Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
Thread started 26 Sep 2012 (Wednesday) 21:05
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Export quality issues

 
banjoboy
Member
64 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Sep 26, 2012 21:05 |  #1

Hello,
I was wondering why i can see some large blocky pixels in the dark areas in my videos after i export them. You can see them in the shots starting at 1:50
https://vimeo.com/4999​4011 (external link)

I export in premiere with H.264 and the Vimeo Hd 720 preset.
My gopro footage is shot in 720 60fps and the canon is shot in 720 30fps

Also any other critiques/ideas on how i can improve the quality of the images and editing in my videos would be appreciated. thanks! (i know there is still some warping in my twixtor shots)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Silly ­ Rabbit
Member
56 posts
Joined Jul 2012
     
Sep 27, 2012 01:24 |  #2

Great video, really enjoyed that. Over correcting sometimes gives me those blotches and also over saturated clips. Not saying this is how you got this issue but what PP are you filming in?

I find it easier making colours (yes it has a 'u') pop by filming flat then drawing them out in post.

Nice edit too




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kento
Goldmember
Avatar
1,207 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2008
Location: Innsbruck, Austria
     
Sep 27, 2012 03:58 |  #3

Just Macro-blocking, byproduct of working with highly compressed DSLR/GoPro footage. Only way to fix it is light the darks better but that isn't really an option for what you are doing :)


My Tools
-Jesse
Unknown-Studio.com

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
banjoboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
64 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Sep 27, 2012 08:11 as a reply to  @ Kento's post |  #4

Thanks for the responses guys. As far as color correction, i didn't make any adjustments. I only trimmed the clips in length. And while viewing the original clips before importing them to Premiere they don't show any of the macro blocking.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

747 views & 0 likes for this thread
Export quality issues
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dayuan99
740 guests, 299 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.