Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 Nov 2012 (Friday) 19:02
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sudden strange behavior

 
LARAB
Member
Avatar
73 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
     
Nov 23, 2012 19:02 |  #1

I'm suddenly getting some really strange behavior from my T1i...

As far as I can recall, here's how it happened;

I removed the battery grip, re-installed the battery door, messed around with some jpeg preview options, bought a 40mm pancake, shot a few (25 maybe) frames, came home, re-installed the grip, shot a few more frames, and finally removed the card and trasnferred files to LR. The preview files in LR (before import) look exactly like they do on the LCD screen (in camera) before I import. However, once I hit import- the jpeg previews convert to monochrome and are really dark. Auto tone in LR makes them look like they did on the camera LCD, but I still have to open the Develop Module and click "color" to change the files... The other strange thing- the files display smaller in LR than any other file I've ever imported (physically, there is a large gray border around the images).

I always shoot RAW, the picture style is Neutral. What the heck is happening?? I am now spooked enough that I don't want to put the new 40mm on my 7d.

A quick check of the manual says the internal battery is not user serviceable, so no hard reset. Anyone out there have any suggestions? I'm scratching my head on this one...

Thanks, Brian

Edited to add: I tried several cards, all of my lenses. I'm thinking it has to do with removing the grip, it had been on there for at least two years.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,716 posts
Likes: 1302
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Nov 24, 2012 08:18 |  #2

I can't see any reason why the removal of a grip would suddenly result in monochrome images but if you've explored all the settings that control this I would attempt to do a hard reset.

There is a procedure on page 136 of the manual to reset the camera back to factory defaults. I would remove the grip and then do a factory reset and start from scratch.

The other way to do a factory reset is to remove the main LP-E5 battery, then turn the power switch to ON, hold down the shutter button for about 30 seconds, then turn the power switch back to OFF. This operation bleeds off the voltage on the internal circuitry. Then reinstall the main battery. When you power back up, if the hard reset was successful, you will have to reset the date/time, language etc.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,654 posts
Gallery: 83 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 2227
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Nov 24, 2012 09:22 as a reply to  @ John from PA's post |  #3

This sounds more like a Lightroom problem than a camera problem to me...I know nothing about Lightroom but maybe there's an import setting that has gotten accidentally set to monochrome?

If you can, try importing the photos into DPP, which preserves the chosen picture style, and see if they import as monochrome.


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Christina.DazzleByDesign
Goldmember
Avatar
1,973 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Mar 2012
     
Nov 24, 2012 09:40 |  #4

Try a different program. That sounds like some sort of LR preset being applied on import. Since the native images look fine before import.


5D3 | 7D | 85L II | 70-300L | 24-105L | Nifty Fifty | 600EX-RT_______________
| Facebook (external link) | Website (external link) | Gear List |Flickr (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rick_reno
Cream of the Crop
44,642 posts
Likes: 134
Joined Dec 2010
     
Nov 24, 2012 10:36 |  #5

If the images look good on the camera, you've got something going on in your SW on the computer.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LARAB
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
73 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
     
Nov 24, 2012 11:02 |  #6

Solved- at some point I must have hit the ALT key and changed the camera default. I went back in my catalog to a file that imported correctly, hit the ALT key and clicked "set default." Phew. That was fun...

As an aside, I absolutely love the 40mm pancake.

Thanks for the replies.

-Brian




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SamHenry
Member
Avatar
63 posts
Joined Jun 2011
Location: Rhode Island
     
Nov 24, 2012 11:26 |  #7

I was going to say you probably set an import function by accident. LR is finicky like that sometimes. Glad you got it figured out


5DmkII
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/supercrossbmxer​/ (external link)
SamHenryPhotography.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Zigot
Senior Member
601 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Ottawa Ontario CAN
     
Nov 24, 2012 12:05 |  #8

I would leave the card in camera, use EOS util to import, and check the photo with DPP.
If problem at this stage. Then reset camera and reshoot and retest.


7D, 5Dii, 5Diii, 70-300L, 24-105L 70-200Lii, 135L, 85, Tammy 150-600, 430EXii, 550EX, 580EXii, Σ50, Σ105 Macro, Σ150 Macro, ΣEM-140, Σ1.4x, LensBaby 3G, White lightnings, Bowens. Gear - feedbacks


  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Nov 24, 2012 13:21 |  #9

Zigot wrote in post #15283372 (external link)
I would leave the card in camera, use EOS util to import, and check the photo with DPP.
If problem at this stage. Then reset camera and reshoot and retest.

I think if you read the above posts you'll see the problem was with software.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,217 views & 0 likes for this thread
Sudden strange behavior
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Zochor
793 guests, 162 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.