Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 30 Nov 2012 (Friday) 18:53
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

-= 6D Owners Unite! Discuss and post Photos!

 
this thread is locked
Rookies1241
Member
64 posts
Joined May 2011
     
Dec 15, 2012 08:47 |  #391

Rittrato wrote in post #15369453 (external link)
WiFi can be frustrating to use. Have you guys figured how to activate auto focus when using the EOS remote app?

Yes make sure the AF button is select to on in settings then u have shutter button and a af button




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
ddk632
Goldmember
Avatar
1,606 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 25
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Aventura, FL
     
Dec 15, 2012 08:51 |  #392

Rookies1241 wrote in post #15369520 (external link)
Yes make sure the AF button is select to on in settings then u have shutter button and a af button

+1 - it took a bit to figure this out for me as well. It's off by default. Once you enable "Show AF Button" in the EOS Remote App settings menu, and go to "Remote Shooting", you'll see a smaller button under the large shutter button, that will be the AF button.


Dmitriy Khaykin (external link)
dk (external link) | f (external link) | ig (external link) | t (external link) | flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Talley
Talley Whacker
Avatar
11,091 posts
Gallery: 46 photos
Likes: 2791
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Dec 15, 2012 10:22 |  #393

GarethLeigh wrote in post #15369458 (external link)
These look really great for high ISO. My 7D is now junk compared to this.

Eh?... I beg to differ. Maybe, just maybe 1/2 stop better IF that :p

ISO 6400 (on 60D)

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO


BUT the reality is it's more like 2 stops better WITH retaining much more detail. Look at the 100% crop of the 60D photo here:
IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO


There is simply NO detail at all blown up. Which is to be expected HOWEVER the new 6D would of retain alot more detail and this is why the 6D is on my shopping list ASAP!

A7rIII | A7III | 12-24 F4 | 16-35 GM | 28-75 2.8 | 100-400 GM | 12mm 2.8 Fisheye | 35mm 2.8 | 85mm 1.8 | 35A | 85A | 200mm L F2 IS | MC-11
My Gear Archive

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rookies1241
Member
64 posts
Joined May 2011
     
Dec 15, 2012 10:23 |  #394

Talley wrote in post #15369784 (external link)
Eh?... I beg to differ. Maybe, just maybe 1/2 stop better IF that :p

No chance the 7d I had anything above 3200 rubbish. 6d 6400 is par to 3200 to 7d easily




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ddk632
Goldmember
Avatar
1,606 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 25
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Aventura, FL
     
Dec 15, 2012 10:45 |  #395

It (the 6D high ISO) is about 100 stops better than my XTi though! :mrgreen:


Dmitriy Khaykin (external link)
dk (external link) | f (external link) | ig (external link) | t (external link) | flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
M_Six
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,561 posts
Gallery: 64 photos
Likes: 1387
Joined Dec 2010
Location: East Central IL
     
Dec 15, 2012 13:06 |  #396

Rookies1241 wrote in post #15369789 (external link)
No chance the 7d I had anything above 3200 rubbish. 6d 6400 is par to 3200 to 7d easily

Agreed. 3200 is usable on a 7D, but that's pretty much where it ends. I've seen 12800 ISO shots on a 6D that look like 3200 ISO shots from a 7D.

The Digital Picture site has a good ISO comparison (external link). (Scroll down) Worth checking out.


Mark J.
Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TheToad
Member
220 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
     
Dec 15, 2012 13:22 |  #397

How easy is it to set up the 6D to your laptop wirelessly? I do a lot of photo demonstrations in confined settings and it would be great to beam the images directly to my laptop for others to see. Thanks.


Fuji XT2 / XF 23 f1.4 / XF 35 f2 / XF 56 f1.2 / XF 10-24 f4 / XF 18-55 f2.8-4 / XF 50-140 2.8 / EF X500 Flash / Godox TT350 Flash

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rookies1241
Member
64 posts
Joined May 2011
     
Dec 15, 2012 13:40 |  #398

Now this has impress me first time Ive tried it a 12800 HDR

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR

IMG_1223.jpg (external link) by Rooky5 (external link), on Flickr



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rookies1241
Member
64 posts
Joined May 2011
     
Dec 15, 2012 13:41 |  #399

TheToad wrote in post #15370328 (external link)
How easy is it to set up the 6D to your laptop wirelessly? I do a lot of photo demonstrations in confined settings and it would be great to beam the images directly to my laptop for others to see. Thanks.

Not tried this yet might give it a go right now




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jasperk99
Member
35 posts
Joined Sep 2011
     
Dec 15, 2012 15:57 as a reply to  @ Rookies1241's post |  #400

FLASH QUESTION

Anyone coming from a crop with an built in flash miss not having the built in flash or does the high iso performance counter it? I have a speedlite but on vacation sometimes its a pain to carry around and wind up using the built in on my Rebel more often than not


Gear: Canon 6D , EF 50mm F/1.4, EF 28mm, F/1.8, EF 24-105mm F/4L IS, EF 70-300 F/4.5-5.6L, Speedlite 430EX II, Canon S100

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kentaro
Senior Member
Avatar
422 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Minneapolis
     
Dec 15, 2012 16:00 |  #401

jasperk99 wrote in post #15370768 (external link)
FLASH QUESTION

Anyone coming from a crop with an built in flash miss not having the built in flash or does the high iso performance counter it? I have a speedlite but on vacation sometimes its a pain to carry around and wind up using the built in on my Rebel more often than not

I would never think about using iso instead of flash. Flash is a direct light. iso is using surrounding light. I always used an external on my 60D so I feel no difference.


[6D X (17-40 // 50 // 35 // 70-200)]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ddk632
Goldmember
Avatar
1,606 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 25
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Aventura, FL
     
Dec 15, 2012 16:06 |  #402

The question was about the built in flash, and my answer is I never use the built in flash because it is very harsh. The high ISO definitely makes you not need a flash in many situations, but it is no replacement for a decent external flash when shooting indoors with low light.


Dmitriy Khaykin (external link)
dk (external link) | f (external link) | ig (external link) | t (external link) | flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kalina1977
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Bognor Regis
     
Dec 15, 2012 16:09 as a reply to  @ Rookies1241's post |  #403

My first images with FF camera in Lapland- http://www.flickr.com/​photos/91058600@N02/ (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kentaro
Senior Member
Avatar
422 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Minneapolis
     
Dec 15, 2012 16:11 |  #404

Anyone else having trouble importing video into Final Cut Pro?


[6D X (17-40 // 50 // 35 // 70-200)]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Massif ­ Central
Member
31 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2012
     
Dec 15, 2012 16:21 as a reply to  @ Kentaro's post |  #405

isos 800

IMAGE: http://imageshack.us/a/img831/4028/img1020ab.jpg

isos 250
IMAGE: http://imageshack.us/a/img5/8029/img1040sw.jpg

isos 640
IMAGE: http://imageshack.us/a/img24/4882/img1065pc.jpg



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,938,502 views & 3 likes for this thread
-= 6D Owners Unite! Discuss and post Photos!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Rower2021
862 guests, 266 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.