Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 27 Dec 2012 (Thursday) 16:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Defective 1D4?

 
RaptorMan
Member
197 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Boston Ma
     
Dec 27, 2012 16:57 |  #1

Purchased a used one on B&H yesterday and received today. Just took a few test shots with 300 & 500 to check functions & microadjust before heading out tomorrow.

The meter is way off (3 stops) on the 1d compared to my 7d when using the same aperture, iso, and metering mode on each camera. Images look great when i dial in -3 compensation on the 1d. :(

two additional tid-bits...The meter works perfectly with the mirror up for live-view, and spot works

Im shooting a printed page on a grey wall with tungsten light (think dining room).

Ive looked in the front and verifed that the iris is functioning open during metering and stopping down as desired using DOF preview button. What could it be other than bad body.

Im not a noob but am certainly new to this body?

Anyone have any tips on things to check before i pack her back up...

Thanks!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
uOpt
Goldmember
Avatar
2,283 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA, USA
     
Dec 27, 2012 16:59 |  #2

Did you try a second lens?


My imagine composition sucks. I need a heavier lens.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RaptorMan
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
197 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Boston Ma
     
Dec 27, 2012 17:06 |  #3

Same issue with 300 2.8L, 400 5.6L, 500 4.0L. Actually seems a bit worse on the 400 5.6




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
uOpt
Goldmember
Avatar
2,283 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA, USA
     
Dec 27, 2012 17:14 |  #4

Check for focusing screens. There might be a different focusing screen in there, which you have to tell the camera about. If they did a factory reset on the settings that would get lost.

It wouldn't explain 3 f-stops difference, but maybe you also used spot metering which can suffer pretty badly from focusing screens.


My imagine composition sucks. I need a heavier lens.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RaptorMan
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
197 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Boston Ma
     
Dec 27, 2012 17:31 |  #5

Thanks for the help, I do really appreciate it! I used Evaluative meter for my comparison. It actually works (live-view exposure matches actual exposure when i use spot on my gray wall).

There does not appear to be a focusing screen installed.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeJohn
Member
109 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Cleveland USA
     
Dec 27, 2012 18:11 |  #6

There are a lot of settings on the MKIV, maybe reset everything to factory and start from there.
How do you know if you have the stock focusing screen installed?


Sony RX100, Canon S90, 1DMKIV, 5D MKIII, 16-35 II, 24-105, 70-200 II, 100-400, 300 f2.8, 1.4x III, 580EXII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RaptorMan
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
197 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Boston Ma
     
Dec 27, 2012 18:18 |  #7

MikeJohn wrote in post #15413888 (external link)
There are a lot of settings on the MKIV, maybe reset everything to factory and start from there.
How do you know if you have the stock focusing screen installed?

I'm curious too...unless the standard focusing screen is invisible, i dont have it!!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
Avatar
4,370 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
     
Dec 27, 2012 19:28 |  #8

there is a tab at the top of the mirror box, which releases the focusing screen cradle, there should be a screen sitting in there.


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
39,702 posts
Gallery: 116 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 8099
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Dec 27, 2012 19:29 |  #9

Reset all camera settings and CFs, perhaps the AE microadjustment is set. Always reset any camera you buy used to save your sanity.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RaptorMan
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
197 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Boston Ma
     
Dec 27, 2012 19:41 |  #10

TeamSpeed wrote in post #15414168 (external link)
Reset all camera settings and CFs, perhaps the AE microadjustment is set. Always reset any camera you buy used to save your sanity.

I reset the camera twice. AE microadjustment is zeroed. Something has to be "vingetting" the meter as spot works but when you pull in any other area, it overexposes.

I guess we will see what they say tomorrow when i call.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Dec 27, 2012 19:43 |  #11

Whaaaa...? You don't have a focusing screen AT ALL?? That's not normal, but would explain all of this.

Sounds like the previous owner had an aftermarket one installed, then took it out to sell the camera and forgot to put the original one in...still for B&H to not catch that is pretty sloppy!!!

What does it look like if you look through the viewfinder??


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Dec 27, 2012 19:48 |  #12

Here's a picture of what your camera looks like (roughly)...there should be a matte square piece of glass exactly opposite the mirror:

http://25.media.tumblr​.com …6bp8yXPB1qa6nd3​o1_500.jpg (external link)

That's your focusing screen...if it's not there, you've got an issue...


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RaptorMan
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
197 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Boston Ma
     
Dec 27, 2012 20:02 |  #13

LowriderS10 wrote in post #15414249 (external link)
Here's a picture of what your camera looks like (roughly)...there should be a matte square piece of glass exactly opposite the mirror:

http://25.media.tumblr​.com …6bp8yXPB1qa6nd3​o1_500.jpg (external link)

That's your focusing screen...if it's not there, you've got an issue...

Case closed...here is a view of my mirror box...correct me if i'm wrong but no focusing screen.

IMAGE: http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8352/8315697077_39366466e0_c.jpg

Again, I really do appreciate all of your time on the replies. Its always a bit stressful to buy gear used!



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,170 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Korea / Canada
     
Dec 27, 2012 21:12 |  #14

RaptorMan wrote in post #15414321 (external link)
Case closed...here is a view of my mirror box...correct me if i'm wrong but no focusing screen.

QUOTED IMAGE

Again, I really do appreciate all of your time on the replies. Its always a bit stressful to buy gear used!

Yeah, I'd say it's missing haha...normally when you're looking at this angle you should see the matte screen with the focus points etched on it...it appears that you're looking straight into the pentaprism...

Thankfully it's an easy fix for you!! :D PS: If you paid extra for fast shipping, I'd try to get them to reimburse you for that...since you can't use your camera 'till the screen gets here...just an idea haha...you pay a premium to buy equipment from a reputable retailer, well, here's where that premium should work in your favour! :D

Either way, good luck and hopefully after you get a screen in there, you'll have years of trouble-free shooting!

PS: If you haven't ordered the screen yet, see if you can get one with horizontal/vertical lines etched into it. I have one for my 5D Mark II and love it...especially with wide/ultrawide lenses it makes nailing horizons soooo much easier!


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=- (external link)
-=Facebook=- (external link)
-=Flickr=- (external link)

-=Gear=-

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
Avatar
4,370 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
     
Dec 27, 2012 22:00 |  #15

Yep there is no screen in the cradle, I'd hit B&H up for a new one, as they should have made sure there was at least the original screen in there.

This is the original screen

http://shop.usa.canon.​com …uct_10051_10051​_168884_-1 (external link)


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,353 views & 0 likes for this thread
Defective 1D4?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is kenincaen
365 guests, 273 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.