Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 10 Aug 2012 (Friday) 07:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Nothing but trouble with Intuos 5

 
JaiMoney
Member
111 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Denver, CO
     
Oct 24, 2012 09:28 |  #31

I sort of have the same problem on my iMac. I will be using it and all of a sudden it will quit. I noticed this would normally be if I leave for a while and the computer goes to sleep. So I just make it a habit to shut down when I'm done or restart if it's been asleep for a while. Haven't had any problems if the computer doesn't sleep. Just my experience. I couldn't get any editing done without the damn thing. Best tool I have.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
evo5ive
Senior Member
Avatar
302 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Barbados
     
Oct 24, 2012 09:33 |  #32

weeatmice wrote in post #15158402 (external link)
Bumping as I'm considering one of these, but would like to avoid driver hell. Is anyone using an Intuos 5 with Win7 64bit without any problems?

Any reply from Wacom yet / are you still having issues?

How well does it work for actual editing / drawing?

I'm in the same boat - Windows 7 64 bit. I was looking to pick up one of these soon but this thread has kind of worried me into postponing the purchase. I'd like to see how it plays out a bit more now first.:confused:


Kirk
Website (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
weeatmice
Senior Member
Avatar
763 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Essex UK
     
Oct 24, 2012 17:03 |  #33

Amazon reviews are worrying also. Youtube is full of praise for it, but I tend to think those people are just starting with it - I dont see many reviews after a decent use peroid.

Most complaints seem to be about the touch controls being unreliable.

I'm almost tempted to look for an Intuos 4.


FS: UK: 1D Mark IV.
Twopixel.co.uk (external link) | 500px (external link) | flickr (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Pinterest (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rai33
Goldmember
Avatar
1,838 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Sydney
     
Oct 25, 2012 05:36 |  #34

weeatmice wrote in post #15158402 (external link)
Bumping as I'm considering one of these, but would like to avoid driver hell. Is anyone using an Intuos 5 with Win7 64bit without any problems?
...

No problems here on w7 64bit Wacom driver 6.3.0-2


Portfolio - Fashion/Beauty (external link)
Portfolio - Kids (external link)
Model Mayhem (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
evo5ive
Senior Member
Avatar
302 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Barbados
     
Oct 25, 2012 06:47 |  #35

Rai33 wrote in post #15166870 (external link)
No problems here on w7 64bit Wacom driver 6.3.0-2

Glad to hear that. I'm hoping these bad experiences are the exception to the rule as I really would like one of these. I'm still gonna keep monitoring this thread a bit before purchasing one though.


Kirk
Website (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
weeatmice
Senior Member
Avatar
763 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Essex UK
     
Oct 31, 2012 18:53 |  #36

We'll I broke and ordered one. I've gone with the Medium pen & touch. There is a pen only version which is cheaper whcih I allmost went for as alot of complaints seem to be that the touch isnt quite ready yet. The touch features seem like a great idea but I'll see how well they work in practice...

Its due Friday so I will post here how I get on with it sometime after that. I will be testing it on two PCs, first is a new machine with 16GB of RAM, an i5 with an SSD + a clean install of Win7-64. The second machine is older, a Core2 Quad (Q6600) and 8GB with a farily battered Win7-64 installation.


FS: UK: 1D Mark IV.
Twopixel.co.uk (external link) | 500px (external link) | flickr (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Pinterest (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
weeatmice
Senior Member
Avatar
763 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Essex UK
     
Nov 03, 2012 11:23 |  #37

Well I'm having multiple issues with it. Often disconnecting from the USB, drivers seem very flaky too. Touch never works for more than a few minutes. If there is a hardware problem I think could be making the driver issues seem worse. I've tried about 4 different versions of the driver. I'm just about to uninstall the current and try the latest which I've just noticed 6.3.4-3.

I've tried, two different USB Cables, two different Win7 64Bit machines, various drivers. It will get another chance on the new machine on monday (at work). I suspect it'll have to go back.

Its a big shame, as when it works - drawing with the pen is wonderful.


FS: UK: 1D Mark IV.
Twopixel.co.uk (external link) | 500px (external link) | flickr (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Pinterest (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
evo5ive
Senior Member
Avatar
302 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Barbados
     
Nov 03, 2012 11:34 as a reply to  @ weeatmice's post |  #38

Thanks for the update, sorry to hear though. :(

I'm actually leaning towards getting the Intuos 4 over the 5 just because of all these issues.


Kirk
Website (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
weeatmice
Senior Member
Avatar
763 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Essex UK
     
Nov 03, 2012 16:36 |  #39

I had a bit better luck after installing 6.3.4-3. It worked perfectly for a few hours, then started disconnecting again. Now its working properly again. I'm still unsure if the drivers are just flaky or if there is some kind of connection/power/hardw​are problem.


FS: UK: 1D Mark IV.
Twopixel.co.uk (external link) | 500px (external link) | flickr (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Pinterest (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
weeatmice
Senior Member
Avatar
763 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Essex UK
     
Nov 04, 2012 08:17 |  #40

I presume its not meant to do this...

http://www.youtube.com …=cyPAHawf9gA&fe​ature=plcp (external link)

It does this on 3 different PCs. I'm convinced that its faulty. Its going back to amazon for a refund, If decide to reorder it'll will be the pen only version.


FS: UK: 1D Mark IV.
Twopixel.co.uk (external link) | 500px (external link) | flickr (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Pinterest (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 544
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Nov 04, 2012 13:51 |  #41

I haven't even touched my old Intuous 3 tablet since I upgraded to Win7x64 from XP -- I wonder if they have updated drivers for the Intuous 3? Anyone use the 3 with Win7x64?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MDJAK
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
24,722 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 181
Joined Nov 2004
Location: New York
     
Nov 04, 2012 18:01 |  #42

Sheesh, all these problems with an established company? That sucks. You guys need to tweet it. That is monitored by many companies and gets their attention.

But boy oh boy am I glad I get it right in camera and don't need to bother with PS. ;) :lol :oops:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 544
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Nov 04, 2012 22:30 |  #43

Mark, haha, is that 'cause you always shoot with the lens cap on, or do you just stay in the Green Box mode :)?


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hihohito
Member
225 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Nov 05, 2012 03:01 |  #44

tonylong wrote in post #15206124 (external link)
I haven't even touched my old Intuous 3 tablet since I upgraded to Win7x64 from XP -- I wonder if they have updated drivers for the Intuous 3? Anyone use the 3 with Win7x64?

I use the intuous 3 with the latest driver and it works flawless. My question to those who have problems with there wacomtablets, what brand processor do you use?
I had a computer with an AMD processor with all the same problems mentioned here. With my new self build computer with a Intell processor I do not have those problems anymore and I use my tablet dayly without problems. With the AMD processor nothing seems to work to get the tablet working correctly.

Forgotten. Windows 7 Ultimate. Photoshop CS5




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
evo5ive
Senior Member
Avatar
302 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Barbados
     
Nov 05, 2012 06:05 |  #45

weeatmice wrote in post #15205123 (external link)
I presume its not meant to do this...

http://www.youtube.com …=cyPAHawf9gA&fe​ature=plcp (external link)

It does this on 3 different PCs. I'm convinced that its faulty. Its going back to amazon for a refund, If decide to reorder it'll will be the pen only version.

I had a phone get wet and short something on one of the boards and it responded the same way. I'd guess this to be hardware related rather than driver related.


Kirk
Website (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,687 views & 0 likes for this thread
Nothing but trouble with Intuos 5
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dayuan99
2024 guests, 318 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.