.usa.canon.c​om …/canon_raw_code​c_software (external link)


I am serious....and don't call me Shirley.
Canon 7D and a bunch of other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Sep 26, 2012 07:21 |  #9

Raw Codec has nothing to do with PS/ACR. It's only for allowing Windows to display thumbnails instead of icons.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kfreels
Goldmember
Avatar
4,297 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Princeton, IN
     
Sep 26, 2012 12:44 |  #10

René Damkot wrote in post #15044346 (external link)
Raw Codec has nothing to do with PS/ACR. It's only for allowing Windows to display thumbnails instead of icons.

Shoot. That's right. Sorry. I got my wires crossed. I had a similar problem with my T2i but it was the ACR, not the codec I updated. Does the ACR 5.7 or 6.1 run on CS3? They can still be downloaded here. http://www.adobe.com …duct=106&platfo​rm=Windows (external link)


I am serious....and don't call me Shirley.
Canon 7D and a bunch of other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 544
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Sep 26, 2012 13:24 |  #11

kfreels wrote in post #15045708 (external link)
Shoot. That's right. Sorry. I got my wires crossed. I had a similar problem with my T2i but it was the ACR, not the codec I updated. Does the ACR 5.7 or 6.1 run on CS3? They can still be downloaded here. http://www.adobe.com …duct=106&platfo​rm=Windows (external link)

CS3 has ACR 4.x, you won't be able to use ACR 5.x or 6.x!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kfreels
Goldmember
Avatar
4,297 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Princeton, IN
     
Sep 26, 2012 16:13 |  #12

tonylong wrote in post #15045854 (external link)
CS3 has ACR 4.x, you won't be able to use ACR 5.x or 6.x!

Bummer. Well, it was a nice thought. :-)


I am serious....and don't call me Shirley.
Canon 7D and a bunch of other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RandMan
Senior Member
Avatar
403 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
     
Sep 27, 2012 15:33 |  #13

Try going into the Update menu for Photoshop--this happened with me with cr2 files and after I updated the software it would read/open them.


Canon eos7D | Canon 50mm 1.4 | Canon 17-55mm 2.8 | Sigma 70-200mm 2.8 | Yongnuo 565ex | Yongnuo yn-468 II | Canon ef28-135mm 3.5/5.6 | Canon ef-s 55-250mm 4.0/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Noel ­ Johnson
Senior Member
Avatar
256 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 171
Joined Sep 2010
Location: The middle of England
     
Sep 27, 2012 15:39 |  #14

Another vote for using DPP here. I also have the T1I (EOS500D) and always shoot in RAW and don't have a problem.


Team Bunny. Depth before dishonour.
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/noeljphotograph​y/ (external link)
EOS80D, Canon 24-105 F4L, Canon 100 F2.8L, Canon 80-200 F2.8L. Sigma 150-500 F5-6.3 OS, 380EX speedlight and a bunch of other stuff I can't use.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PeterWem
Senior Member
Avatar
259 posts
Likes: 3
Joined May 2007
Location: Skåne, Sweden
     
Sep 28, 2012 04:21 |  #15

DPP or RawTherapee. RawTherapee use if you want Adobe DCP so you can get the same results from RawTherapee as from ACR.
http://img35.imageshac​k.us/img35/7287/namnls​lw.jpg (external link)


Some pictures (external link)
_______________
IR-converterd 1000D, D30, M5, 7D, 6D, 16-35/4L IS, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 300/2,8L IS, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, Helios 58/2 - - - - RawTherapee (external link), DPP (external link), Photomatix (external link), Darktable (external link), Luminance HDR (external link), GIMP 2.9.3, Darktable (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,746 views & 0 likes for this thread
RAW???
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is lvb64
1885 guests, 330 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.