Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 06 Dec 2012 (Thursday) 09:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Eye-Fi Pro X2 8GB 5D Mark III

 
taygull
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Dec 06, 2012 09:32 |  #1

I'm having substantial issues with the card dropping the connection to my iPad 2. Each time I have to open the settings on the iPad 2 and select the "network" that is the Eye-Fi Card. The re-open the app and the images will download.

I've told the network settings to "forget" the usual network I'm logged into. I've changed my body to never auto off. Nothing seems to help.

I've sent a request to the company, not heard back yet.

Also checked for updates on the card and it is current.

Thoughts?


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Indecent ­ Exposure
Goldmember
Avatar
3,402 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
     
Dec 06, 2012 10:47 |  #2

Did this problem happen to start after you updated to iOS 6?


- James -
www.feedthewant.com (external link)
500px (external link)
Gear List and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Dec 06, 2012 12:50 |  #3

Indecent Exposure wrote in post #15333618 (external link)
Did this problem happen to start after you updated to iOS 6?

I knew there was an iOS 6 issue so I've not updated the iPad yet.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Dec 06, 2012 13:53 |  #4

So odd, this is what the EYE-Fi support team came back with...

"Are you trying to upload while shooting new pictures? If so, that is why the connection gets disrupted. With Eye-Fi-connected Canon and Olympus cameras (and some non-Eye-Fi-connected Canon models) the camera will turn off the Eye-Fi card's wifi radio as soon as the shutter is depressed for taking pictures, which prevents transfers while shooting. Pictures with those types of cameras can only be send in batches to avoid having the shutter button turning off the Eye-Fi card's wifi."

Now I find this odd, because I was under the impression the images would automatically upload while shooting? I should add I have done shoots where the images would upload as I'm shooting....shoot image uplaod, shoot image upload, shoot shoot shoot, 3 images upload..it is just not consistent.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Indecent ­ Exposure
Goldmember
Avatar
3,402 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
     
Dec 06, 2012 14:23 |  #5

That's interesting and it might explain the oddness I experience from time to time with my Eye-Fi card.

Thanks for the update.


- James -
www.feedthewant.com (external link)
500px (external link)
Gear List and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Dec 06, 2012 15:59 |  #6

The problem I have is, I don't think I should have to "re-connect" each time...If I have wifi enabled shouldn't the iPad continue to connect or when I'm done shooting shouldn't it see the Eye-Fi card and reconnect?


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Franz-Olof
Member
74 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Finland
     
Dec 17, 2012 11:33 |  #7

I was just eyeing for this card but this sounds like a deal breaker. Actually I just saw some youtube-video where the photog had the same problem if i understood correctly.


5Dmkiii ⎟16-35Lii ⎟24-70Lii ⎟50/1.8ii ⎟∑85⎟100-400L⎟Nissin Di866ii
my photo site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sonnyc
Cream of the Crop
5,160 posts
Likes: 33
Joined Jun 2005
Location: san jose
     
Dec 17, 2012 12:48 |  #8

I'm using the Mobile X2 card with my 5D3 and it works very very good. I don't have drop connection issue (maybe once or twice when I first set it up). The last few days I've been using it to send pics to my Ipad1 (IOS 5), Iphone 5 (IOS 6.0.1) and my Thrive Android and it has been perfect.

Just make sure that you set the timeout value a bit longer than the default so the when you're idling it still keeps the connection.


Sonny
website (external link)|Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mtimber
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,011 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Cambs, UK
     
Dec 17, 2012 13:05 |  #9

You have to setup the wifi timer part in eye-fi centre on your pc before you flash your SD card.


Took me a while to figure this out...


"The general rule for flash photography is that you want the flash to go off while the shutter is open" (Titus213)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,690 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 502
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Dec 17, 2012 14:13 |  #10

and probably need to change the timeout feature on the camera to not turn off while the eye-fi is uploading
I'm on a 5D2, and I always set it to 8 minutes timeout when using the eye-fi


EOS R / 1D X / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 100/2, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Dec 20, 2012 09:52 |  #11

The timeout feature has nothing to do with it. Eye-fi says the 5D Mark III disconnects the network when the shutter is pushed. Yes...if I wait it will eventually re-connect and upload...what I want is real time each image transferring just like tethering.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mtimber
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,011 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Cambs, UK
     
Dec 20, 2012 09:55 |  #12

I was having your issue.

What I did was updated the firmware, then formatted the card in camera.

For some reason it all worked fine after that.

It was almost as if it had two sets of firmware on the card and I had to remove one of them...


"I don't like the direction this thread is going..." (LightRules)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Dec 20, 2012 10:00 |  #13

It is an odd bird...at times it works fine...at times it losses the network and struggles to find it. I've done the same thing with the firmware and formatting.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MD ­ Steelerfan
Senior Member
518 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 324
Joined Apr 2008
     
Feb 12, 2013 11:54 |  #14

Has this been resolved by anyone. I have this issue all the time! My eyefi card times out or something if I wait too long between shots and then I have to restart the camera to get it going again.


Website: http://www.landisphoto​graphic.com (external link)
http://www.modelmayhem​.com/brianlandis (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tgara
Goldmember
Avatar
2,336 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
     
Feb 12, 2013 13:21 |  #15

SMP_Homer wrote in post #15377838 (external link)
and probably need to change the timeout feature on the camera to not turn off while the eye-fi is uploading
I'm on a 5D2, and I always set it to 8 minutes timeout when using the eye-fi

Just an FYI about that. On page 345 of the 5D Mark III manual where it explains how to use an Eye Fi card, the last point of information says "During the image transfer, auto power off will not take effect."

OK, fine. But what about between shots if the power goes off, what happens? Does the Eye Fi lose it's connection? Mine does not (when connected to my home Wifi). It starts transferring pictures again once I take them (I can watch the connection start and the photos move over to the Mac).


EOS 5D Mark III
EOS Rebel SL1
Full Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,530 views & 0 likes for this thread
Eye-Fi Pro X2 8GB 5D Mark III
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dsk26894
1191 guests, 336 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.