Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 15 Nov 2012 (Thursday) 17:34
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Reliable Yongnuo Flash

 
Grumpy_one
Senior Member
Avatar
600 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 30
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Portland OR.
     
Nov 16, 2012 12:13 |  #16

TijmenDal wrote in post #15250914 (external link)
I have YN-560's thta I've been abusing quite a bit. Very happy with them and for the price you can't go wrong

+1 .


I shoot Canon's
1DX II, Canon 7D Gripped, 5D3, 24-70L II, 70-200L 2.8 IS Mk I, 85 1.8, Pocket Wizard II triggers, assorted speedlites and modifiers, 580EX, 580EXII, YN560's (6 or so) 50 1.4, t/c 1.4 MkII
www.happyvalleyphotogr​aphy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,867 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Nov 16, 2012 15:05 |  #17

Thanks guys, I am hoping the optical trigger behaves well with the ST-E2/430EX's preflash that apparently fires even in M mode.

I've never bought from Amazon, hmmm. The best price I've seen on the 560 is $70, I wish I could find for $45! :)


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
butcherman
Senior Member
894 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 13
Joined May 2011
Location: Hollidaysburg, Pa USA
     
Nov 16, 2012 15:11 |  #18

I bought a YN460 II used and has worked flawlessly. Bought a YN468 II and it died right after the warranty was up. So back to using the YN460 II




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gremlin75
Goldmember
Avatar
2,721 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 207
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Detroit, MI
     
Nov 16, 2012 15:24 |  #19

boerewors wrote in post #15252605 (external link)
A read a review that tested the 560/565/568 at the exact same output as the 430EXii. I have not tested this in practice as i dont own any of the yongnuo lineup but im itching to get a pair of 560s

Speedlites.net lists the 560 as having thr same power as the 430ex2 ad thr 565 as being slightly more powerful (I think it was only like a tenth of a stop or so). They haven't reviewed the 568 but I'd guess it is as powerful as the 565.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave63
Goldmember
Avatar
1,269 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Aug 2008
Location: In the ether between Denver and Boulder
     
Nov 16, 2012 21:49 |  #20

Two 560 II's working just fine over here.



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,867 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Nov 21, 2012 16:34 |  #21

I just was told that the new YN-560EX will work with the ST-E2 and as an infrared slave, and use TTL as well (for about $20 more than the 560 II). YN is sure confusing with their flash model numbers.


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mahgnillig
Member
Avatar
206 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2011
Location: Carson City, NV
     
Nov 21, 2012 18:32 |  #22

I have had good luck with my YN-565EX. I use it for work and have probably taken at least a few thousand shots with it in the last year with no problems. I just make sure I use Eneloops to power it as it's not too keen on regular alkaline batteries.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,867 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Nov 21, 2012 18:52 |  #23

Ah yes I need some Eneloops. I find the Canons aren't great with alkalines either. I have the Duracell rechargables, similar to Eneloops and they work really well.

It's weird that the Yongnuo ebay store doesn't even have the YN-560EX, I will have to try another ebay store I guess.

Thanks guys!

Mahgnillig wrote in post #15273951 (external link)
I have had good luck with my YN-565EX. I use it for work and have probably taken at least a few thousand shots with it in the last year with no problems. I just make sure I use Eneloops to power it as it's not too keen on regular alkaline batteries.


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gremlin75
Goldmember
Avatar
2,721 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 207
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Detroit, MI
     
Nov 21, 2012 21:30 |  #24

The yn-560ex will do ETTL off camera but will not do ETTL on camera (it's made to be used as an off camera ETTL or manual slave but not as a on camera ETTL flash)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,867 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Nov 22, 2012 15:04 |  #25

Thanks Gremlin75, that's the one I just ordered. I want it only for strobist use, not on camera. The only thing I'm a bit confused about is whether or not I can set ratios using the STE2, 430EX and 560EX together. I know the 560EX can be setup on camera if it's used alone, not sure about with another flash. IF I'm going full manual anyway, it won't be a HUGE issue, but being able to set in camera would be nice.

Thanks a bunch guys. I will report when I get it on how it is.

Now to find a good deal on Eneloops in Canada...


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,867 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Dec 13, 2012 17:33 |  #26

My YN560EX arrived today and I'm VERY impressed with the packaging and build quality, especially for $89, wow!

I am going to give it a try right away, but I do notice the pullout white reflection panel doesn't stay up, any movement of the flash and back down it goes. Anybody else notice this? But still, great build (my 430EX doesn't even have the white panel option and it was over 3x more money).


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gremlin75
Goldmember
Avatar
2,721 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 207
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Detroit, MI
     
Dec 13, 2012 19:03 |  #27

I've owned 5 yongnuo flashes and never had that problem with the built in reflector. But I have never owned the yn560ex so I'm not sure if its a common problem with that model but I know it's not a common problem across the flash line.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SoCalTiger
Goldmember
Avatar
1,748 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
     
Dec 13, 2012 22:38 |  #28

BrickR wrote in post #15252771 (external link)
560s are only optical slaves.

I have 560 and 460ii's and have used them to death (figuratively). No issues what so ever. If you can catch a deal on a 560 for $45, get two!

Is the 560 I in the $45 range anywhere still? I know that on Amazon.com they dropped to as low as $40 but I totally missed it and now the price is ~$70 which is too much IMO.


Laurence (external link) :: 6D + Lens

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drisley
THREAD ­ STARTER
"What a Tool I am"
Avatar
8,867 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Nov 2002
     
Dec 16, 2012 20:52 |  #29

gremlin75 wrote in post #15363939 (external link)
I've owned 5 yongnuo flashes and never had that problem with the built in reflector. But I have never owned the yn560ex so I'm not sure if its a common problem with that model but I know it's not a common problem across the flash line.

If I angle the reflector to the side a bit then it stays put (pull out and push down a bit on one side).

Overall the 560EX in my first outting was spectacular! I had it 7 feet up on a stand and it fired perfectly with my ST-E2, and I love the "ready to shoot" beep it gives when the power is recycled, like a studio strobe!

One thing though was that in Canon slave mode, I could only get ETTL, didn't see a way for manual power, so I had to switch to slave 2 mode (I believe) and it worked great with the ST-E2, but of course if anybody else fires a camera with a flash, that will fire off the 560EX. Not sure how to use M power mode with this setup using the Canon slave mode (maybe not possible)


1D Mark III - 5D Mark IV - 24-70/2.8L - 70-200/2.8L Mark II - Samyang 14/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,840 views & 0 likes for this thread
Reliable Yongnuo Flash
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is brewtonlie
1263 guests, 436 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.