Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 08 Jun 2012 (Friday) 16:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Thoughts on Kenko 1.4x Teleplus Pro DG/DGX and the Canon 1.4x II

 
lynmay
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
127 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Arizona
     
Jun 11, 2012 01:44 |  #31

Thanks, Lowner. I ordered a Kenko 1.4x Pro 300 DGX.
I'm hoping it's a sharp copy and works as well as some
of the users has advised.

Thanks again all of you for the input.

Now, if we could just get this fire put out up here in Colorado...

If anyone has any extra Rain from back east I need it in
my front yard for the High Park Fire.

Thanks and Happy shooting this summer.


lyn
Capturing the illusions of time... Canon 6D, 80D, 10-18 STM, 18-55 STM, 55-250 STM, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-300 L IS, 100-400L II Kenko 1.4X PRO 300 Tx DGX, Canon Tele 1.4X III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
icassell
Goldmember
Avatar
2,671 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
     
Sep 05, 2012 12:22 |  #32

RAH1861 wrote in post #14557911 (external link)
I agree with Richard. I routinely use my Canon 400 5.6 lens on my 60D with the Kenko Pro300 DGX 1.4 tc and the AF works every time if there is enough light. I have taken hundreds of well-focused shots using this combination. It DOES indeed fail with insufficient light. I have found that it doesn't hunt, it just doesn't do anything. But, for example, if you are shooting shorebirds on a nice bright day, it works fine.

I don't really understand why people insist that it doesn't. I think that Kenko may not want people to use it this way, because, as I have said, it is more balky than using it on a faster lens, so Kenko may think it makes their TC look bad to have that AF fail sometimes. But if you use it in appropriate conditions, it works.

What is "enough light"? I use the 400/5.6 with my 7D for bird photography and would love to be able to put on a 1.4X. I don't usually shoot midday, however, because I don't like the harsh light. How low does the light need to go before you lose reasonable AF?


Ian - http://www.icassell.sm​ugmug.com (external link)
Canon 7D2, 7D, 30D, Canon 500 f/4L, Canon EF 400/5.6L, Canon 70-200/2.8L II, Canon 100/2.8 Macro, Tamron 17-50/2.8, Canon 50/1.8 Mk I, Canon 40/2.8 STM, Rokinon 8/3.5 FE., Sigma 10-20EX/4-5.6, Sigma 1.4X and 2X EX, Canon 1.4x II, Induro CT313/AT214/GHB-2, Canon 600EX-RT, Olympus TG-3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Sep 05, 2012 12:34 |  #33

I can only tell you that I've shot at Donnington in THE worst weather I've been in, all afternoon with MotoGP bikes and the support classes zipping past me until around 5pm. I was saturated and freezing cold but not once did the AF let me down.

I messed up shots myself, many of them, but cannot complain about my converter.

But I gather (see Canon Rumours) that the 1Dx works with an untaped Kenko PRO300. I've not read the article myself, but its possible that either Canon or Kenko may have come up with something.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
icassell
Goldmember
Avatar
2,671 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
     
Sep 05, 2012 12:35 |  #34

Artie Morris has been using his 1DX with his 800/5.6 and the Kenko 1.4X with outstanding results.


Ian - http://www.icassell.sm​ugmug.com (external link)
Canon 7D2, 7D, 30D, Canon 500 f/4L, Canon EF 400/5.6L, Canon 70-200/2.8L II, Canon 100/2.8 Macro, Tamron 17-50/2.8, Canon 50/1.8 Mk I, Canon 40/2.8 STM, Rokinon 8/3.5 FE., Sigma 10-20EX/4-5.6, Sigma 1.4X and 2X EX, Canon 1.4x II, Induro CT313/AT214/GHB-2, Canon 600EX-RT, Olympus TG-3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RAH1861
Senior Member
330 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jul 2011
     
Sep 05, 2012 15:48 as a reply to  @ icassell's post |  #35

The word according to God (Canon) is mentioned in this thread:

https://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=41922

Specifically:
"Requirements for Auto Focus

Canon makes SLRs with TWO distinct Aperture requirements for Autofocus. (AF)

A: The 1 series can AF with apertures as small as f/8
Models include; EOS 1D, 1Ds, 1DMkII, 1DMkIIN, 1Ds MkII, and film cameras EOS 1 and EOS 3

B: All other EOS bodies require f/5.6 to AF
Models include D30, D60, 10D, 300D, 350D, 20D, 30D, and 5D
Film bodies = all of them except for the 1 and 3"


Note that this means the widest aperture WITH the TC, so for the 400mm 5.6 lens, you get f8 with a 1.4 TC.

So, the real question is how does the converter work on the type B body. Myself and others in this thread have been saying that it does work with the Kenko Pro DGX 1.4 model even with an 5.6 lens or slower.

As far as how much light is required with my 60D and 400mm 5.6 lens plus the Kenko TC, I guess the only trouble I've had is in the forest with dense trees, shooting birds in foliage. But that can be a challenge even without the converter sometimes. I wouldn't hesitate a second to get the TC and use it with a 7D plus the 400 5.6.


Rich
Canon 80D; 60D; SL1; Canon 60mm; Canon 400mm f5.6L; Canon 1.4 II teleconverter; Canon 10-18 STM; Canon 55-250 STM; Tokina 12-24; Sigma 17-50; Sigma 17-70; Sigma 18-250; Bower 35mm; Tamron 70-300; Pro-Optic 8mm fisheye

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
icassell
Goldmember
Avatar
2,671 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
     
Sep 05, 2012 15:54 |  #36

Thanks, Rich. I've tried taping the pins on my Sigma TC without reasonable results. Maybe I'll try a Kenko.


Ian - http://www.icassell.sm​ugmug.com (external link)
Canon 7D2, 7D, 30D, Canon 500 f/4L, Canon EF 400/5.6L, Canon 70-200/2.8L II, Canon 100/2.8 Macro, Tamron 17-50/2.8, Canon 50/1.8 Mk I, Canon 40/2.8 STM, Rokinon 8/3.5 FE., Sigma 10-20EX/4-5.6, Sigma 1.4X and 2X EX, Canon 1.4x II, Induro CT313/AT214/GHB-2, Canon 600EX-RT, Olympus TG-3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Sep 06, 2012 03:04 |  #37

I did some in-depth testing of several different converters before deciding on the Kenko. It was head and shoulders above anything else, including Canons own TC*

*Note: That was the TCll not lll, which I have not tested. My local photo shop staff were very good to me, providing the various bits and pieces.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
barrie
Mostly Lurking
Avatar
17 posts
Joined Jan 2012
Location: South Africa,Boksburg
     
Oct 11, 2012 14:50 |  #38

Thanks Lowner, on the strength of your post of your Donnington race day i took the plunge today and bought a new Kenko pro 300 dgx mounted to my 60D with the 100-400 and voila IS and AF all work perfectly no taping required. I had been as confused as camel cotch in a washing machine but it is all clear to me now.
Thanks to all for your arguments and input it makes things for the newbies a little easier to make educated decisions on purchases that is once we have understood the confusion of the issue.


60D, 70-300L is,100-400mm, 50mm 1.4, 15-85mm,18-55mm, 55-250mm,18-55Mkii, 28-135is 100mm 2.8 macro,macro ring light.SLIK pro700dx tripod,SLIK pro pod 600 monopod,SLIK AF1100E ball head and Kenco 1.4 teleconverter and boat loads of inexperience.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keebert
Senior Member
Avatar
613 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Texas
     
Oct 11, 2012 20:44 |  #39

I have both the Canon II and the Kenko DGX. I have had the Canon for a while and it's a sturdy piece of kit. I just bought the DGX because I just got a 5D3 and wanted to make up for the loss of reach going from crop to FF but preserving AF on the 400/5.6.

The Kenko works great (external link) and I'm not sure what people are talking about it being a non reporting extender as the EXIF on my shots all show f/8 and 560mm. The IQ is good and the AF performance with the 5D3 is very good unless the light is wanting. I'm pretty happy with the combination but it does not have the build quality of the Canon so that does make me a little nervous.

Anyway, the Kenko is now permanently attached to the 400 and I've not had any problems yet.


5D3, 50/1.4, 40/2.8, 24-105L, 100L, 70-200L II, 400/5.6L, 600EX-RT, Zuiko 28/2.8, flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Oct 12, 2012 04:23 |  #40

Keebert wrote in post #15110549 (external link)
I have both the Canon II and the Kenko DGX. I have had the Canon for a while and it's a sturdy piece of kit. I just bought the DGX because I just got a 5D3 and wanted to make up for the loss of reach going from crop to FF but preserving AF on the 400/5.6.

The Kenko works great (external link) and I'm not sure what people are talking about it being a non reporting extender as the EXIF on my shots all show f/8 and 560mm. The IQ is good and the AF performance with the 5D3 is very good unless the light is wanting. I'm pretty happy with the combination but it does not have the build quality of the Canon so that does make me a little nervous.

Anyway, the Kenko is now permanently attached to the 400 and I've not had any problems yet.

Kenko used to, and probably still do, make two versions. The PRO3 which did report to the camera and the more basic one which did not. However, the camera will always know what the exposure is, whichever type of convertor you use, as you have discovered. All it does is prevent the camera messing you about simply because Canon want to make life "more interesting".


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msebetov
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Croatia
     
Nov 04, 2012 08:23 |  #41

I have Canon 7d and, several months ago, I purchased brand new Sigma 150-500mm. The outfit and quality were significantly improved and I'm very satisfied. Sharpness is great from 150 to 500mm, which makes me happy, 'cause I ain't got money for Canons big telephoto lenses. I'm just curious am I losing AF if this Kenko is attached to 7d&Sigma combination? I purchased Sigma's original 1.4TC and have no AF if the lens is open on 500mm. Is the situation with Kenko different? Tnx in advance!
Oh, one more question! :-) How it works if Kenko TC is attached on Canon 100mm f2.8 IS L macro? What about IQ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
43,660 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3217
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Nov 04, 2012 11:05 |  #42

lynmay wrote in post #14553451 (external link)
Thanks for the info all. Unfortunately, all of the links above are the
Kenko DG model, no DGX comparisons with the new communication
chip that I found.

It has been stated that OPTICALLY there is no difference between the DG and DGX, but the difference lies in the programming of the chip that communicates between the lens and the body.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
Avatar
4,370 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
     
Nov 04, 2012 16:27 |  #43

msebetov wrote in post #15205149 (external link)
I have Canon 7d and, several months ago, I purchased brand new Sigma 150-500mm. The outfit and quality were significantly improved and I'm very satisfied. Sharpness is great from 150 to 500mm, which makes me happy, 'cause I ain't got money for Canons big telephoto lenses. I'm just curious am I losing AF if this Kenko is attached to 7d&Sigma combination? I purchased Sigma's original 1.4TC and have no AF if the lens is open on 500mm. Is the situation with Kenko different? Tnx in advance!
Oh, one more question! :-) How it works if Kenko TC is attached on Canon 100mm f2.8 IS L macro? What about IQ?

If the combination of the tc and lens aperture when zoomed is more than f/5.6 your going to loose AF, you could try to tape the pins however


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RAH1861
Senior Member
330 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jul 2011
     
Nov 05, 2012 07:24 as a reply to  @ lannes's post |  #44

Did you read all the entries in this thread? This has already been discussed. Perhaps you disagree with what has been said, but it kind of sounds like you didn't read all the comments above, especially concerning the latest Kenko DGX teleconverters.


Rich
Canon 80D; 60D; SL1; Canon 60mm; Canon 400mm f5.6L; Canon 1.4 II teleconverter; Canon 10-18 STM; Canon 55-250 STM; Tokina 12-24; Sigma 17-50; Sigma 17-70; Sigma 18-250; Bower 35mm; Tamron 70-300; Pro-Optic 8mm fisheye

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msebetov
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Croatia
     
Nov 10, 2012 01:22 |  #45

RAH1861 wrote in post #15208694 (external link)
Did you read all the entries in this thread? This has already been discussed. Perhaps you disagree with what has been said, but it kind of sounds like you didn't read all the comments above, especially concerning the latest Kenko DGX teleconverters.

To be honest I, probably, missed that point. Will do it, again, but more careful. Thanks!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

18,929 views & 0 likes for this thread
Thoughts on Kenko 1.4x Teleplus Pro DG/DGX and the Canon 1.4x II
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jingz000
1058 guests, 333 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.